Extended Audio Sample

Download Words of Radiance Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Words of Radiance Audiobook, by Brandon Sanderson Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.11 out of 53.11 out of 53.11 out of 53.11 out of 53.11 out of 5 3.11 (4 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Brandon Sanderson Narrator: Michael Kramer, Kate Reading Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Stormlight Archive Series Release Date: March 2014 ISBN: 9781427233080
Regular Price: $50.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $30.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Six years ago, the Assassin in White, hired by the inscrutable Parshendi, assassinated the Alethi king on the very night a treaty between humans and the Parshendi was being celebrated. So began the Vengeance Pact among the highprinces of Alethkar and the War of Reckoning against the Parshendi.

Now the Assassin is active again, murdering rulers all over Roshar, using his baffling powers to thwart bodyguards and elude all pursuers. Among his prime targets is Highprince Dalinar, widely considered the power behind the Alethi throne. His leading role in the war would seem reason enough, but the Assassin’s master has much deeper motives.

Expected by his enemies to die the miserable death of a military slave, Kaladin survived to be given command of the royal bodyguards, a controversial first for a low-status “darkeyes.” Now he must protect the king and Dalinar from every common peril as well as the distinctly uncommon threat of the Assassin, all while secretly struggling to master remarkable new powers that are somehow linked to his honorspren, Syl.

Brilliant but troubled Shallan strives along a parallel path. Despite being broken in ways she refuses to acknowledge, she bears a terrible burden: to somehow prevent the return of the legendary Voidbringers and the civilization-ending Desolation that will follow. The secrets she needs can be found at the Shattered Plains, but just arriving there proves more difficult than she could have imagined.

Meanwhile, at the heart of the Shattered Plains, the Parshendi are making an epochal decision. Hard pressed by years of Alethi attacks, their numbers ever shrinking, they are convinced by their war leader, Eshonai, to risk everything on a desperate gamble with the very supernatural forces they once fled. The possible consequences for the Parshendi and humans alike, indeed, for Roshar itself, are as dangerous as they are incalculable.

This second volume of the planned ten book Stormlight Archive series continues the epic story of the New York Times bestseller The Way of Kings

Download and start listening now!

bbbz

Quotes & Awards

  • The best part…is the compelling, complex story of Dalinar, Kaladin, and Shallan as they struggle though emotional, physical, and moral challenges. Fans and lovers of epic fantasy…will eagerly await the next volume. Library Journal on The Way of Kings

  • “Readers have waited since 2010 for the second of ten promised volumes of Brandon Sandersons Stormlight Archive…The wait is over and we can now immerse ourselves again in the missions and mishaps of Shallan, Kaladin, Szeth, Dalinar, Jasnah, and others. With its compelling characters and intertwined plotlines, Stormlight Archive is already sculpting itself into an epic to remember.”

    Barnes&Noble.com, editorial review

  • “I loved this book. What else is there to say? Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times bestselling author of The Name of the Wind on The Way of Kings

  • This is a great choice for fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Brooks. Voice of Youth Advocates on The Way of Kings
  • “Sanderson’s skill at world building is unmatched, and in the Stormlight Archive series he has developed an innovative magical system and combined it with rich, complex characters to create a compelling story. His eagerly awaited sequel to The Way of Kings exceeds expectations. This developing epic series is a must-read for all fantasy fans.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “The novel is weighty without being ponderous and delivers a satisfactory story despite being part of an episodic secondary world fantasy series.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “ This is a character-driven book, and Kramer’s and Reading’s portrayals will help listeners settle in for the intertwined plot lines as the protagonists carry out their separate but connected stories. Each narrator draws on a deep reserve of voices and accents while maintaining a quick pace. Equally adept with dialogue, rumination, and long narrative passages, they make the hours fly by. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • A #1 New York Times Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller
  • A Los Angeles Times Bestseller
  • A Publishers Weekly Bestseller
  • A #1 Chicago Tribune Bestseller
  • A San Francisco Chronicle Bestseller
  • A Wall Street Journal Bestseller
  • An NPR Bestseller
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year for 2014
  • One of Audible’s Best Audiobooks of 2014: Listener Favorite
  • Among longlisted titles for Audible.com Best of the Year, 2014
  • Among longlisted titles for Apple iBooks Best of the Year, 2014
  • Audie Award Winner
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson is the bestselling fantasy author of Elantris and the Mistborn Series. He was chosen by Robert Jordan’s widow to complete the epic Wheel of Time series and has authored The Gathering Storm and Towers of Midnight in that line. He teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University and lives with his wife and children in American Fork, Utah.

About the Narrators

Michael Kramer has narrated many audiobooks over the last twenty years; his favorite authors include Donald E. Westlake, Thomas Perry, and Robert Jordan. He has received several AudioFile Earphones Awards for his work. He lives in the DC area, where he also works in theater as an actor and director.

Kate Reading is an Audie Award–winning narrator and has received numerous Earphones Awards from AudioFile magazine. She is also a theater actor in the Washington, DC, area and has been a member of the Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company since 1987. Her work onstage has been recognized by the Helen Hayes Awards Society, among others. She and her husband live in Hyattsville, Maryland, with their two children.