Extended Audio Sample

Download The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo, by Lesley Adkins Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (138 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lesley Adkins, Roy Adkins Narrator: Patrick Lawlor Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2007 ISBN: 9781400174836
Regular Price: $25.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Roy Adkins, with his wife, Lesley, returns to the Napoleonic War in The War for All the Oceans, a gripping account of the naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, a period marked at the beginning by Napoleon's seizing power and at the end by the War of 1812. In this vivid and visceral account, Adkins draws on eyewitness records to portray not only the battles but also the details of a sailor's life—shipwrecks, press-gangs, prostitutes, spies, and prisoners of war. The War for All the Oceans is epic narrative history sure to appeal to fans of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester, as well as all readers of military and social history. Download and start listening now!

bdno

Quotes & Awards

  • “Vivid…[A] rollicking saga.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • Vivid.... [A] rollicking saga. Publishers Weekly
  • “Narrator Patrick Lawlor shows all the excitement one could look for in naval warfare, telling of fire ships used as weapons, heads removed by cannon balls, and vessels grinding to bits on hidden rocks while under fire.”

    AudioFile

  • “Sumptuous storytelling…This real-life action will delight fans of fictional heroes from the same war.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rasmus Mencke | 12/2/2013

    " very long book about the wars on the oceans between Napoleon and Nelson, if you like history this is a good read. Except the part where the British bomb Copenhagen.. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 David Eppenstein | 9/30/2013

    " A really good book for those readers interested in the Age of Sail. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Grandpa Ellsworth | 7/28/2013

    " The Napoleonic Wars, with a dash of the War of 1812 thrown in, from the perspective of sea power and the Brittish navy. I liked the detail of the lives of people involved, both the rich, famous and titled, and the common folk. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brandon | 6/8/2013

    " An enjoyable book that focuses on the British Navy during the Napoleonic Wars. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Julian Stockwin | 2/28/2013

    " A compelling narrative history. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Allan | 1/9/2013

    " Excellent and very readable account of life and war at sea in the Royal Navy during the Napoleonic Wars. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jeff | 12/8/2012

    " Great book on naval history during the Napoleon era. Fast moving and engaging, highly recommended. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Roger | 11/26/2012

    " Way too long and too much detail for many of the minor events. Some interesting trivia though. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jfarley | 8/2/2012

    " The idea that the battle of Trafalgar merits two paragraphs, and a bunch of eulogies to Nelson is silly... but other than that, riveting account of POW escapes, high seas battles, and the origin of "A wife in every port", make this well worth reading. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah | 4/21/2012

    " A good telling of a rollicking good story. The characters are amazing "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jason | 3/21/2012

    " I really enjoyed this book. In fact, I came back to it to read again. The use of documentary sources is exemplary and brings alive the descriptions so that you really get a sense of what it must have been like to be a prisoner in Napoleonic France, for example. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Davewilson | 2/5/2012

    " Well, so far not what I expected, wanted more of the naval actions of the age. There is more action in this book on land than there is on the High Seas, but to be honest and fair, I'm only a third of the way through it "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nick Caporale | 10/12/2011

    " I enjoy reading history and I particularly liked this book as it contained much anecdotal information gathered from the sailors' and commanders' diaries and letters. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rasmus | 4/23/2011

    " very long book about the wars on the oceans between Napoleon and Nelson, if you like history this is a good read. Except the part where the British bomb Copenhagen.. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Allan | 11/11/2009

    " Excellent and very readable account of life and war at sea in the Royal Navy during the Napoleonic Wars. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Grandpa | 7/27/2009

    " The Napoleonic Wars, with a dash of the War of 1812 thrown in, from the perspective of sea power and the Brittish navy. I liked the detail of the lives of people involved, both the rich, famous and titled, and the common folk. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Davewilson | 3/23/2008

    " Well, so far not what I expected, wanted more of the naval actions of the age. There is more action in this book on land than there is on the High Seas, but to be honest and fair, I'm only a third of the way through it "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations