My Sisters Keeper: A Novel Audiobook, by Jodi Picoult Play Audiobook Sample

My Sister's Keeper: A Novel Audiobook

My Sisters Keeper: A Novel Audiobook, by Jodi Picoult Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
OR
Regular Price: $23.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Julia Gibson, Jennifer Ikeda, Barbara McCulloh, Carol Monda, Andy Paris, Richard Poe, Tom Stechschulte, various narrators Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 9.17 hours at 1.5x Speed 6.88 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: March 2016 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9781508224280

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

55

Longest Chapter Length:

35:36 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

18 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

14:55 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

37

Other Audiobooks Written by Jodi Picoult: > View All...

Publisher Description

New York Times bestselling author Jodi Picoult is widely acclaimed for her keen insights into the hearts and minds of real people. Now she tells the emotionally riveting story of a family torn apart by conflicting needs and a passionate love that triumphs over human weakness.

Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate—a life and a role that she has never challenged...until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister—and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves.

My Sister's Keeper examines what it means to be a good parent, a good sister, a good person. Is it morally correct to do whatever it takes to save a child's life, even if that means infringing upon the rights of another? Is it worth trying to discover who you really are, if that quest makes you like yourself less? Should you follow your own heart, or let others lead you? Once again, in My Sister's Keeper, Jodi Picoult tackles a controversial real-life subject with grace, wisdom, and sensitivity.

Download and start listening now!

"this was an amazing book. the ending blew my mind. it made me sob uncontrollably, in a good way. the ending pissed me off so much that i threw the book at a wall and couldn't finish the last couple pages for a few days. but again, it pissed me off in a good way. "

— Anna (5 out of 5 stars)

Quotes

  • “[A] tense, high-concept piece of women’s fiction in the tradition of Anna Quindlen and Rosellen Brown.”

    — Entertainment Weekly
  • “[A] thrill to read.”

    — Washington Post
  • “Has the emotional tenacity to fuel tears and talk.”

    — New York Daily News
  • “A beautiful, heartbreaking, controversial, and honest book.”

    — Booklist (starred review)

Awards

  • Winner of the 2005 Alex Award

My Sister's Keeper Listener Reviews

Overall Performance: 4.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 5 (4.25)
5 Stars: 3
4 Stars: 4
3 Stars: 1
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Narration: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 (3.00)
5 Stars: 0
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 1
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Story: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 (4.00)
5 Stars: 0
4 Stars: 1
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Narration Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Story Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I learned so much about childhood cancer in this book and I appreciate how much research Jodi Picoult puts in to her writing. I am probably one of the few that haven't seen the movie so this story was brand new to me. The ending is a doozy...as always. "

    — Heather, 3/12/2018
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " LOVED this book! Made me cry! "

    — Agodley89, 5/24/2011
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Didn't like the ending, but I don't know what I would've liked better. The movie had a different ending, but I didn't like it either. The book was fantastic. Loved the way each chapter took the event from a different character's perspective. "

    — Carrie, 5/24/2011
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " I liked how the book was told from the perspective of all of the different characters. The twist at the end made me very, very angry! "

    — Lisa, 5/23/2011
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " It's a really easy read, but the ending was great. "

    — Mallory, 5/23/2011
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I have not finished it yet but I'm about half way through and I wish to finish it "

    — Ericka, 5/23/2011
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " a real tearjerker, way better than the movie of course "

    — Hilly, 5/23/2011
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " This is just so brilliantly written, I could give this book no higher praise. "

    — Susan, 5/23/2011

About Jodi Picoult

Jodi Picoult is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of twenty-four stand-alone novels and three series, through the genres of fiction, romance, young-adult romance, mystery, and science fiction. My Sister’s Keeper won the American Library Association’s Margaret Alexander Edwards Award. She was awarded the 2003 New England Book Award for her entire body of work and a lifetime achievement award from the Romance Writers of America. She studied creative writing at Princeton University and received her masters from Harvard. Visit her website at JodiPicoult.com.

About the Narrators

Julia Gibson received an MFA from New York University. She has appeared on Broadway and other major stages in New York, as well as regional theaters from Dallas to San Francisco, Chicago, Philadelphia, and more. Gibson has played major roles in productions such as The Seagull, Angels in America, and A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Her television and film credits include Michael Clayton, Law & Order: Criminal Intent, Spin City, and One Life to Live.

Jennifer Ikeda has been narrating audiobooks since 2002. Among her readings are When My Name Was Keoko by Linda Sue Park; Just Listen by Sarah Dessen; and After the Wreck, I Picked Myself Up, Spread My Wings, and Flew Away by Joyce Carol Oates. She has won six AudioFile Earphones Awards.

Barbara McCulloh has appeared on Broadway as Mrs. Darling in Peter Pan and as Anna in The King and I. Her film and television credits include Law & Order: SVU, Another World, and Peter Pan. She has also done extensive work in regional theater and recorded dozens of audiobooks.

Carol Monda is an Earphones Award–winning narrator and accomplished voice-over artist. She is also an award-winning actor known for her work in Out of Season, After You Left, and The Gentlemen.

Andy Paris is an actor and writer. His audio narration have earned him the prestigious Audie Award, as well as AudioFile Earphones Awards. A member of the Tectonic Theater Project, he and others wrote The Laramie Project, which was nominated for an Emmy in 2002 and in which he played Stephen Belber. He has also appeared in Law & Order.

Richard Poe, a professional actor for more than thirty years, has appeared in numerous Broadway shows, including 1776 and M. Butterfly. On television he has had recurring roles on Star Trek and Frasier. His films include Born on the Fourth of July and Presumed Innocent. Poe is a well-known and prolific audiobook performer and the winner of numerous AudioFile Earphones Awards.

Tom Stechschulte (1948–2021) was an acclaimed narrator and winner of the prestigious Audie Award for Best Narration. He had been a college athlete and business major when a friend dared him to audition for a play. He got the part and traded the locker room for the dressing room, eventually taking him to New York City and to recording audiobooks.

Leon Nixon is a professional actor, playwright, and filmmaker. A Los Angeles native, he has performed in short films, web series, and on stage in dramatic and comedic roles. He is also an improviser and part of the group that appears in the Guinness Book of World Records for Longest Continuous Improv Show.