Extended Audio Sample

Download The Girl with All the Gifts Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Girl with All the Gifts, by M. R. Carey Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: M. R. Carey Narrator: Finty William Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.98 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be taken to class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Original, thrilling, and powerful.”

    Guardian (London)

  • “Astute readers will pick up on the truth of Melanie’s situation very early on, but that doesn’t make the portrait Carey sketches in the first section of this fine, vivid novel any less skillfully drawn; once everything goes to hell and his considerably reduced cast goes on the run, he fleshes out his characters even more. In less capable hands, this could have been a stock story with stock types, but the people here, and their relationships, are so compelling that they elevate the story into something worth caring about.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Comics writer Carey delivers an entertaining take on several well-worn zombie tropes…[Carey] builds well-constructed characters—particularly Melanie, one of the zombified children, who comes across as cognitively and emotionally different from the other characters, without feeling like an offensive parody of a person with Asperger’s. The requisite action sequences are also well constructed, and the book will appeal to fans of zombie fiction.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Unique and terrifying.”


  • “Like Max Brooks did with World War Z, Carey turns the zombie genre on its head. While the setting is a stark dystopian future teeming with undead, this moving story’s real focus is the relationships and growth of the characters, not who or what they are. In a packed field, this fast-paced and haunting tale is sure to stand out.”

    Library Journal

  • “A great read that takes hold of you and doesn’t let go.” 

    John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of Let the Right One In

  • “Brilliant…Gripping right to the end.”

    Carole Matthews, author of The Chocolate Lovers’ Club

  • “One of the more imaginative and ingenious additions to the dystopian canon.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • Selected for the June 2014 Indie Next List
  • One of Audible’s Best Audiobooks of 2014
  • Winner of the 2015 Audie Award for Best Paranormal Narration
  • Shortlisted for the 2015 Arthur C. Clarke Award

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Ghost | 8/4/2015

    " Good twist on Zombies. Interesting because you expect a zombie to act like a zombie. This was different and nice narrator "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Ghost | 7/15/2015

    " Good read new twist on zombies. narrator was pleasant to the ear "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations