Extended Audio Sample

Download The Bone Witch Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Bone Witch Audiobook, by Rin Chupeco Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Rin Chupeco Narrator: Emily Woo Zeller, Will Damron Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Bone Witch Series Release Date: March 2017 ISBN: 9781504784900
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $10.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha—one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles and make a powerful choice.

Download and start listening now!

c2ip

Quotes & Awards

  • “Emily Woo Zeller’s stellar collection of voices entices listeners into Chupeco’s rich and diverse fantasy realm…Will Damron gives an inquisitive and pithy performance as a bard who finds himself face-to-face with Tea Pahlavi…Listeners are in for a treat as Zeller enthusiastically spins Tea’s tale of how she went from a young novice to a banished pariah. Zeller’s effortless diction brings to life this Eastern-inspired fantasy, filled with chilling imagery.”

    AudioFile

  • “Chupeco does a magnificent job of balancing an intimate narrative perspective with sweeping worldbuilding, crafting her tale within a multicultural melting pot of influences as she presses toward a powerful cliffhanger.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Fantasy world-building at its best, and Rin Chupeco has created a strong and colorful cast of characters to inhabit that realm…Readers will feel the impending doom in this enticing, highly original fantasy.”

    Shelf Awareness (starred review)

  • “Craftily weaves magic, intrigue, and mystery into a captivating tale…Chupeco uses vivid, descriptive detail, with nominal coarse language and violence, to set a rich tone that immerses readers in a vibrant and believable world. The short alternating chapters help move the story along quickly.”

    School Library Journal

  • “Fans of high fantasy looking for diverse representation will be eager to get their hands on this book.”

    School Library Connection

  • “Readers who enjoy immersing themselves in detail will revel in Chupeco’s finely wrought tale. Game of Thrones fans may see shades of Daenerys Targaryen in Tea, as she gathers a daeva army to unleash upon the world. Whether she is in the right remains a question unanswered, but the ending makes it clear her story is only beginning.”

    Booklist

  • “A fantasy lover’s fantasy, with a rich history and hierarchy of its own. The secrets and workings of its magic are revealed slowly in a suspenseful novel that is sure to appeal to those with a love of serious, dark fairy tales.”

    Foreword Reviews

  • “A high-fantasy Memoirs of a Geisha, Chupeco’s latest excels in originality.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “An adventure with light romance that will appeal to fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah J. Maas.”

    VOYA

  • “Readers intrigued by the carefully crafted magic and the evolution of Tea’s character from a homesick, guilt-ridden girl into the fierce warrior who opens the tale will discover a multifaceted drama of revenge and heartbreak.”

    RT Book Reviews

  • A Pop Crush Pick of the Most Anticipated YA Titles of 2017
  • A Publishers Weekly Pick of the Most Anticipated YA Books of Spring 2017
  • A March 2017 LibraryReads Pick
  • A Spring 2017 Kids' Indie Next List Pick
  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month for March 2017
  • A Bustle Pick of New Young Adult Books for March 2017
  • A BuzzFeed Books Pick of Must-Reads
  • A 2017 Shelf Awareness Best Books of the Year selection
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Rin Chupeco was raised in Manila, Philippines. She worked as a technical writer and travel blogger before becoming a full-time author with the publication of her first novel, The Girl from the Well.

About the Narrators

Emily Woo Zeller is an Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator, voice-over artist, actor, dancer, and choreographer. She began her voice-over work dubbing for film and television in Southeast Asia, where she resided, although her training as a performing artist began in her native Los Angeles, California. AudioFile magazine named her one of the Best Voices of 2013 for her work in Gulp. Other awards include the 2009 Tristen Award for Best Actress as Sally Bowles in Cabaret and the 2006 Roselyn E. Schneider Prize for Creative Achievement.

Will Damron has won several Earphones Awards and been a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. He has had acting roles off-Broadway and on stage and screen throughout the country.