Extended Audio Sample

Download The Sisters Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Sisters (Unabridged), by Nancy Jensen
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,651 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Nancy Jensen Narrator: Cassandra Campbell Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc. Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: November 2011 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

In the tradition of Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping and Elizabeth Strout's Olive Kitteridge comes a dazzling debut novel about the family bonds that remain even when they seem irretrievably torn apart.

Growing up in hardscrabble Kentucky in the 1920s, with their mother dead and their stepfather an everpresent threat, Bertie Fischer and her older sister, Mabel, have no one but each other - with perhaps a sweetheart for Bertie waiting in the wings. But on the day that Bertie receives her eighthgrade diploma, good intentions go terribly wrong, setting off a chain of misunderstandings that will send the sisters on separate paths and reverberate through their daughters' and granddaughters' lives.

What happens when nothing turns out as you planned?  From the Depression through World War II and Vietnam, and smaller events both tragic and joyful, Bertie and Mabel forge unexpected identities and raise daughters - and sisters - of their own, learning that love and betrayal are even more complicated than they seem. Gorgeously written, with extraordinary insight and emotional truth, Nancy Jensen's debut novel illuminates the farreaching power of family and family secrets.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004613

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Mary Holland | 2/15/2014

    " Overdue and on-hold for the next person. Not interesting enough to pay a fine for another day "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Barbara Kinnecom | 2/12/2014

    " I really enjoyed this book but found myself looking at the family tree to keep characters in order. Despite that it was hRd to put down "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Connie | 2/11/2014

    " I would rate this a 3.5 if possible. I found the overall theme totally plausible in that secrets, and especially any misconceptions surrounding them, can and often do have effects that can last for generations. As human beings, we do bring every major situation that has happened to us, whether resolved or not, to each relaitonship. I also accept that not all plots have resolutions...just as life-changing events quite often never achieve closure. My biggest problem with the novel came from the choppiness I found in the author's telling of major events and some of the time lapses as well as the occasional implausibility of some of the characters' actions. For me, this detracted from an overall very good book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jenifer | 2/8/2014

    " Quite possibly one of the most depressing books I've read in a long time. This is not for those who prefer a happy ending with all the loose ends tied up. The story follows two sisters whose lives are tragically altered by an event that separates them from each other. It continues on with the stories of their children and grandchildren and how even their lives are affected by the event in the sisters' lives. The major point for me was the concept that our past hurts can anchor us down so deeply into one spot that we never fully live our lives. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary Beth | 2/6/2014

    " This held my interest but was a bit unsatisfactory due to the lack of resolution in the basic storyline. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sharla Bratton | 1/24/2014

    " Loved this book. The author is from KY. Which since that is where I'm from I enjoyed reading. Couldn't put it down "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Christine | 1/18/2014

    " A beautifully written debut novel that spans eighty years and multiple generations, this novel traces the fallout following tragic circumstances and a terrible misunderstanding between two sisters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Allison Boyd | 1/17/2014

    " I enjoyed this book for the most part, but felt unfulfilled at the end and its often-bleak plot lines did not build as I thought they would. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Robin Addis | 12/25/2013

    " It shows how a choice can change the course of many lives throughout the book. I wanted the sisters to reunite throughout the book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sharon | 12/20/2013

    " I enjoyed the twists and turns and the what ifs??? "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathie | 12/14/2013

    " I really liked this one "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Gretchen | 12/9/2013

    " weak women...all make poor choices in men and life decisions. the very beginning and the very end were good. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Hurricanecelia | 11/15/2013

    " Forgetable; Slow and left many loose ends. Wouldn't recommend. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Merrikay Shade | 10/3/2013

    " Good story line. It was written a little choppy. It was an okay read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 MaryKate | 3/15/2013

    " A beautiful and heartbreaking story that fell a bit flat at times because I couldn't help but feel that I had read similar tales before. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Roseanne | 1/8/2013

    " It was a good read about the complexities of keeping secrets between sisters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cindy Bokma | 9/19/2012

    " I started out really liking this book but the chapters moved forward quickly changing POV each time. Sometimes this works well but I wished there was more about the two main characters rather than their children and their children's children. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Linda | 7/12/2012

    " A meandering book with a surprise ending. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 De Ann | 6/30/2012

    " I really enjoyed the first half of this book with the story of two sisters. I got a bit confused when later generations were added, I had to keep referring to the family tree to remember where the characters fit in. I also was disappointed that the ending didn't include reunions. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Heidi | 5/30/2012

    " I liked this story in spite of the gaps in the storytelling. The characters were interesting yet underdeveloped. I liked the underlying story of sacrifice and family. I wish there had been a better resolution to the storyline. Overall, a decent read. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Elise | 2/29/2012

    " Too many characters, too much of a time frame, and I just didn't see the point. I finished the book hoping to find some great tie in or twist at the end - bummer for me. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Fiona | 1/14/2012

    " Started off as a promising read, by halfway id didn't think any more self-loathing women or abusive men could be brought into it; by the end it had just petered out into a book of unresolved misery. Won't be sharing this one. It will make a good book end though "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations