Extended Audio Sample

Download Suspect Red Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Suspect Red Audiobook, by L. M. Elliott Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: L. M. Elliott Narrator: Elizabeth Wiley Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2017 ISBN: 9781538429877
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

It’s 1953, and the United States has just executed an American couple convicted of spying for the Soviet Union. Everyone is on edge as the Cold War standoff between communism and democracy leads to the rise of Senator Joe McCarthy and his zealous hunt for people he calls subversives or communist sympathizers. Suspicion, loyalty oaths, blacklists, political profiling, hostility to foreigners, and the assumption of guilt by association divide the nation. Richard and his family believe deeply in American values and love of country, especially since Richard’s father works for the FBI. Yet when a family from Czechoslovakia moves in down the street with a son Richard’s age named Vlad, their bold ideas about art and politics bring everything into question.

Richard is quickly drawn to Vlad’s confidence, musical sensibilities, and passion for literature, which he shares. But as the nation’s paranoia spirals out of control, Richard longs to prove himself a patriot, and blurred lines between friend and foe could lead to a betrayal that destroys lives.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Elliott’s riveting young-adult historical novel Suspect Red takes us on a rough ride through one thicket-filled thorny year in the life of early-adolescent Richard Bradley…Elliott’s technique and methodology are superbly appropriate.”

    Huffington Post

  • “A tense, engrossing story that effectively captures the suspicion and paranoia that prevailed during American history’s darkest chapters.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “This historical novel is filled with Richard’s naive, offbeat humor…[In a ] rich historical setting…Richard’s literature-driven ideas…and his rare friendship with Vladimir make his experiences as memorable as they are painful.”

    School Library Journal

  • “Elliot does a masterful job of incorporating fictional people into a historical scenario. Even with the heavy historical references and background, the story of Richard and Vlad shines through.”

    School Library Connection

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

L. M. Elliott is the author of several critically acclaimed novels, including Under a War-Torn Sky, Give Me Liberty; Annie, Between the States; and Flying South, winner of the Joan G. Sugarman Children’s Literature Award. With New York Times bestselling illustrator Lynn Musinger, she has also created five award-winning picture books. She lives in Virginia with her family.

About the Narrator

Elizabeth Wiley, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, is a seasoned actor, dialect coach, and theater professor. In addition to her growing portfolio of audiobooks, her voice can be heard in The Idea of America, Colonial Williamsburg’s virtual learning curriculum; in Paul Meier’s e-textbook Speaking Shakespeare; and modeling US-English on one of the world’s top language-learning products.