Words of Radiance: Book Two of the Stormlight Archive Audiobook, by Brandon Sanderson Play Audiobook Sample

Words of Radiance: Book Two of the Stormlight Archive Audiobook

Words of Radiance: Book Two of the Stormlight Archive Audiobook, by Brandon Sanderson Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $30.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $49.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Michael Kramer, Kate Reading Publisher: Macmillan Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 32.17 hours at 1.5x Speed 24.13 hours at 2.0x Speed Series: The Stormlight Archive Release Date: March 2014 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781427233080

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

144

Longest Chapter Length:

50:18 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

41 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

20:05 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

35

Other Audiobooks Written by Brandon Sanderson: > View All...

Publisher Description

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, Words of Radiance, Book Two of the Stormlight Archive, continues the immersive fantasy epic that The Way of Kings began. Expected by his enemies to die the miserable death of a military slave, Kaladin survived to be given command of the royal bodyguards, a controversial first for a low-status "darkeyes." Now he must protect the king and Dalinar from every common peril as well as the distinctly uncommon threat of the Assassin, all while secretly struggling to master remarkable new powers that are somehow linked to his honorspren, Syl. The Assassin, Szeth, is active again, murdering rulers all over the world of Roshar, using his baffling powers to thwart every bodyguard and elude all pursuers. Among his prime targets is Highprince Dalinar, widely considered the power behind the Alethi throne. His leading role in the war would seem reason enough, but the Assassin's master has much deeper motives. Brilliant but troubled Shallan strives along a parallel path. Despite being broken in ways she refuses to acknowledge, she bears a terrible burden: to somehow prevent the return of the legendary Voidbringers and the civilization-ending Desolation that will follow. The secrets she needs can be found at the Shattered Plains, but just arriving there proves more difficult than she could have imagined. Meanwhile, at the heart of the Shattered Plains, the Parshendi are making an epochal decision. Hard pressed by years of Alethi attacks, their numbers ever shrinking, they are convinced by their war leader, Eshonai, to risk everything on a desperate gamble with the very supernatural forces they once fled. The possible consequences for Parshendi and humans alike, indeed, for Roshar itself, are as dangerous as they are incalculable. Other Tor books by Brandon Sanderson The Cosmere The Stormlight Archive The Way of Kings Words of Radiance Edgedancer (Novella) Oathbringer The Mistborn trilogy Mistborn: The Final Empire The Well of Ascension The Hero of Ages Mistborn: The Wax and Wayne series Alloy of Law Shadows of Self Bands of Mourning Collection Arcanum Unbounded Other Cosmere novels Elantris Warbreaker The Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians series Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians The Scrivener's Bones The Knights of Crystallia The Shattered Lens The Dark Talent The Rithmatist series The Rithmatist Other books by Brandon Sanderson The Reckoners Steelheart Firefight Calamity

Download and start listening now!

“ This is a character-driven book, and Kramer’s and Reading’s portrayals will help listeners settle in for the intertwined plot lines as the protagonists carry out their separate but connected stories. Each narrator draws on a deep reserve of voices and accents while maintaining a quick pace. Equally adept with dialogue, rumination, and long narrative passages, they make the hours fly by. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

— AudioFile 

Quotes

  • “Readers have waited since 2010 for the second of ten promised volumes of Brandon Sandersons Stormlight Archive…The wait is over and we can now immerse ourselves again in the missions and mishaps of Shallan, Kaladin, Szeth, Dalinar, Jasnah, and others. With its compelling characters and intertwined plotlines, Stormlight Archive is already sculpting itself into an epic to remember.”

    — Barnes&Noble.com, editorial review
  • “Sanderson’s skill at world building is unmatched, and in the Stormlight Archive series he has developed an innovative magical system and combined it with rich, complex characters to create a compelling story. His eagerly awaited sequel to The Way of Kings exceeds expectations. This developing epic series is a must-read for all fantasy fans.”

    — Library Journal (starred review)
  • “The novel is weighty without being ponderous and delivers a satisfactory story despite being part of an episodic secondary world fantasy series.”

    — Publishers Weekly
  • “I loved this book. What else is there to say?

    — Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times bestselling author of The Name of the Wind on The Way of Kings
  • This is a great choice for fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Brooks.

    — Voice of Youth Advocates on The Way of Kings
  • The best part…is the compelling, complex story of Dalinar, Kaladin, and Shallan as they struggle though emotional, physical, and moral challenges. Fans and lovers of epic fantasy…will eagerly await the next volume.

    — Library Journal on The Way of Kings

Awards

  • A #1 New York Times bestseller
  • A USA Today bestseller
  • A Los Angeles Times bestseller
  • A Publishers Weekly bestseller
  • A #1 Chicago Tribune bestseller
  • A San Francisco Chronicle bestseller
  • A Wall Street Journal bestseller
  • An NPR bestseller
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year for 2014
  • One of Audible’s Best Audiobooks of 2014: Listener Favorite
  • Audie Award Winner
  • Among shortlisted titles for Audie Award Finalist, 2015
  • Among longlisted titles for Audible.com Best of the Year, 2014
  • Among longlisted titles for Apple iBooks Best of the Year, 2014
  • Winner of Audie Audiobook of the Year Winner, 2015

Words of Radiance Listener Reviews

Overall Performance: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5 (4.40)
5 Stars: 3
4 Stars: 1
3 Stars: 1
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Narration: 4.16666666666667 out of 54.16666666666667 out of 54.16666666666667 out of 54.16666666666667 out of 54.16666666666667 out of 5 (4.17)
5 Stars: 4
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 1
2 Stars: 1
1 Stars: 0
Story: 4.83333333333333 out of 54.83333333333333 out of 54.83333333333333 out of 54.83333333333333 out of 54.83333333333333 out of 5 (4.83)
5 Stars: 5
4 Stars: 1
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Wojciech Malecki, 6/17/2023
  • Overall Performance: 0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Dylan Kelly, 7/23/2022
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Arthur , 5/26/2022
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Narration Rating: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Jonathan Fasse, 12/23/2019
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    — Andrew Tuon, 9/18/2019
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Narration Rating: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Story Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    — Jason, 3/8/2019
  • Overall Performance: 0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 Narration Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    — Patrick Henden, 3/3/2016

About Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson is the author of such bestsellers as the Mistborn® trilogy, including New York Times bestsellers and the #1 New York Times bestseller Words of Radiance. In 2013, he won a Hugo Award for Best Novella for The Emperor’s Soul, set in the world of his acclaimed first novel, Elantris. Additionally, he was chosen to complete Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time® sequence. He grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska, and teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University.

About the Narrators

Michael Kramer is an AudioFile Earphones Award winner, a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for Best Narration, and recipient of a Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Award. He is also an actor and director in the Washington, DC, area, where he is active in the area’s theater scene and has appeared in productions at the Shakespeare Theatre, the Kennedy Center, and Theater J.

Kate Reading has recorded hundreds of audiobooks across many genres, over a thirty year plus career. Audie Awards: The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter (mystery), Breasts (non-fiction), Bellwether (fiction), and Words of Radiance (fantasy). Among other awards, she has been recognized with: the ALA Booklist best of 2019 for Bowlaway (fiction), AudioFile Magazine Voice of the Century, Earphones Awards, Narrator of the Year, Best Voice in Science Fiction and Fantasy, and Publisher’s Weekly’s Listen-Up Award. She records at her home studio, Madison Productions, Inc., in Maryland.