Extended Audio Sample

Download Those Who Wish Me Dead Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Those Who Wish Me Dead Audiobook, by Michael Koryta Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michael Koryta Narrator: Robert Petkoff Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2014 ISBN: 9781478953531
Regular Price: $25.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The newest thriller from Michael Koryta, New York Times bestselling author

When fourteen-year-old Jace Wilson witnesses a brutal murder, he's plunged into a new life, issued a false identity and hidden in a wilderness skills program for troubled teens. The plan is to get Jace off the grid while police find the two killers. The result is the start of a nightmare.

The killers, known as the Blackwell Brothers, are slaughtering anyone who gets in their way in a methodical quest to reach him. Now all that remains between them and the boy are Ethan and Allison Serbin, who run the wilderness survival program; Hannah Faber, who occupies a lonely fire lookout tower; and endless miles of desolate Montana mountains.

The clock is ticking, the mountains are burning, and those who wish Jace Wilson dead are no longer far behind. Download and start listening now!

bcf1

Quotes & Awards

  • This book captured me. Here are two bad guys so bad, so well drawn, that I wanted to avert my eyes--but I didn't want to miss a beat of this sharp thriller. This is a smart big book with what are called twists and turns, but which are really terrific surprises in every deepening layer. Young Jace's journey to survive is a gripping rush. I know not to run in the woods but I wanted to tell him: run, woods or not, just run! Ron Carlson, author of The Signal
  • Those Who Wish Me Dead is beautifully written, perfectly paced, expertly structured, and simply unputdownable. Koryta is an absolute master. Deon Meyer, author of Seven Days
  • This novel is brilliantly orchestrated. Also crucial to its success is Koryta's mastery of the beautiful but threatening setting, including a mountain fire's ability to electrify the ground, radiate a lethal force field-and create otherworldly light shows. Summer reading doesn't get better than this. Kirkus (starred review)
  • “Outstanding in every way…Don’t you dare miss it.”

    Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author

  • More than outstanding, this book will have you jumping from one chapter to another as the fire races across the mountains, as Jace and Hannah try to survive, and while Ethan tries to keep both killers away from Jace...This thriller had me glued to the words, not wanting to do anything else but finish this book. Koryta pens a novel that will leave you gasping along with the characters.This is excellent and one I recommend. Absolutely without a doubt. Suspense Magazine
  • Koryta, a widely-praised veteran of cross-genre tales, has upped his game with this stand-alone's seamless blend of western-wilderness thriller and mainstream crime fiction, with a prickly dab of horror...Combine Koryta's existing fan base, the current vogue for wilderness thrillers, and an aggressive marketing campaign, and you get a novel certain to attract a whole lot of eager readers. Christine Tran, Booklist (starred review)
  • Absolutely breathtaking, nail-biting, and edge-of-your-seat. Michael Koryta is a master at maintaining suspense and a hell of a good writer. Those Who Wish Me Dead is one of the best chase-and-escape novels you'll read this year - or any other year. The pace never lets up. Nelson DeMille, author of The Quest
  • Reading Michael Koryta is like stepping into fast water. You don't know where the current will take you, only that it's strong and deep and likely to sweep you away. That's what the best fiction does, and Koryta does it better than just about anyone else. John Hart, author of Iron House
  • Those Who Wish Me Dead is an absolutely thrilling read. I read most of it with my breath held, occasionally exhaling to ask myself, 'What will happen next?' I highly recommend it. Kevin Powers, National Book Award Finalist and author of The Yellow Birds
  • Outstanding in every way, and a guaranteed thriller-of-the-year...Stephen King would be proud of the set up, Cormac McCarthy would be proud of the writing, and I would be proud of the action. Don't you dare miss it. Lee Child, #1 bestselling author of Never Go Back
  • Warning: Michael Koryta's wonderful, riveting, and harrowing Those Who Wish Me Dead may just move you to tears. Enjoy at your own risk. Harlan Coben, #1 bestselling author of Missing You and Six Years
  • Wow! An absolutely first rate novel. More than just an edge-of-your-seat, adrenaline-fueled story of life and death and survival in the Montana wilderness. Those Who Wish Me Dead is what every reader hopes for each time they start a book. A smart, surprising, and emotionally engaging experience that simply does not let up. Ever! Christopher Reich, author of Rules of Deception
  • Michael Koryta is that rare author who is at once a compelling story teller and a fantastic writer. From the first sentence of Those Who Wish Me Dead, you'll be under his spell. His characters are living, breathing people you'll care about; his setting is a place you'll visit and stay -- long after you've decided to leave because you'rescared. You can't leave; you're trapped. There are too many nerve-jangling, beautifully written, razor sharp moments and you won't want to miss a single one. This is an absolute sizzler. Lisa Unger, author of In the Blood
  • Michael Koryta is a fearless stylist...a heart-thumping backwoods adventure that sends two creatively sadistic killers into Montana's Beartooth Mountains, where they spark a monster forest fire to flush out the only witness to their crimes...Koryta rigs his tripwire plot with all sorts of unpredictable characters and unforeseen events, including a "flint-and-steel" electrical storm that will make your hair stand on end. There are any number of hunting parties combing the burning woods for Jace, from the Blackwell brothers to two determined women riding an injured horse. But sitting here, heart in mouth, it sure looks as if that raging forest fire will outrun them all. Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review
  • Michael Koryta isn't just one of the finest authors working in the crime genre today. He's simply one of today's finest authors, period. His stories are taut, compelling, and beautifully rendered. His understanding of human nature-the good, the evil, and all the gray between-is masterful. Those Who Wish Me Dead is Koryta at his best. William Kent Krueger, author of Ordinary Grace
  • “Wonderful, riveting, and harrowing.”

    Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author

  • “Absolutely breathtaking, nail-biting, and edge-of-your-seat…[and]one of the best chase-and-escape novels you’ll read this year.”

    Nelson DeMille, #1 New York Times bestselling author

  • “More than just an edge-of-your-seat, adrenaline-fueled story…[it’s] a smart, surprising, and emotionally engaging experience that simply does not let up. Ever!”

    Christopher Reich, New York Times bestselling author

  • “[A] pulse-pounding, edge-of-your-seat, unputdownable thriller.”

    Reader’s Digest

  • “Michael Koryta is…now swinging from the high wire with Those Who Wish Me Dead, a heart-thumping backwoods adventure.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “More than outstanding, this book will have you jumping from one chapter to another…This is excellent.”

    Suspense Magazine

  • “Koryta, a widely praised veteran of cross-genre tales, has upped his game with this stand-alone’s seamless blend of western-wilderness thriller and mainstream crime fiction, with a prickly dab of horror…A must-read for fans of C. J. Box and Nevada Barr.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Hiding a teenage murder witness among a bunch of delinquent kids in a survival-training program in Montana seemed like a good idea. But when two coldblooded killers track him there from Indiana, everyone’s life is at grave risk…Summer reading doesn’t get better than this.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “Michael Koryta is that rare author who is at once a compelling story teller and a fantastic writer…This is an absolute sizzler.”

    Lisa Unger, author of Beautiful Lies

  • “Robert Petkoff flexes his considerable vocal talents in this thriller, set mostly in Montana. He’s convincing as bewildered teen Jace Wilson…The suspense is almost unbearable, and Petkoff’s timing never falters…Petkoff draws listeners into this thrilling story of survival and doesn’t let go.”

    AudioFile

  • “This book captured me. Here are two bad guys so bad, so well drawn, that I wanted to avert my eyes—but I didn’t want to miss a beat of this sharp thriller…Young Jace’s journey to survive is a gripping rush.”

    Ron Carlson, author of The Signal

  • One of Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books of 2014
  • On Oprah’s Summer Reading List, 2014
  • An Amazon Top 100 Book of 2014
  • A Reader’s Digest Pick of 13 Best Thrillers to Read Right Now
  • Winner of the 2015 Barry Award for Best Thriller
  • Winner of the 2015 YALSA Alex Awardfor the 10 Best Adult Books That Appeal to Teen Audiences
  • Winner of the 2015 Audie Award for Best Thriller/Suspense Narration
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Michael Koryta

Michael Koryta is the New York Times bestselling author of ten novels, most recently Those Who Wish Me Dead. His previous novels—including The Prophet, The Ridge, and So Cold The River—were New York Times Notable Books, national bestsellers, and have been nominated for numerous awards, including having won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. A former private investigator and newspaper reporter, Koryta graduated from Indiana University with a degree in criminal justice. He lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and Bloomington, Indiana.

About the Narrator

Robert Petkoff is an audiobook narrator who has won a prestigious Audie Award and twenty AudioFile Earphones Awards. He has appeared on Chappelle’s Show, Law & Order, and Quantum Leap. His Broadway credits include Sir Robin in Spamalot, Perchik in Fiddler on the Roof, and Tateh in Ragtime.