Extended Audio Sample

Download Pines Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Pines, by Blake Crouch Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,424 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Blake Crouch Narrator: Paul Michael Garcia Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Wayward Pines Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Wayward Pines, Idaho, is quintessential small-town America—or so it seems. Secret Service agent Ethan Burke arrives with a clear mission: locate two federal agents who went missing in the bucolic town a month earlier. Soon, however, Ethan is facing much more than he bargained for. After a violent accident lands him in the hospital, Ethan comes to with no ID, no cell phone, and no briefcase. The medical staff seems friendly enough, but something feels … off. As the days pass, Ethan’s investigation into his colleagues’ disappearance turns up more questions than answers. Why can’t he make contact with his family in the outside world? Why doesn’t anyone believe he is who he says he is? And what’s the purpose of the electrified fences encircling the town? Are they keeping the residents in—or something else out? Each step toward the truth takes Ethan further from the world he knows, until he must face the horrifying possibility that he may never leave Wayward Pines alive.

Intense and gripping, Pines is another masterful thriller from the mind of bestselling novelist Blake Crouch.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_004082

Quotes & Awards

  • “The suspense builds to an almost unbearable point, culminating with a twist that ratchets it up even further. Fans of Stephen King, Peter Straub, and F. Paul Wilson will appreciate this genre-bending, completely riveting thrill ride, which mixes suspense, horror, science fiction, and dystopian nightmare all rolled up into one unputdownable book.”

    Booklist

  • Nominated for the 2013 International Thriller Writers Award for Best Paperback Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Jennifer Adams | 2/19/2014

    " Intriguing and fast read for the first 3/4 of the book. Then, it gets a little slower and stranger. Didn't like the ending, but interesting overall. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Andi | 2/14/2014

    " 3.5 stars. This was a quick read and an interesting concept. I especially enjoyed the intrigue surrounding Ethan's visit to Wayward Pines. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Jaded | 2/2/2014

    " This was a good read, the first part of it was seriously unnerving when the main character, Ethan was stuck in this quaint little town, that was more like Stepford-ville. Then it got a bit long and boring for a few chapters, then it got good again. I completely understand why it got long and boring for the few chapters after the "escape" but I lose interest in a book if i have to fly through chapters to find a good part to start at again. Unlike Blakes previous books, this one did not go for the throat, this one just kept dancing around the point. I think there was a whole chapter explaining how the main character was stuck in a really long air duct, which can be horrifying but does it really need a whole chapter? There were also a few flashbacks that got me sort of confused as to why they were where they were in the book, they were almost out of no where. All in all, it was a good book, not one of my favorite Black Crouch books but I did finish it. Also the end was very good complete surprise! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Erik | 1/29/2014

    " I can give a handful of minor reasons to give this three stars without being overly critical. But this solid book has its share of thoughtful passages and emotion to keep me from doing so. And the fact is that in the eight days it took me to read it, a few of these days I didn't have a chance to read very much or at all. I finished the second half of this in the course of two days and could have easily done it in one had it been a weekend. The plot and suspense really kept me wanting to continue. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations