The Bands of Mourning: A Mistborn Novel Audiobook, by Brandon Sanderson Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Bands of Mourning: A Mistborn Novel Audiobook

The Bands of Mourning: A Mistborn Novel Audiobook, by Brandon Sanderson Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $21.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $32.99 Add to Cart
Author: Brandon Sanderson Narrator: Michael Kramer Publisher: Macmillan Audio Audio Length: Series:The Mistborn Series Release Date: January 2016 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781427267900

Publisher Description

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, the Mistborn series is a heist story of political intrigue and magical, martial-arts action.

Three hundred years after the events of the Mistborn trilogy, Scadrial is now on the verge of modernity, with railroads to supplement the canals, electric lighting in the streets and the homes of the wealthy, and the first steel-framed skyscrapers racing for the clouds.

The Bands of Mourning are the mythical metal minds owned by the Lord Ruler, said to grant anyone who wears them the powers that the Lord Ruler had at his command. Hardly anyone thinks they really exist. A kandra researcher has returned to Elendel with images that seem to depict the Bands, as well as writings in a language that no one can read. Waxillium Ladrian is recruited to travel south to the city of New Seran to investigate. Along the way he discovers hints that point to the true goals of his uncle Edwarn and the shadowy organization known as The Set.

Other Tor books by Brandon Sanderson

The Cosmere

The Stormlight Archive

The Way of Kings

Words of Radiance

Edgedancer (Novella)

Oathbringer (forthcoming)

The Mistborn trilogy

Mistborn: The Final Empire

The Well of Ascension

The Hero of Ages

Mistborn: The Wax and Wayne series

Alloy of Law

Shadows of Self

Bands of Mourning


Arcanum Unbounded

Other Cosmere novels



The Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians series

Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians

The Scrivener's Bones

The Knights of Crystallia

The Shattered Lens

The Dark Talent

The Rithmatist series

The Rithmatist

Other books by Brandon Sanderson

The Reckoners




Download and start listening now!


  • “Narrator Michael Kramer is a knowledgeable guide to Sanderson’s Mistborn series…and his performance shines… There’s a lot of backstory in this volume, but Kramer handles it so adeptly that even a novice can keep up. An added bonus is an appendix with an explanation of the metal arts and a chart rating various metals. It’s something to sate listeners until the next time Sanderson and Kramer join forces.”

    - AudioFile
  • “Incorporates the excellent action and scenery of the early trilogy while ironing out the character conflicts that held them back…Encompasses the kind of cinematic adventure of an Indiana Jones movie but sets it in the fascinating Mistborn world. This is a very satisfying conclusion but one that also definitely sets up further stories in this universe.”

    - RT Book Reviews (4 stars)
  • “This quest is classic Sanderson, with magic, intrigue, and witty repartee…Open questions from earlier adventures are finally addressed, and die-hard fans will be delighted to finally learn more about the mysterious southern lands they’ve previously heard about in passing.”

    - Publishers Weekly
  • “Raise[s] questions about what justice is and what it means to be a good person. But it’s the characters that are the real strength here..A fast-paced novel that’s part Wild West, part Indiana Jones, and wholly entertaining, combining high emotional stakes with a deep, good-natured sense of humor.”

    - Kirkus Reviews


  • Nominated for Goodreads Choice Awards, 2016

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Brandon Sanderson is the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Words of Radiance and the internationally bestselling books in the Stormlight Archive and the Mistborn series. He was also chosen to complete Robert Jordan’s the Wheel of Time series. His books have been published in more than twenty-five languages and have sold millions of copies worldwide. He teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University.

About the Narrator

Michael Kramer is an AudioFile Earphones Award winner, a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for Best Narration, and recipient of a Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Award. He is also an actor and director in the Washington, DC, area, where he is active in the area’s theater scene and has appeared in productions at the Shakespeare Theatre, the Kennedy Center, and Theater J.