Extended Audio Sample

Download The Gilly Salt Sisters Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Gilly Salt Sisters Audiobook, by Tiffany Baker Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,186 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Tiffany Baker Narrator: Angela Brazil Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2012 ISBN: 9781611135725
Regular Price: $14.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The author of the New York Times bestselling The Little Giant of Aberdeen County returns with a magic-tinged tale of dreams, family secrets, and betrayals on a New England salt farm.

In the isolated Cape Cod village of Prospect, the Gilly sisters are as different as can be. Jo, a fierce and quiet loner, is devoted to the mysteries of her family's salt farm, while Claire is popular, pretty, and yearns to flee the salt at any cost. But the Gilly land hides a dark legacy that proves impossible to escape. Although the community half-suspects the Gilly sisters might be witches, it doesn't stop Whit Turner, the town's wealthiest bachelor, from forcing his way into their lives. It's Jo who first steals Whit's heart, but it is Claire--heartbroken over her high school sweetheart--who marries him.

Years later, estranged from her family, Claire finds herself thrust back onto the farm with the last person she would have chosen: her husband's pregnant mistress. Suddenly, alliances change, old loves return, and new battle lines are drawn. What the Gilly sisters learn about each other, the land around them, and the power of the salt, will not only change each of their lives forever, it will also alter Gilly history for good. Download and start listening now!

BK_HACH_000832

Quotes & Awards

  • Tiffany Baker has done it again: The Gilly Salt Sisters is both deliciously, magically, strange and heartrendingly familiar, a beautiful and bewitching story of the elements that bind us to each other-family, love, loss, and memory. I was pulled into its world on the very first page and wanted to stay forever. Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters
  • Like a delicious meal, Tiffany Baker offers up a wonderful blend of devastating family secrets, loves lost and found, revenge, forgiveness, and more than a pinch of long-held family magic. Kathleen Kent, author of The Heretic's Daughter and The Wolves of Andover
  • The Gilly Salt Sisters captivates from its opening paragraph-a story of rivalry, love, and unredeemable greed set against a Cape Cod salt marsh that demands hard work and gives luck (good and bad) in return. Baker's scenes and characters are rich and compelling, touched with a magical realism which, like salt, enhances their flavor. Fans of Alice Hoffman will rejoice at finding Tiffany Baker. Erica Bauermeister, author of The School of Essential Ingredients
  • “The well-drawn characters, surprising secrets revealed in every chapter, and sumptuous language make this a story worth listening to.”

    AudioFile

  • Tiffany Baker's novel has grit and polish and some salt of its own. It's a beautifully written tale about the resourceful and determined connection of women. The Gilly Salt sisters are a brackish bunch-definitely my kind of people. Brunonia Barry, author of The Lace Reader and The Map of True Places
  • “A heartfelt tale of family relationships, small-town drama, and new opportunities…The imagery of Cape Cod is gorgeously rendered, leaving the reader with a fully immersive picture of the insular village…Readers of Anita Shreve, Maeve Binchy, and Alice Hoffman should enjoy this poignant, lush, and well-written tale of family secrets, revenge, forgiveness, and connections not easily severed.”

    Booklist

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Karin Bartimole | 2/18/2014

    " I found this book to be a disappointment, after enjoying Ms Baker's first novel, The Little Giant of Aberdeen County, so much. For me, The Gilly Salt Sisters were and their story were predictable. I kept expecting more, but it never delivered. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Diane S. | 2/13/2014

    " I really enjoyed this book. The Tuners and the Gillys, old family residents of Prospect, a village in Cape Cod. The Gillys belong to the salt, salt is the magical element in this book that ties everything together, and the Turners want to own the whole town. Loved the character development in this novel, how they change with the circumstances and the trials they face. Shifting alliances, secrets revealed and tragedies, kept me reading to the end. Love magical realism when it is done well and this one certainly was. Will appeal to fans of Alice Hoffman, Aimee Bender and Sarah Addison Allen. Now I need to read Baker's first book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 AnnieBebop | 2/1/2014

    " I loved this book. Just a perfect novel (for women... don't recommend to guys). "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 chrisa | 2/1/2014

