Extended Audio Sample

Download The Sisters Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Sisters (Unabridged), by Nancy Jensen
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,651 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Nancy Jensen Narrator: Cassandra Campbell Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc. Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

In the tradition of Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping and Elizabeth Strout's Olive Kitteridge comes a dazzling debut novel about the family bonds that remain even when they seem irretrievably torn apart.

Growing up in hardscrabble Kentucky in the 1920s, with their mother dead and their stepfather an everpresent threat, Bertie Fischer and her older sister, Mabel, have no one but each other - with perhaps a sweetheart for Bertie waiting in the wings. But on the day that Bertie receives her eighthgrade diploma, good intentions go terribly wrong, setting off a chain of misunderstandings that will send the sisters on separate paths and reverberate through their daughters' and granddaughters' lives.

What happens when nothing turns out as you planned?  From the Depression through World War II and Vietnam, and smaller events both tragic and joyful, Bertie and Mabel forge unexpected identities and raise daughters - and sisters - of their own, learning that love and betrayal are even more complicated than they seem. Gorgeously written, with extraordinary insight and emotional truth, Nancy Jensen's debut novel illuminates the farreaching power of family and family secrets.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004613

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Mary Holland | 2/15/2014

    " Overdue and on-hold for the next person. Not interesting enough to pay a fine for another day "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Barbara Kinnecom | 2/12/2014

    " I really enjoyed this book but found myself looking at the family tree to keep characters in order. Despite that it was hRd to put down "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Connie | 2/11/2014

    " I would rate this a 3.5 if possible. I found the overall theme totally plausible in that secrets, and especially any misconceptions surrounding them, can and often do have effects that can last for generations. As human beings, we do bring every major situation that has happened to us, whether resolved or not, to each relaitonship. I also accept that not all plots have resolutions...just as life-changing events quite often never achieve closure. My biggest problem with the novel came from the choppiness I found in the author's telling of major events and some of the time lapses as well as the occasional implausibility of some of the characters' actions. For me, this detracted from an overall very good book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Jenifer | 2/8/2014

    " Quite possibly one of the most depressing books I've read in a long time. This is not for those who prefer a happy ending with all the loose ends tied up. The story follows two sisters whose lives are tragically altered by an event that separates them from each other. It continues on with the stories of their children and grandchildren and how even their lives are affected by the event in the sisters' lives. The major point for me was the concept that our past hurts can anchor us down so deeply into one spot that we never fully live our lives. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations