Extended Audio Sample

Download Smek for President Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Smek for President, by Adam Rex Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Adam Rex Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $18.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

In this much anticipated sequel to The True Meaning of Smekday, Tip and J.Lo are back for another hilarious intergalactic adventure. And this time (and last time, and maybe next time), they want to make things right with the Boov.

After Tip and J.Lo banished the Gorg from Earth in a scheme involving the cloning of many, many cats, the pair is notorious—but not for their heroics. Instead, human Dan Landry has taken credit for conquering the Gorg, and the Boov blame J.Lo for ruining their colonization of the planet. Determined to clear his name, J.Lo and Tip pack into Slushious, a Chevy that J.Lo has engineered into a fairly operational spaceship, and head to New Boovworld, the aliens’ new home on one of Saturn’s moons.

But their welcome isn’t quite as warm as Tip and J.Lo would have liked. J.Lo is dubbed Public Enemy Number One, and Captain Smek knows that capturing the alien is the only way he’ll stand a chance in the Boovs’ first-ever presidential election.

With the help of a friendly flying billboard named Bill, a journey through various garbage chutes, a bit of time travel, and a slew of hilarious Boovish accents, Tip and J.Lo must fight to set the record straight—and return home in once piece.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Rex’s humorous wordplay and insightful satire remain on full display. Inventive language, a smart and resourceful heroine, and an unerring sense of fun all contribute to a playful, action-packed sequel.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Rex is a comic genius who has created a laugh- and groan-out-loud novel filled with spaceship chases, bubbling billboards, villainous villains, and reluctant heroes to say nothing of rousing games of Stickyfish and the obligatory garbage pit.”

    School Library Journal

  • “Fans of Tip and J.Lo will be excited to herald their return in this savvy, silly sequel…The plot is pretty much an extended chase scene, buoyed by Tip’s hilariously deadpan narration of her navigation through Rex’s goofily clever imaginary world. All the best comic sci-fi tropes are here, including galactic dumpster diving, sentient but outwittable weaponry, low-gravity bounding, and adorable artificial life-form sidekicks…While not quite as well plotted as the first book, this will nevertheless please fans whose attachment is to the characters anyway.”

    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

  • “Prepare to be charmed! Narrator Bahni Turpin is back to narrate this sequel to The True Meaning of Smekday…What follows is a madcap outer-space adventure, a political farce, and an endearing story of friendship. Turpin’s enthusiastic narration is genius. She gives voice to humans, aliens, a parrot, and a robot; handles Rex’s wordplay and the Boov’s muddled English; and creates her own sound effects with apparent ease and flair. Turpin’s reading enhances everything funny, smart, clever, silly, and subtle about the storytelling. It’s an absolute listening delight. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award.”


  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations