The Scent Keeper: A Novel Audiobook, by Erica Bauermeister Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Scent Keeper: A Novel Audiobook

The Scent Keeper: A Novel Audiobook, by Erica Bauermeister Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
Author: Erica Bauermeister Narrator: Gabra Zackman Publisher: Macmillan Audio Audio Length: Release Date: May 2019 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781250223463

Publisher Description

"Woven through [Emmeline's] life's journey is a multi-layered story of fragrance and its evocative power, as strong and tenacious as this sensuous novel's plucky heroine." - Shelf Awareness Erica Bauermeister, the author of the February Reese's Book Club pick The Scent Keeper, presents a moving and evocative novel about childhood stories, families lost and found, and how a fragrance conjures memories capable of shaping the course of our lives. Emmeline lives on a remote island with her father, who teaches her about the natural world through her senses. What he won’t explain are the mysterious scents stored in glass bottles that line the walls of their cabin, or the origin of the machine that creates them. As Emmeline grows, however, so too does her curiosity, until one day the unforeseen happens, and Emmeline is vaulted out into the real world--a place of love, betrayal, ambition, and revenge. To understand her past, Emmeline must unlock the clues to her identity, a quest that challenges the limits of her heart and imagination. Captivating and emotional, The Scent Keeper explores the provocative beauty of scent, the way it can reveal hidden truths, lead us to the person we seek, and even help us find our way back home.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “The author hits it out of the park with the most superb sense of place I’ve read in a long time. It’s a coming of age tale…beautifully and masterfully written. I highly recommend it.”

    - Elizabeth George, New York Times bestselling author
  • “Narrator Gabra Zackman creates an atmosphere of magic and moodiness in Bauermeister’s enchanting new novel…Bringing new characters to life, Zackman makes listeners care about each of them…This haunting coming-of-age story with touches of the fantastical and Zackman’s sensitive performance illuminate a tale of love and discovery. Truly riveting listening. Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    - AudioFile
  • “Woven through [Emmeline’s] life’s journey is a multilayered story of fragrance and its evocative power, as strong and tenacious as this sensuous novel’s plucky heroine.”

    - Shelf Awareness (starred review)
  • “[A] magical novel…blending fantasy with a realist family drama.”

    - Publishers Weekly
  • “Told in a lyrical, haunting prose…An artfully crafted coming-of-age story that will take the reader on an exquisite olfactory adventure.”

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • “Fans of Mary Simses and Jennifer Close will fall in love with Bauermeister’s plucky heroine, the layers of family secrets, the lush settings, and the painfully tender relationships.”

    - Booklist
  • “One of the most enchanting, unique books I’ve ever read.”

    - Anna Quinn, author of The Night Child

Awards

  • A New York Times Bestseller in Audio
  • A Reese’s Book Club Pick
  • A Reading Group Choices Selection for February 2020
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Erica Bauermeister is the bestselling author of the three novels and the co-author of two nonfiction books. She lives in Seattle.

About the Narrator

Gabra Zackman is an actress, author, and narrator who has won several AudioFile Earphones Awards. She was educated at Northwestern University. A classically trained actress, she has appeared in theaters all over the country as well as on film and television.