Extended Audio Sample

Download The Desert Spear Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Desert Spear Audiobook, by Peter V. Brett Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (14,645 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Peter V. Brett Narrator: Pete Bradbury Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Demon Cycle Release Date: April 2010 ISBN: 9781449809102
Regular Price: $39.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The second installment to the highly acclaimed post-apocalyptic adventure debut, The Warded Man (or, in the U.S., The Painted Man), Peter Brett continues to lead his audience through a world under siege by demons, known as "corelings". Rising from the core of the earth, they hover and devour humans once the sun sets. Yet hope may also rise, and now from the desert, in a new hero: Ahmann Jardir, who claims himself to be the Deliverer of legends past. Together, Jardir and his battle-mates--the allied tribal warriors of Krasia--are on a grand quest to destroy the demons once and for all, in order to bring humankind back from the brink of extinction... no matter who stands in their way.

Yet there is another man prophesied to be the Deliverer: Arlen Bales, the former friend of Jardir and the Painted Man from the first novel, has had his mystical spear stolen by Jadir. Which one of these two will save humankind from the demons? Will they both succeed? Or fail...?

Peter V. Brett was born in 1973 and writes fantasy novels. He studied Art History and English literature. Before leaving his job to become a full time writer, he worked for over a decade in the pharmaceutical publications. His interest in fantasy fiction began in childhood, and he has long enjoyed comics and role playing games. Published for the first time in 2008, the Demon Cycle quintet was written partially on a New York subway.

Peter Brett’s The Desert Spear continues the postapocalyptic adventure he began in his highly acclaimed debut, The Warded Man. The world remains under siege by demonkind stalking the land when the sun goes down. But a new hero has risen from the desert. Claiming to be the mythical Deliverer, Ahmann Jardir now rides alongside the allied desert tribes of Krasia. Jardir and his fellows are on an epic quest to vanquish the demons plaguing the world and bring humanity back from the brink of extinction. Download and start listening now!

BK_RECO_003830

Quotes & Awards

  • “In keeping with the recent trend of starting in the thick of the action, this sequel to 2009’s The Warded Man picks up in the heat of Jardir’s conquest of the greenlands…Sure to leave fans on tenterhooks waiting for the last installment.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “The sequel to Brett’s acclaimed debut, The Warded Man, extends the author’s panoramic vision of a world steeped in the traditions of the desert and rich in magic both good and evil. Fans of epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin will enjoy the arrival of a strong voice in multivolume epic fantasy.”

    Library Journal

  • “The gripping sequel to The Warded Man…emphasizes political and romantic intrigue without losing the urgency of the demon war.”

    Booklist

  • “The most significant and cinematic fantasy epic since The Lord of the Rings. Inspired, compelling, and totally addictive!” 

    Paul W. S. Anderson, director of Resident Evil: Afterlife

  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Luke | 2/18/2014

    " Excellent! 2nd read through this book and still like it a lot. Great characters (one of the most important things to me as a reader) that you feel have become your close friends at the end of the book. Then the hard part: You miss them when you've finished! You feel alone and lost without them in your daily life. But not for long. Now, it's on to THE DAYLIGHT WAR! Peter V. Brett has created a wounderful world for us to have an awesome adventure through. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hank | 2/6/2014

    " Better than the first in the series. I savored much of the densely packed 579 pages hoping the end would not come too soon. The parallel stories of the two main characters show a remarkable constrast. Just when I want the desert guy to fail, I see virtue and as I am rooting for the northern guy I see a tragic end approaching. Brett has woven a captivating tail of contrasting cultures that are similar to what we see in the world today. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Frank Harris | 1/26/2014

    " Great writing, and an unusual setting with tightly interlocking concepts - I just wish the plot was as tight. That is, about halfway through the story shifts to a whole different set of characters and aspect of the setting with no explanation, which is also unexpectedly disturbing and filled with rape...which later seems to have some story-purpose, but still, it was really jarring. It mostly balanced out in the end, I suppose. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cassandra Crawford | 1/18/2014

    " The first two books in this trilogy are the best books I have ever read!! I am so anxious to read the third book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jama | 1/7/2014

    " Dont know what it is but i found the ending to both books mediocre. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cory nielsen | 1/2/2014

    " just like book 1 nothing new, nothing less "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amy Chamberlain | 1/1/2014

    " Really liked it. Will write a fuller review later. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tishangela | 12/25/2013

    " Great story from all angles. Characters are excellent, especially in their imperfections. Twists and turns... I am really looking forward to the third book! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tracey | 12/22/2013

    " Although I enjoyed reading the book on reflection I am struggling to think of something interesting that happened in it. I think the first book in the series was so much better. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Chris Fuller | 12/19/2013

    " 2nd book just gets better, officially my new favorite series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Edward Branley | 12/6/2013

    " I read this on my last trip to europe, back in March. The book offers great background on the Krasians encountered by The Warded Man in first book. Brett does well with a multiple POV presentation, and he's thought out both cultures well. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Aaron Zamburek | 11/4/2013

    " Very good book. Quite liked it. Flew right through it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Shy | 10/22/2013

    " Very good second book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sylvia | 7/21/2013

    " This is a great book. I didn't finish it though. There was a tad too much incest and rape type things for me to get through at the time. I may go back to it. Like the first book, the writing is excellent and the story is good. I just got hung up on the one storyline. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Halindrome | 12/29/2012

    " Excellent book. Should have read in order though! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Sofia | 10/29/2012

    " only got to page 108...and only got that far because a friend gave me the first one as a gift. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Shawn Hurst | 6/22/2012

    " Other than the occasional crudeness this book was very good. Unexpected beginning that threw me off because of we're the first one ends but finishes strong. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Olive | 6/17/2012

    " This book was a lovely follow up to the first book. It went into things deeper and you learned more about the different characters. I also like that we got to revisit characters that we briefly met in the first book. It was a wonderful read and I am looking forward to the next book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 James | 2/2/2012

    " nearly as good as first as has me anxious for the third. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tony | 5/24/2011

    " all too often the second book of a trilogy is a little disappointing. that cannot be said of this as, if anything it surpasses the warded man.the pace is a bit slower but the book is all the better for that.loved it and can't wait for the third and final installment "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tomaz | 5/14/2011

    " Even better then the first. Slow start strong finnish. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Karen | 5/10/2011

    " An okay sequel to a better book. I'll have to wait to finish the trilogy. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Deborah | 4/30/2011

    " I enjoyed this book almost as much as the first one. It was fascinating to see the story unfold through Ahmann's eyes. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tres | 4/20/2011

    " Peter Brett along with Patrick Rothfuss are writing fabulous epic fantasies, these are must reads for any fantasy book lover. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 flajol | 4/10/2011

    " Excellent series! Looking forward to the next instalment. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Pilars | 4/6/2011

    " Disappointing second book in this trilogy. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lorraine | 4/4/2011

    " Great demon killing love story post apocalyptic stuff :) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Josh | 3/26/2011

    " A fantastic book. If the author had only skipped unnecessary descriptions and written as cleanly as Brandon Sanderson, I'd have given it five stars for sure. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Halindrome | 3/12/2011

    " Excellent book. Should have read in order though! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Peter V. Brett

Peter Brett is a New York Times bestselling fantasy author. He received his BA in English from the University of Buffalo and worked in medical publishing before becoming a full-time writer. He is most known for his Demon Cycle books, which include The Painted Man, Desert Spear, and The Daylight War. He has also written standalone novels and novellas, including Tibbett’s Brook and Brayan’s Gold. Brett lives in Brooklyn, New York, with his wife and daughter.

About the Narrator

Pete Bradbury has appeared both on and off-Broadway and at many of the leading regional theaters across the country in plays ranging from Shakespeare and Molière to Edward Albee and David Mamet. He has also been seen on the CBS miniseries Sally Hemings. A former company member of the American Conservatory Theater in San Francisco, Bradbury received his training in their three-year advanced program. He lives in New York City with his family.