Extended Audio Sample

Download The Political Mind: Why You Can’t Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Political Mind: Why You Can’t Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain, by George Lakoff Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.06 out of 53.06 out of 53.06 out of 53.06 out of 53.06 out of 5 3.06 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: George Lakoff Narrator: Kent Cassella Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In What’s the Matter with Kansas? Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why.

As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures we’ve so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain—and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another—or building a whole new narrative altogether—can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isn’t like changing your body—it’s the same thing.

But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it.

This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.

Download and start listening now!

bdwi

Quotes & Awards

  • “Unyielding, provocative, ambitious…filled with fascinating scientific research, is apt to find a receptive audience among citizens who hunger for a new progressive renaissance.”

    San Francisco Chronicle

  • “The author masterfully makes his research comprehensible to nonspecialists. His conclusion—that if citizens and policy-makers better understand brain functioning, hope exists to ameliorate global warming and other societal disasters in the making—will be of vital importance and interest to all readers.”

    Publishers Weekly

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by William | 2/26/2011

    " This book blew my mind. For the first time in forty years that I finally understand why the American people have been so bamboozled.
    This is a must READ for every progressive thinking person in the USA; probably England too. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Ruger | 1/30/2011

    " "If you believe in the 18th century view of the mind, you will look and act wimpy. You will think that all you need to do is give people the right gacts and figures and they will recah the right conclusion." -- sound about right. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Vicki | 10/3/2010

    " I read it, I agree with the premise. BUT, I do believe very few of the voters who need to understand this concept will ever read this book. My only hope that it will be at all beneficial is if a few of the policians would read it and modify their campaigns accordingly. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Gwen | 9/14/2010

    " This book begins at the neuro level of the brain and then works its way out to political discourse. Written by a linguist who studies the inner-workings of the brain, The Political Mind provides insight as to how framing a conversation can really change the course of history. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author George Lakoff

George Lakoff is an American cognitive linguist best known for his thesis that lives of individuals are influenced by the central metaphors used to explain complex phenomena. He has written several works on mathematics, politics, and language, including Metaphors We Live By, which introduced his metaphor thesis. He is a professor of linguistics at the University of California, Berkeley, where he has taught since 1972.