Extended Audio Sample

Download A Blink of the Screen: Collected Shorter Fiction Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample A Blink of the Screen: Collected Shorter Fiction, by Terry Pratchett Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Terry Pratchett Narrator: Michael Fenton Stevens, Stephen Brigg Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

A collection of short fiction from Terry Pratchett, spanning the whole of his writing career from his schooldays to Discworld and the present day.

In the four decades since his first book appeared in print, Terry Pratchett has become one of the world’s bestselling and best-loved authors. Here for the first time are his short stories and other short-form fiction collected into one volume.

A Blink of the Screen charts the course of Pratchett’s long writing career: from his schooldays to his first writing job on the Bucks Free Press; the origins of his debut novel, The Carpet People; and the dizzy mastery of the phenomenally successful Discworld series.

Here are characters both familiar and yet to be discovered; abandoned worlds and others still expanding; adventure, chickens, death, disco, and, actually, some quite disturbing ideas about Christmas, all of it shot through with Terry’s inimitable brand of humor. With an introduction by Booker Prize-winning author, A. S. Byatt, A Blink of the Screen is a book to treasure.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “It will come as no surprise to those familiar with Sir Terry’s work that his annotated juvenilia, collected alongside more recent short fiction in A Blink of the Screen, read decidedly more as if you’re sitting in the author’s parlor on a lazy afternoon, flipping through an album while he weighs in on—and occasionally condemns—those long-ago stories…it’s a book meant to be cherished by those who want a glimpse of both the work and the man.“

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Pratchett fans will celebrate this first-ever collection of short fiction from the world-famous author of the Discworld novels.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “An excellent introduction to his work for new readers and the pièce de résistance for longtime fans.”

    Library Journal

  • “One of the main draws of this collection for serious fans, or aspiring writers, will be the chance to trace the evolution of Pratchett’s craft—but there’s plenty here for readers who have never heard of him to enjoy.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “As soon as one hears longtime Discworld narrator Stephen Briggs’ comically heartfelt and mildly tuneful rendition of Discworld’s national anthem, one realizes why some books should be heard and not just read….The sound of words and the sound of ideas always attracted Pratchett, and both Briggs and Michael Fenton Stevens excel at emphasizing Pratchett’s special blend of sophistication and silliness, especially when they’re providing character voices to dozens of witches and wizards. Wonderfully entertaining and an absolute must-listen for all longtime Pratchett fans.”


Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations