Extended Audio Sample

Download Something in the Water: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Something in the Water: A Novel Audiobook, by Catherine Steadman Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 5 4.67 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Catherine Steadman Narrator: Catherine Steadman Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2018 ISBN: 9780525593591
Regular Price: $20.95 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut—for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.
 
If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?  
 
Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .
 
Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?
 
Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .
 
Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?
 
Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves. Download and start listening now!

cdlx

Quotes & Awards

  • Captivating . . . daring . . . The threats and increasingly bad decisions accelerate with Bourne-like velocity. . . . Steadman [is] a newcomer worth watching. Publishers Weekly
  • An unbearably tense debut with a knockout premise, Something in the Water had me hooked from the very first sentence. Thrilling and thought-provoking, it’s the perfect beach read. I devoured it! Riley Sager, bestselling author of Final Girls
  • This is a book that puts you right into the shoes of the characters and has you asking: What would I do? You may find yourself increasingly uncomfortable with your answers. An unputdownable story that poses the age-old question of how well we can ever know someone else—and, perhaps even more important, how well do we know ourselves? Amy Engel, author of The Roanoke Girls
  • This debut’s opening hook, which jumps ahead in the story to reveal a shocking outcome, teamed with Erin’s spunk and the threat of Russian mobsters, creates irresistible suspense—of both the what-will-happen and the how-did-that-happen varieties. Booklist
  • We all think we know our own boundaries. We all think we’d do the right thing. But what if the opportunity for the perfect crime appeared right in front of your eyes? How many rules would you break in pursuit of the perfect life? Catherine Steadman’s debut novel, Something in the Water, is as scary as it gets. This terrifying morality tale is guaranteed to keep you up at night. Michelle Richmond, New York Times bestselling author of The Marriage Pact
  • Pure adrenaline: I swallowed this book whole. Erin Kelly, author of He Said/She Said
  • I absolutely loved Something in the Water, a stunning debut. . . . Superbly written, clever and gripping. B. A. Paris, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown
  • As frightening as it is funny, Something in the Water feels like a thriller for our times, a caper with a dark heart. Louise Candlish, author of The Swimming Pool and Our House
  • A taut and smart thriller, Something in the Water is a fast-paced examination of the slippery slope and precariousfoundations our middle-class lives are built on, and a sensitive examination of a marriage under pressure. Catherine Steadman is a genuinely unique voice in crime fiction. Gillian McAllister, author of Everything but the Truth and Anything You Do Say
  • Brilliant. Catherine Isaac, author of You Me Everything
  • “A stunning debut…Superbly written, clever, and gripping.”

    B. A. Paris, New York Times bestselling author

  • With unreliable characters, wry voices, exquisite pacing, and a twisting plot, [Catherine] Steadman potently draws upon her acting chops. . . . A darkly glittering gem of a thriller from a new writer to watch. Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Catherine Steadman is a writer and an actress known for her roles in Downton Abbey and Tutankhamun, starring alongside Sam Neill. She also has appeared on stage in the West End including Oppenheimer for the Royal Shakespeare Company, for which she was nominated for a 2016 Laurence Olivier Award.