    " I stayed with this book until the last 100 pages and then I decided enough was enough. A sense of impending doom hangs over every word. I kept reading as the author's use of words and language is interesting, and I hoped that the characters would become smarter, and maybe even strive harder for happiness in their lives. After skipping ahead and skimming the last hundred pages I gave up.... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Glenys | 1/26/2014

    " Okay for a quick read "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jenni | 1/22/2014

    " Okay read but not a big fan ... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Charlotte | 1/19/2014

    " If you are an Alice Hoffman fan, you will love this book. I found the characters to be very realistic even though the setting was unusual. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Christina Wicks | 1/18/2014

    " I like what this story could be....but "big" secret is already predictable. The writing is weak and jumpy...was hoping for MORE! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer Gallagher | 1/18/2014

    " I liked this book - not as much as The Little Giant of Aberdeen County - but I felt it was slow to get started. About 100 pages in I got stuck, but I set it down and came back to it. This was a good story, it had some good twists, and an interesting ending. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stephanie Dudley | 1/18/2014

    " This book took over a hundred pages for me to get into the story, but then it took off and I couldn't put it down. I almost quit, but I am glad that I didn't. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Megan | 1/12/2014

    " Ugh. Couldn't read this, and it's rare for me to put a book down unfinished. No plot to speak of and I didn't like any of the characters. Also, she was trying WAY too hard to do the Alice Hoffman/magical realism thing and it was just terrible. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Martha | 12/20/2013

    " Southern Gothic in New England? Interesting. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Virginia | 12/4/2013

    " I couldn't really get into the characters. Read about a third and then skimmed to find out the ending. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 KatherineC | 11/7/2013

    " Meh. Waited so long for this. Good but not as good as her first book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jeannie | 7/5/2013

    " I enjoyed both this and Baker's first book The Little Giant of Aberdeen County. She has a fresh approach to a story...a little dark at times, but I particularly like the twist and turns in each of her stories. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nikki | 5/12/2013

    " This was a fun cute read! I wish the author would have gone into more about the secret of the Salt, but I did enjoy this book. If possible, I would give it a 3.5! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tanya | 3/29/2013

    " Not a page turner but a book that has a steadily progressing storyline that allows the characters to shine. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Janell | 3/24/2013

    " I loved this book all the way through, but ... the ending cheapened my feelings for the whole. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gini | 12/29/2012

    " Interesting story set in Cape Cod. The story of two sisters, and two families at odds with each other and their legacy. Was disappointed in one part of the ending, but mostly this was a page turner. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sarah | 11/21/2012

    " The book starts a bit slow, but I really liked the characters and the story....the first half of the book could have been trimmed down by about 50 pages and it would have been a better read in my opinion "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sallee | 10/14/2012

    " This book had a haunting quality to it. Hidden secrets affecting lives that are tied and twisted together. I enjoyed reading it even if it was a sad story. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Penny | 9/18/2012

    " I completely loved this book! It was well written and definitely a page turner. Each new piece of history that was revealed about the Gilly sisters left you longing for more. I'm sad it's over!! Great story! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Ivy | 6/2/2012

    " I gave this book my requisite 50 pages. There was nothing horrible about it, but there was nothing great. I didn't connect with the characters in any way. It just didn't work for me. You would think as much as I like salt I would like a book about it, but no. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sara Pauff | 5/28/2012

    " I read some reviews that complained this book was "too depressing," but I didn't find it so. I really like all the characters and how they changed over the course of the book -- Clare and Jo soften, Whit becomes more sinister. If you're a fan of magical realism, check it out. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brooke Colbert | 5/5/2012

    " I read this on vacation and enjoyed it. I thought it was wrapped up well at the end. I got through this in one day but I was in the mountains and it was raining all day. Good sisterhood book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nicki Green | 3/4/2012

    " I'd probably give this book 3.5...wish Jo could have gotten a better ending. Very much like Practical Magic. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Tiffany BakerTiffany Baker is the author of The Gilly Salt Sisters and The Little Giant of Aberdeen County, which was a New York Times and San Francisco Chronicle bestseller. She holds an MFA (creative writing) and a PhD (Victorian Literature) from UC Irvine, and lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband and three children.
About the Narrator

Angela Brazil is a member of the resident acting company at Providence’s esteemed Trinity Repertory Company. She is also a teacher and a mother. She lives with her family in Lincoln, Rhode Island.