Download The Long Cosmos: A Novel Audiobook

The Long Cosmos: A Novel Audiobook, by Terry Pratchett Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Stephen Baxter, Terry Pratchett Narrator: Michael Fenton Stevens Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Series: The Long Earth Series Release Date: June 2016 ISBN: 9780062297402
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The thrilling conclusion to the internationally bestselling Long Earth series explores the greatest question of all: What is the meaning of life?

2070-71. Nearly six decades after Step Day, a new society continues to evolve in the Long Earth. Now, a message has been received: “Join us.”

The Next—the hyper-intelligent post-humans—realize that the missive contains instructions for kick-starting the development of an immense artificial intelligence known as The Machine. But to build this computer the size of an Earth continent, they must obtain help from the more populous and still industrious worlds of mankind.

Meanwhile, on a trek in the High Meggers, Joshua Valienté, now nearing seventy, is saved from death when a troll band discovers him. Living among the trolls as he recovers, Joshua develops a deeper understanding of this collective-intelligence species and its society. He discovers that some older trolls, with capacious memories, act as communal libraries, and live on a very strange Long Earth world, in caverns under the root systems of trees as tall as mountains.

Valienté also learns something much more profound . . . about life and its purpose in the Long Earth: We cultivate the cosmos to maximize the opportunities for life and joy in this universe, and to prepare for new universes to come.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “The Long Cosmos shares the same sense of cosmic wonder and the utopian impulses of its predecessors…Readers…looking for an expansive and engaging read should give it a try.”


  • “Once again, the purpose is less to tell a story than to discover and explore, in both physical and philosophical senses, an infinite landscape of infinite possibilities.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “The story starts off slowly, but it quickly picks up speed as the mystery deepens and the myriad threads come together…It’s a wholly satisfying conclusion to the series, though vast amounts of potential remain in the concept.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Narrator Michael Fenton Stevens delivers this final book in the Lost Earth series with a feeling of familiarity. The phenomenon of ‘stepping between parallel earths’ is now in its sixtieth year. As the galaxy continues to broadcast its message—‘join us’—the intrepid travelers continue their explorations and contemplations of the meaning of life…Stevens doesn’t neglect the flashes of humor that are present as he portrays the fine-tuned relationships between the characters.”


Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Terry Pratchett (1948–2015) was an English novelist known for his frequently comical work in the fantasy genre. He is best known for his popular and long-running Discworld series. His first novel, The Carpet People, was published in 1971, and after publishing his first Discworld novel, The Color of Magic, in 1983, he wrote two books a year on average. He was the United Kingdom’s bestselling author of the 1990s and has sold more than 55 million books worldwide. In 2001 he won the Carnegie Medal for his children’s novel The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents. Pratchett was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire for services to literature in 1998 and was knighted in 2009.

About the Narrator

Michael Fenton Stevens is an actor and comedian, as well as a founding member of The Hee Bee Gee Bees, a pop music group. He is known for his work in television and for his voice work on BBC Radio 4.