Download So Many Roads: The Life and Times of the Grateful Dead Audiobook

So Many Roads: The Life and Times of the Grateful Dead Audiobook, by David Browne Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: David Browne Narrator: Sean Runnette Publisher: Highbridge Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2015 ISBN: 9781622316717
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $34.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The definitive, first truly complete narrative biography of the Grateful Dead, told with the cooperation of and based on new interviews with surviving band members. Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “The Grateful Dead have entered the realm of myth. The triumph of So Many Roads is animating both the music and the musicians into something very real indeed.”

    Alan Paul, New York Times bestselling author of One Way Out

  • “The Grateful Dead are as classically American as Count Basie and Frank Sinatra, and David Browne has written the ultimate book about them: interviewing everyone and bringing us into their lives in the changing decades through which this quintessentially ’60s band miraculously increased its mythos, stardom, and relevance. Legendary music gives our world back to us, and specific people, coming together as bands, give us the music that gives us that world. With his wise assessments, ace reporting, and close and long lenses, Browne gives us that world and those men.”

    Shelia Weller, New York Times bestselling author of Girls Like Us

  • “Righteous testimonial to the anarchic goodness that was the Grateful Dead…While the author doesn’t shy away from the band’s pharmaceutical inventory, neither does he let that get in the way of his assessment of the music…Fittingly, half of the book is devoted to the first ten years of the band. Just as fittingly, the second half takes the Dead from ragged band of hippies to post-’60s corporation…He also appropriately places emphasis on things other biographers have overlooked…One of the better books on the band and welcome reading in this fiftieth anniversary year.”

    KIrkus Reviews

  • “David Browne has come up with a completely unique way of telling the Grateful Dead’s story, deftly moving back and forth through time from various chronological pivot points, weaving the intricate tale the way the Dead would open up, explore, and close a great ’72 ‘Playing in the Band.’ It’s filled with little (and a few big) things I didn’t know, and his evocative prose really brings out the band members’ personalities in a way that few books have.”

    Blair Jackson, author of Garcia

  • “I’m a well-read Deadhead, and I learned new things even about shows I was at. (Englishtown, New Jersey, 9/3/77!) Browne braids tales of America’s greatest rock band like melody lines in a primo jam, tangents looping back to the narrative, always pulling it forward. It’s a wild, beautiful ride.”

    Will Hermes, author of Love Goes to Buildings on Fire

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

David Browne is a contributing editor at Rolling Stone and the author of Dream Brother, Amped, Goodbye 20th Century, Fire and Rain, and So Many Roads. He also contributes to the New York Times, New Republic, Spin, NPR, and other outlets.

About the Narrator

Sean Runnette, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, has also directed and produced more than two hundred audiobooks, including several Audie Award winners. He is a member of the American Repertory Theater company and has toured the United States and internationally with ART and Mabou Mines. His television and film appearances include Two If by Sea, Cop Land, Sex and the City, Law & Order, the award-winning film Easter, and numerous commercials.