Extended Audio Sample

Download The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo, by Roy Adkins, Patrick Lawlor, Lesley Adkins Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (138 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Roy Adkins, Patrick Lawlor, Lesley Adkins Narrator: Patrick Lawlor Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Roy Adkins, with his wife, Lesley, returns to the Napoleonic War in The War for All the Oceans, a gripping account of the naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, a period marked at the beginning by Napoleon’s seizing power and at the end by the War of 1812. In this vivid and visceral account, Adkins draws on eyewitness records to portray not only the battles but also the details of a sailor’s life—shipwrecks, press-gangs, prostitutes, spies, and prisoners of war.

The War for All the Oceans is epic narrative history sure to appeal to fans of Patrick O’Brian and C. S. Forester, as well as all readers of military and social history.

Download and start listening now!

bdno

Quotes & Awards

  • “Vivid…[A] rollicking saga.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Narrator Patrick Lawlor shows all the excitement one could look for in naval warfare, telling of fire ships used as weapons, heads removed by cannon balls, and vessels grinding to bits on hidden rocks while under fire.”

    AudioFile

  • “Sumptuous storytelling…This real-life action will delight fans of fictional heroes from the same war.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Rasmus Mencke | 12/2/2013

    " very long book about the wars on the oceans between Napoleon and Nelson, if you like history this is a good read. Except the part where the British bomb Copenhagen.. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by David Eppenstein | 9/30/2013

    " A really good book for those readers interested in the Age of Sail. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Grandpa Ellsworth | 7/28/2013

    " The Napoleonic Wars, with a dash of the War of 1812 thrown in, from the perspective of sea power and the Brittish navy. I liked the detail of the lives of people involved, both the rich, famous and titled, and the common folk. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Brandon | 6/8/2013

    " An enjoyable book that focuses on the British Navy during the Napoleonic Wars. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations