Extended Audio Sample

Download Words of Radiance: Book Two of the Stormlight Archive Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Words of Radiance: Book Two of the Stormlight Archive Audiobook, by Brandon Sanderson Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 5 3.58 (5 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Brandon Sanderson Narrator: Michael Kramer, Kate Reading Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Stormlight Archive Series Release Date: March 2014 ISBN: 9781427233080
Regular Price: $42.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $26.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, Words of Radiance, Book Two of the Stormlight Archive, continues the immersive fantasy epic that The Way of Kings began.

Expected by his enemies to die the miserable death of a military slave, Kaladin survived to be given command of the royal bodyguards, a controversial first for a low-status "darkeyes." Now he must protect the king and Dalinar from every common peril as well as the distinctly uncommon threat of the Assassin, all while secretly struggling to master remarkable new powers that are somehow linked to his honorspren, Syl.

The Assassin, Szeth, is active again, murdering rulers all over the world of Roshar, using his baffling powers to thwart every bodyguard and elude all pursuers. Among his prime targets is Highprince Dalinar, widely considered the power behind the Alethi throne. His leading role in the war would seem reason enough, but the Assassin's master has much deeper motives.

Brilliant but troubled Shallan strives along a parallel path. Despite being broken in ways she refuses to acknowledge, she bears a terrible burden: to somehow prevent the return of the legendary Voidbringers and the civilization-ending Desolation that will follow. The secrets she needs can be found at the Shattered Plains, but just arriving there proves more difficult than she could have imagined.

Meanwhile, at the heart of the Shattered Plains, the Parshendi are making an epochal decision. Hard pressed by years of Alethi attacks, their numbers ever shrinking, they are convinced by their war leader, Eshonai, to risk everything on a desperate gamble with the very supernatural forces they once fled. The possible consequences for Parshendi and humans alike, indeed, for Roshar itself, are as dangerous as they are incalculable.

Other Tor books by Brandon Sanderson

The Cosmere

The Stormlight Archive
The Way of Kings
Words of Radiance
Edgedancer (Novella)
Oathbringer (forthcoming)

The Mistborn trilogy
Mistborn: The Final Empire
The Well of Ascension
The Hero of Ages

Mistborn: The Wax and Wayne series
Alloy of Law
Shadows of Self
Bands of Mourning

Collection
Arcanum Unbounded

Other Cosmere novels
Elantris
Warbreaker

The Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians series
Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians
The Scrivener's Bones
The Knights of Crystallia
The Shattered Lens
The Dark Talent

The Rithmatist series
The Rithmatist

Other books by Brandon Sanderson

The Reckoners
Steelheart
Firefight
Calamity

Download and start listening now!

bbbz

Quotes & Awards

  • “Readers have waited since 2010 for the second of ten promised volumes of Brandon Sandersons Stormlight Archive…The wait is over and we can now immerse ourselves again in the missions and mishaps of Shallan, Kaladin, Szeth, Dalinar, Jasnah, and others. With its compelling characters and intertwined plotlines, Stormlight Archive is already sculpting itself into an epic to remember.”

    Barnes&Noble.com, editorial review

  • “I loved this book. What else is there to say? Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times bestselling author of The Name of the Wind on The Way of Kings

  • This is a great choice for fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Brooks. Voice of Youth Advocates on The Way of Kings
  • The best part…is the compelling, complex story of Dalinar, Kaladin, and Shallan as they struggle though emotional, physical, and moral challenges. Fans and lovers of epic fantasy…will eagerly await the next volume. Library Journal on The Way of Kings

  • “Sanderson’s skill at world building is unmatched, and in the Stormlight Archive series he has developed an innovative magical system and combined it with rich, complex characters to create a compelling story. His eagerly awaited sequel to The Way of Kings exceeds expectations. This developing epic series is a must-read for all fantasy fans.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “The novel is weighty without being ponderous and delivers a satisfactory story despite being part of an episodic secondary world fantasy series.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “ This is a character-driven book, and Kramer’s and Reading’s portrayals will help listeners settle in for the intertwined plot lines as the protagonists carry out their separate but connected stories. Each narrator draws on a deep reserve of voices and accents while maintaining a quick pace. Equally adept with dialogue, rumination, and long narrative passages, they make the hours fly by. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • A #1 New York Times bestseller
  • A USA Today bestseller
  • A Los Angeles Times bestseller
  • A Publishers Weekly bestseller
  • A #1 Chicago Tribune bestseller
  • A San Francisco Chronicle bestseller
  • A Wall Street Journal bestseller
  • An NPR bestseller
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year for 2014
  • One of Audible’s Best Audiobooks of 2014: Listener Favorite
  • Audie Award Winner
  • Among shortlisted titles for Audie Award Finalist, 2015
  • Among longlisted titles for Audible.com Best of the Year, 2014
  • Among longlisted titles for Apple iBooks Best of the Year, 2014
  • Winner of Audie Audiobook of the Year Winner, 2015
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson is the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Words of Radiance and the internationally bestselling books in the Stormlight Archive and the Mistborn series. He was also chosen to complete Robert Jordan’s the Wheel of Time series. His books have been published in more than twenty-five languages and have sold millions of copies worldwide. He teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University.

About the Narrators

Michael Kramer has narrated many audiobooks over the last twenty years; his favorite authors include Donald E. Westlake, Thomas Perry, and Robert Jordan. He has received fifteen AudioFile Earphones Awards for his work. He lives in the DC area, where he also works in theater as an actor and director.

Kate Reading is an Audie Award–winning narrator and has received thirty Earphones Awards from AudioFile magazine. She is also a theater actor in the Washington, DC, area and has been a member of the Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company since 1987. Her work onstage has been recognized by the Helen Hayes Awards Society, among others. She and her husband live in Hyattsville, Maryland, with their two children.