The Lost Apothecary: A Novel Audiobook, by Sarah Penner Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Lost Apothecary: A Novel Audiobook

The Lost Apothecary: A Novel Audiobook, by Sarah Penner Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $19.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $27.99 Add to Cart
Author: Sarah Penner Narrator: Lauren Irwin, Lorna Bennett, Lauren Anthony Publisher: Harlequin Audio Audio Length: Release Date: March 2021 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781488210761

Publisher Description

A forgotten history. A secret network of women. A legacy of poison and revenge. Welcome to the Lost Apothecary.

Hidden in the depths of eighteenth-century London, a secret apothecary shop caters to an unusual kind of clientele. Women across the city whisper of a mysterious figure named Nella who sells well-disguised poisons to use against the oppressive men in their lives. But the apothecary’s fate is jeopardized when her newest patron, a precocious twelve-year-old, makes a fatal mistake, sparking a string of consequences that echo through the centuries.

Meanwhile in present-day London, aspiring historian Caroline Parcewell spends her tenth wedding anniversary alone, running from her own demons. When she stumbles upon a clue to the unsolved apothecary murders that haunted London two hundred years ago, her life collides with the apothecary’s in a stunning twist of fate—and not everyone will survive.

With crackling suspense, unforgettable characters, and searing insight, The Lost Apothecary is a subversive and intoxicating debut novel of secrets, vengeance, and the remarkable ways women can save each other despite the barrier of time.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “A bold, edgy, accomplished debut.”

    - Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author
  • “Engrossing, with rich detail, assured pacing and effective suspense.”

    - Tampa Bay Times
  • “A completely absorbing story of the power of secrets and finding one’s way.”

    - Historical Novels Review
  • “Spellbinding…A novel that simply overwhelms with its delicate spell.”

    - BookPage
  • “Readers who enjoy Katherine Howe and Susanna Kearsley will be drawn to this promising, fast-paced debut.”

    - Booklist

Awards

  • A March 2021 LibraryReads Pick
  • New York Times bestseller
  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month
  • A Historical Novels Review Editors’ Choice of the Month
  • A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2021 in Fiction
  • A BookPage Reading Circle Book Club Pick

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Sarah Penner is the debut author of The Lost Apothecary, her first novel. She works full-time in finance and is a member of the Historical Novel Society and the Women’s Fiction Writers Association. She and her husband live in St. Petersburg, Florida, with their miniature dachshund, Zoe. To learn more, visit slpenner.com.

About the Narrators

Lauren Irwin is an English musician, actor, and winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award. She began her career performing in West End productions of Annie, and Oliver, before releasing several singles in her teens, and going on to work in film and television in her adult years.

Lorna Bennett is a voice talent and audiobook narrator.