Extended Audio Sample

Download The Gilly Salt Sisters Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Gilly Salt Sisters, by Tiffany Baker Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,186 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Tiffany Baker Narrator: Angela Brazil Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.98 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

The author of the New York Times bestselling The Little Giant of Aberdeen County returns with a magic-tinged tale of dreams, family secrets, and betrayals on a New England salt farm.

In the isolated Cape Cod village of Prospect, the Gilly sisters are as different as can be. Jo, a fierce and quiet loner, is devoted to the mysteries of her family's salt farm, while Claire is popular, pretty, and yearns to flee the salt at any cost. But the Gilly land hides a dark legacy that proves impossible to escape. Although the community half-suspects the Gilly sisters might be witches, it doesn't stop Whit Turner, the town's wealthiest bachelor, from forcing his way into their lives. It's Jo who first steals Whit's heart, but it is Claire--heartbroken over her high school sweetheart--who marries him.

Years later, estranged from her family, Claire finds herself thrust back onto the farm with the last person she would have chosen: her husband's pregnant mistress. Suddenly, alliances change, old loves return, and new battle lines are drawn. What the Gilly sisters learn about each other, the land around them, and the power of the salt, will not only change each of their lives forever, it will also alter Gilly history for good. Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “The well-drawn characters, surprising secrets revealed in every chapter, and sumptuous language make this a story worth listening to.”


  • “A heartfelt tale of family relationships, small-town drama, and new opportunities…The imagery of Cape Cod is gorgeously rendered, leaving the reader with a fully immersive picture of the insular village…Readers of Anita Shreve, Maeve Binchy, and Alice Hoffman should enjoy this poignant, lush, and well-written tale of family secrets, revenge, forgiveness, and connections not easily severed.”


Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Karin Bartimole | 2/18/2014

    " I found this book to be a disappointment, after enjoying Ms Baker's first novel, The Little Giant of Aberdeen County, so much. For me, The Gilly Salt Sisters were and their story were predictable. I kept expecting more, but it never delivered. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Diane S. | 2/13/2014

    " I really enjoyed this book. The Tuners and the Gillys, old family residents of Prospect, a village in Cape Cod. The Gillys belong to the salt, salt is the magical element in this book that ties everything together, and the Turners want to own the whole town. Loved the character development in this novel, how they change with the circumstances and the trials they face. Shifting alliances, secrets revealed and tragedies, kept me reading to the end. Love magical realism when it is done well and this one certainly was. Will appeal to fans of Alice Hoffman, Aimee Bender and Sarah Addison Allen. Now I need to read Baker's first book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by AnnieBebop | 2/1/2014

    " I loved this book. Just a perfect novel (for women... don't recommend to guys). "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by chrisa | 2/1/2014

    " I stayed with this book until the last 100 pages and then I decided enough was enough. A sense of impending doom hangs over every word. I kept reading as the author's use of words and language is interesting, and I hoped that the characters would become smarter, and maybe even strive harder for happiness in their lives. After skipping ahead and skimming the last hundred pages I gave up.... "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Tiffany Baker

Tiffany Baker is the author of The Gilly Salt Sisters and The Little Giant of Aberdeen County, which was a New York Times and San Francisco Chronicle bestseller. She holds an MFA in creative writing and a PhD in Victorian literature from University of California, Irvine. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband and three children.