Download The Romantics, Vol. 1 Audiobook

The Romantics, Vol. 1 Audiobook, by various authors Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: various authors Narrator: various narrators Publisher: Copyright Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2014 ISBN: 9781783940103
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Romanticism was a movement in philosophy and the arts that began in the late eighteenth century. A departure from the scientific ideals of the Enlightenment, Romantic poetry featured a more personal, intuitive, emotional, and meditative expression with a back to nature imperative. The Romantic poets who were central to this movement are traditionally characterized as the “Big Six,” namely Blake, Wordsworth, Coleridge, Keats, Shelley, and Byron. However, they are by no means the only representatives of the time, and many women poets like Mary Shelley, Anna Laetitia Barbauld, Joanna Baillie, and Charlotte Smith are often overlooked. In The Romantics, the listener will be introduced to all of these authors and more.

In The Romantics, Volume 1, collected together are works by a range of authors from William Blake to John Keats.

Download and start listening now!


Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Louisa May Alcott (1832–1888) was born in Germantown, Pennsylvania. Educated by her father until she was sixteen, she also studied under Henry David Thoreau, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and Theodore Parker. A prolific writer, her most famous work was Little Women, a timeless American classic.

About the Narrator

Maria Liatis is a voice talent and audiobook narrator.