New
Louisa June and the Nazis in the Waves Audiobook, by L. M. Elliott
Play Audiobook Sample

Download Louisa June and the Nazis in the Waves Audiobook

New
Louisa June and the Nazis in the Waves Audiobook, by L. M. Elliott
Play Audiobook Sample
Release Date: March 22, 2022
Coming Soon!
The audiobook will be available for pre-order on March 1, 2022. Check back on that date to pre-order this title for the Mar 22, 2022 release!

Available for pre-order on:
March 1, 2022
Author: L. M. Elliott Narrator: Elizabeth Wiley Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books Audio Length: Release Date: March 22, 2022 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780063056596

Publisher Description

In this moving and timeless story, award-winning author L. M. Elliott captures life on the U.S. homefront during World War II, weaving a rich portrait of a family reeling from loss and the chilling yet hopeful voyage of fighting for what matters, perfect for fans of The War That Saved My Life.

Days after Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941, Hitler declared war on the U.S., unleashing U-boat submarines to attack American ships. Suddenly, the waves outside Louisa June’s farm aren’t for eel-fishing or marveling at wild swans or learning to skull her family’s boat—they’re dangerous, swarming with hidden enemies.

Her oldest brothers’ ships risk coming face-to-face with U-boats. Her sister leaves home to weld Liberty Boat hulls. And then her daddy, a tugboat captain, and her dearest brother, Butler, are caught in the crossfire.

Her mama has always swum in a sea of melancholy, but now she really needs Louisa June to find moments of beauty or inspiration to buoy her. Like sunshine-yellow daffodils, good books, or news accounts of daring rescues of torpedoed passengers.

Determined to help her Mama and aching to combat Nazis herself, Louisa June turns to her quirky friend Emmett and the indomitable Cousin Belle, who has her own war stories—and a herd of cats—to share. In the end, after a perilous sail, Louisa June learns the greatest lifeline is love.

Download and start listening now!

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

L. M. Elliott is the author of several critically acclaimed novels, including Flying South, winner of the Joan G. Sugarman Children’s Literature Award. Under a War-Torn Sky was an NCSS/CBC Notable Book in Social Studies, a Jefferson Cup Honor Book, and the winner of the Borders Original Voices Award. Its sequel, A Troubled Peace, was also an NCSS/CBC Notable. Annie, between the States, was an IRA Teachers’ Choice and NYPL Book for the Teen Age; and Flying South was a Bank Street College Best Children’s Book selection.

About the Narrator

Elizabeth Wiley, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, is a seasoned actor, dialect coach, and theater professor. In addition to her growing portfolio of audiobooks, her voice can be heard in The Idea of America, Colonial Williamsburg’s virtual learning curriculum; in Paul Meier’s e-textbook Speaking Shakespeare; and modeling US-English on one of the world’s top language-learning products.