Extended Audio Sample

Download The Christmas Companion: Stories, Songs, and Sketches Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Christmas Companion: Stories, Songs, and Sketches Audiobook, by Garrison Keillor Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Garrison Keillor Narrator: A Full Cast Publisher: Highbridge Audio Format: Other Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2009 ISBN: 9781598879476
Regular Price: $17.47 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $10.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The first new Prairie Home Christmas collection in ten years is a warm and wonderful celebration of storytelling, music, and the holiday spirit.

It’s Christmas in Lake Wobegon, Christmas at the old radio show, Christmas at the Fitzgerald Theater in St. Paul, Christmas wherever friends and families gather to rejoice, reminisce, and share the holiday spirit.

Contents include:

  • “Wise Men Blues”—Pat Donohue
  • Rhubarb—Tim Russell and others
  • “Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairies”—Sonos Handbell Ensemble
  • “A Child Is Born (in Bethlehem)”—Garrison Keillor and Musica Sacra
  • “Count Your Blessings”—John McDonough
  • “Away in a Manger”—Renée Fleming and Emanuel Ax with Fred Hersch
  • “The Twelve Days of Christmas”—Garrison Keillor and Tom Keith
  • “Christmas Eve Blues”—Pat Donohue with the Guys All-Star Shoe Band (Richard Dworsky, Andy Stein, Gary Raynor, and Arnie Kinsella)
  • Guy Noir—Garrison Keillor and cast
  • “Christmastime (Just in Time)”—Inga Swearingen
  • The Christmas Fire—Garrison Keillor
  • “Silent Night”—Butch Thompson
  • “Christmas Time’s A-Coming”—Ricky Skaggs and Kentucky Thunder (Mark Fain on bass; Jim Mills on banjo; Paul Brewster, Darrin Vincent, and Clay Hess on guitar; and Bobby Hicks on fiddle.)
  • “’Twas the Night Before Christmas”—Garrison Keillor and Richard Dworsky
  • “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”—Diana Krall
  • Santa, CEO
  • “The Christmas Song”—Sarah Jessica Parker
  • “The Christ Child’s Lullaby”—The Boys of the Lough (Aly Bain on fiddle; Dave Richardson on mandolin, cittern, English concertina, and button accordion; Christy O’Leary on tin whistle, pipes, and vocals; Cathal McConnell on flute, whistle, and vocals; and Chris Newman on guitar)
  • “The Carolers at My Door”—The Oriana Choir
  • Green
  • “December Waltz”—Pat Donohue National Steel
  • “In the Bleak Midwinter”—Musica Sacra
  • “Ave Maria”—Renée Fleming, with Fred Hersch
  • Four Christmases—Garrison Keillor
  • “Let It Snow”—April Verch, fiddle
  • “Silent Night”—Garrison Keillor and the live studio audience
Download and start listening now!

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Garrison Keillor

Garrison Keillor is America’s favorite storyteller. For more than thirty-five years, as the host of A Prairie Home Companion, he has captivated millions of listeners with his weekly News from Lake Wobegon monologues. A Prairie Home Companion is heard on hundreds of public radio stations, as well as America One, the Armed Forces Networks, Sirius Satellite Radio, and via a live audio webcast. Keillor is also the author of several books and a frequent contributor to national publications including Time, the New Yorker, and National Geographic, in addition to writing his own syndicated column. He has been awarded a National Humanities Medal from the National Endowment of the Humanities. He is the winner of nine AudioFile Earphones Awards, several of which were for his own books. When not touring, he resides in St. Paul, Minnesota.