Extended Audio Sample

Download The Bone Thief: A Body Farm Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Bone Thief: A Body Farm Novel Audiobook, by Jefferson Bass Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.61 out of 53.61 out of 53.61 out of 53.61 out of 53.61 out of 5 3.61 (33 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jefferson Bass Narrator: Dan Woren Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Body Farm Novels Release Date: March 2010 ISBN: 9780061953705
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

“The Body Farm novels have become bestsellers because of their attention to the fine details of forensics combined with great plot lines.”

Deseret News (Salt Lake City)

 

The latest Body Farm novel from New York Times bestseller Jefferson Bass, The Bone Thief is a must for fans of Patricia Cornwell and TV’s C.S.I. The hero of four previous thrillers—Carved in Bone, The Devil’s Bones, Flesh and Bone, and Bones of Betrayal—Dr. Bill Brockton must stop a grisly black market dealing in body parts and cadavers in this white-knuckle adventure written by the man widely considered to be the world’s foremost expert in forensic anthropology. Read The Bone Thief and discover why Kathy Reichs calls Bass, “The real deal.”

Download and start listening now!

BK_HARP_002134

Quotes & Awards

  • “The Body Farm novels get better with each new book; not only are they more compellingly plotted and more tightly written but Brockton also has become a more fully realized character, not merely a stand-in for his creator. A very good mystery, suitable not just for fans of the Brockton novels but also for readers who enjoy forensic thrillers by Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell.”

    Booklist

  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Deb | 2/13/2014

    " I find books about forensics fascinating, and this one is part of a series written by a real forensic pathologist. Good murdery mystery. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Susan | 2/10/2014

    " A collaborative effort by Dr. Bill Bass, the founder of the real Body Farm at the University of Tennessee, and Jon Jefferson - journalist, writer, and filmmaker, The Bone Thief is about number five in a series of Body Farm books that I have somehow missed. The facts ring so true, and no wonder. They could use a bit more work in the plot department, but it is a good book. Pretty scary to think what really goes on in some medical development circles! If you are fascinated by forensic science, this is a super series for you - and good if you just like a really good mystery. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Pauline | 2/7/2014

    " Don't know why but these books are never as good as I expect them to be. This one was better than the others that I have read in the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Odile | 12/30/2013

    " not as good as the previous ones. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Stephanie Rameika | 12/28/2013

    " Why on earth would someone steal human bones? The answer will surprise and shock you. Another great read by the Jefferson and Bass duo! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kimberly | 12/19/2013

    " never fails to hold my interest throughout the book "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Katherine | 12/16/2013

    " very good read from cover to cover...this one had Bill in big trouble, but left unanswered questions, so I can look forward to another volume. I feel like Bill Brockton is a firned... "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Emily | 12/15/2013

    " not enough of a mystery in this one, not sure what the point was of this book other than progress of personal relationships. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tracey | 12/8/2013

    " A nice twist at the end I never saw coming. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Leona | 12/7/2013

    " A nice book to pick up and read when I had a little time. Not to hard to put down but a good read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sherry | 12/5/2013

    " I've liked some of the other body farm novels better than this one. Parts the the ending get unbelievable to me and not everything is resolved enough for me. I hope the next one is better. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Erica | 4/23/2013

    " Boring! I skimmed through half the book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Paul Werner | 3/22/2013

    " almost as good as book 4. deals with tissue/bone theft. Cool book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jo | 11/21/2012

    " Dr Bill Brockton is on the trail of those involved in the illegal trade of body parts. I don't know why but whenever I see the character of Brockton in my head he looks like the author Bill Bryson!! Good crime story and a decent page turner. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Harlow Drake | 5/11/2012

    " I was lost in the first part of the book because I hadn't kept up with the series. Also, the story didn't really get going until you were some 70+ pages in. I forced myself to finish the book. This wasn't a great read for me. I was expecting a lot more from a bestseller. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Sue | 10/24/2011

    " Ugh, this book had too much boring FLUFF. I had to painfully skim through and wait until page 304/356 before it really became the thriller it could have been. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sierra crosby | 8/17/2011

    " A good book and I enjoy the series. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kathryn | 7/16/2011

    " Generally I like this series, as I have read the previous books, but this one was boring. Did not learn much, this was about people selling body parts - stealing them from graves. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Roo | 7/13/2011

    " I think this is the 4th book by these guys. Dr. Bill Bass & Jon Jefferson. They write together as Jefferson Bass. I loved the medical detail in this one. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennie | 4/21/2011

    " I loved this book. I love this series. This book has a personal twist that I really want to read the next one now, and the mystery is great as usual. It is definitely closely connected to the fourth one, so I suggest reading that first. But everything that happens in this book is so good. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Paul | 3/28/2011

    " almost as good as book 4. deals with tissue/bone theft. Cool book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sarah | 3/24/2011

    " Love, love, love this series of books! The characters are adorable and realistic, the stories always interesting. You do need to read the books in order because past events and people are mentioned ALOT!

    Interesting story line and definitely kept me guessing up until the end! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jim | 1/29/2011

    " Really good reading. I've read all in this 'series' and all are good! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Katherine | 1/26/2011

    " very good read from cover to cover...this one had Bill in big trouble, but left unanswered questions, so I can look forward to another volume. I feel like Bill Brockton is a firned... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lisa | 1/1/2011

    " Interesting fun read. Second I've read in the series and looking forward to reading more. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Leslie | 12/12/2010

    " 3.5. I've enjoyed all their books, like the local Knoxville setting. This one is better than the last, lots of good tension. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amanda | 12/11/2010

    " Another great book in this series. Can't wait to read the next one! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Leona | 11/23/2010

    " A nice book to pick up and read when I had a little time. Not to hard to put down but a good read.
    "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Odile | 11/13/2010

    " not as good as the previous ones. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Karen | 9/23/2010

    " Competent forensic crime novel. A two man team, Jefferson is an established author and Bass is the real-life creator of the "Body Farm." "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kimberly | 9/19/2010

    " never fails to hold my interest throughout the book "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Noeljensen | 8/24/2010

    " I made it through The Bone Thief. It's an okay read. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kathryn | 8/7/2010

    " Generally I like this series, as I have read the previous books, but this one was boring. Did not learn much, this was about people selling body parts - stealing them from graves. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Jefferson Bass

Jefferson Bass is the writing team of Dr. Bill Bass and Jon Jefferson. Dr. Bass, a world-renowned forensic anthropologist, founded the University of Tennessee’s Anthropology Research Facility—the Body Farm—a quarter century ago. He is the author or coauthor of more than two hundred scientific publications, as well as a critically acclaimed memoir about his career at the Body Farm, Death’s Acre. He is also a dedicated teacher, honored as National Professor of the Year by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education.

About the Narrator

Dan Woren is an American voice actor and Earphones Award–winning narrator. He has worked extensively in animation, video games, and feature films. He is best known for his many roles in anime productions such as Bleach and as the voice of Sub-Zero in the video game Mortal Kombat.