Extended Audio Sample

Download The Desert Spear Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Desert Spear, by Peter V. Brett Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (14,645 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Peter V. Brett Narrator: Pete Bradbury Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Demon Cycle Release Date:
Regular Price: $39.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The second installment to the highly acclaimed post-apocalyptic adventure debut, The Warded Man (or, in the U.S., The Painted Man), Peter Brett continues to lead his audience through a world under siege by demons, known as "corelings". Rising from the core of the earth, they hover and devour humans once the sun sets. Yet hope may also rise, and now from the desert, in a new hero: Ahmann Jardir, who claims himself to be the Deliverer of legends past. Together, Jardir and his battle-mates--the allied tribal warriors of Krasia--are on a grand quest to destroy the demons once and for all, in order to bring humankind back from the brink of extinction... no matter who stands in their way.

Yet there is another man prophesied to be the Deliverer: Arlen Bales, the former friend of Jardir and the Painted Man from the first novel, has had his mystical spear stolen by Jadir. Which one of these two will save humankind from the demons? Will they both succeed? Or fail...?

Peter V. Brett was born in 1973 and writes fantasy novels. He studied Art History and English literature. Before leaving his job to become a full time writer, he worked for over a decade in the pharmaceutical publications. His interest in fantasy fiction began in childhood, and he has long enjoyed comics and role playing games. Published for the first time in 2008, the Demon Cycle quintet was written partially on a New York subway.

Peter Brett’s The Desert Spear continues the postapocalyptic adventure he began in his highly acclaimed debut, The Warded Man. The world remains under siege by demonkind stalking the land when the sun goes down. But a new hero has risen from the desert. Claiming to be the mythical Deliverer, Ahmann Jardir now rides alongside the allied desert tribes of Krasia. Jardir and his fellows are on an epic quest to vanquish the demons plaguing the world and bring humanity back from the brink of extinction. Download and start listening now!

BK_RECO_003830

Quotes & Awards

  • “In keeping with the recent trend of starting in the thick of the action, this sequel to 2009’s The Warded Man picks up in the heat of Jardir’s conquest of the greenlands…Sure to leave fans on tenterhooks waiting for the last installment.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “The sequel to Brett’s acclaimed debut, The Warded Man, extends the author’s panoramic vision of a world steeped in the traditions of the desert and rich in magic both good and evil. Fans of epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin will enjoy the arrival of a strong voice in multivolume epic fantasy.”

    Library Journal

  • “The gripping sequel to The Warded Man…emphasizes political and romantic intrigue without losing the urgency of the demon war.”

    Booklist

  • “The most significant and cinematic fantasy epic since The Lord of the Rings. Inspired, compelling, and totally addictive!” 

    Paul W. S. Anderson, director of Resident Evil: Afterlife

  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Luke | 2/18/2014

    " Excellent! 2nd read through this book and still like it a lot. Great characters (one of the most important things to me as a reader) that you feel have become your close friends at the end of the book. Then the hard part: You miss them when you've finished! You feel alone and lost without them in your daily life. But not for long. Now, it's on to THE DAYLIGHT WAR! Peter V. Brett has created a wounderful world for us to have an awesome adventure through. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Hank | 2/6/2014

    " Better than the first in the series. I savored much of the densely packed 579 pages hoping the end would not come too soon. The parallel stories of the two main characters show a remarkable constrast. Just when I want the desert guy to fail, I see virtue and as I am rooting for the northern guy I see a tragic end approaching. Brett has woven a captivating tail of contrasting cultures that are similar to what we see in the world today. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Frank Harris | 1/26/2014

    " Great writing, and an unusual setting with tightly interlocking concepts - I just wish the plot was as tight. That is, about halfway through the story shifts to a whole different set of characters and aspect of the setting with no explanation, which is also unexpectedly disturbing and filled with rape...which later seems to have some story-purpose, but still, it was really jarring. It mostly balanced out in the end, I suppose. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Cassandra Crawford | 1/18/2014

    " The first two books in this trilogy are the best books I have ever read!! I am so anxious to read the third book. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Peter V. Brett

Peter Brett is a New York Times bestselling fantasy author. He received his BA in English from the University of Buffalo and worked in medical publishing before becoming a full-time writer. He is most known for his Demon Cycle books, which include The Painted Man, Desert Spear, and The Daylight War. He has also written standalone novels and novellas, including Tibbett’s Brook and Brayan’s Gold. Brett lives in Brooklyn, New York, with his wife and daughter.