Extended Audio Sample

Download Shiva in Steel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Shiva in Steel, by Fred Saberhagen Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (91 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Fred Saberhagen Narrator: Edward Lewis Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Berserker Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In a sector of the Galaxy occupied by Earth-descended people, one Berserker computer has suddenly and mysteriously developed a tactical strategy unlike anything the human opposition has seen before. Shiva, like the Hindu god of destruction after which it was named, annihilates entire colonies with the help of its fiendish subordinates.

Commander Claire Normandy struggles to prepare for Shiva’s attacks, while Pilot Harry Silver realizes that he must deal with his own demons in order to help her. When a decision is made to destroy the destroyer, neither side is prepared for the incredible risks that emerge as the attack becomes imminent. Can either side face the possibility that something wholly unexpected and eerily familiar lies gnarled within the steel?

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_000613

Quotes & Awards

  • “The berserkers, in their single-minded pursuit of their preprogrammed course of destruction, attain a kind of perverse stature that makes them worthy stand-ins for the dark side of human nature.”

    New York Times

  • “The berserker stories are war stories but war stories in the tradition of The Red Badge of Courage or All Quiet on the Western Front.”

    Baltimore Evening Sun

  • “In this Berserker book, Saberhagen returns to all of the things that have made his series such a mainstay in science fiction.”

    Amazon.com, editorial review

  • “This fast-paced sf military adventure belongs in most sf collections.”

    Library Journal

  • “The fast action, the plethora of well-conceived hardware, and deft bits of characterization all go to show that, in the hands of an old pro, even the most shopworn ideas make for fine reading.”

    Booklist

Listener Opinions

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Vinny | 10/4/2012

    " I did not like this. I used to love the Berserker series. Was this a fluke? Or did I read the series long ago and my tastes have changed? I did not like the characters and was one or more steps ahead of them in the story. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Vinny | 5/9/2011

    " I did not like this. I used to love the Berserker series. Was this a fluke? Or did I read the series long ago and my tastes have changed? I did not like the characters and was one or more steps ahead of them in the story. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations