Extended Audio Sample

Download The Water Museum: Stories Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Water Museum: Stories, by Luís Alberto Urrea Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Luís Alberto Urrea Narrator: Luís Alberto Urrea Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2015 ISBN: 9781478903383
Regular Price: $24.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A new short story collection from Luis Alberto Urrea, bestselling author of The Hummingbird’s Daughter and The Devil’s Highway

From one of America’s preeminent literary voices comes The Water Museum, a collection that proves once again why the writing of Luis Alberto Urrea has been called “wickedly good” (Kansas City Star), “cinematic and charged” (Cleveland Plain Dealer), and “studded with delights” (Chicago Tribune). Examining the borders between nations and between people, Urrea reveals his mastery of the short form. This collection includes the Edgar-winning “Amapola” and his now classic “Bid Farewell to Her Many Horses,” which had the honor of being chosen two times for National Public Radio’s “Selected Shorts.”

Suffused with wanderlust, compassion, and no small amount of rock and roll, The Water Museum is a collection that confirms Luis Alberto Urrea as an American master.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Urrea skillfully evokes the semi-comic experience of the sensitive observer who is both part of and outside of a community…Magic.”

    Washington Post

  • “All thirteen stories are realistic and unsparing, as unflinching and hard-hitting as they are beautiful…The Water Museum is a brilliant, powerful collection, and Luis Alberto Urrea is a master storyteller with a rock-and-roll heart.”


  • “Like Urrea, we care deeply for his characters. He writes with compassion and humor and with a nod to the creeping darkness within us all.”


  • “The author reads his descriptive stories at a steady, poetic pace for the listener. Luis Alberto Urrea’s narration is soft, almost tender, and raspy in parts…Urrea enjoys his prose, and so does the listener, as he describes the difficult choices facing people who live in the American West…the landscape is harsh, lives even harsher, but Urrea’s narration is as gentle as a whisper. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”


  • “Offers thirteen stories that reflect both sides of his Mexican-American heritage while stretching the reader’s understanding of human boundaries…Urrea’s command of language is matched only by his empathy for his characters.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “Urrea has a wonderful eye for details and captures each story’s context with wonderfully sharp observations…These stories are vibrant, tender, and invoke a strong sense of place.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • An AudioFile Earphones Award Winner
  • A Finalist for the 2016 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations