Extended Audio Sample

Download Pete Seeger: The Storm King: Stories, Narratives, Poems Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Pete Seeger: The Storm King: Stories, Narratives, Poems, by Pete Seeger Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Pete Seeger Narrator: Pete Seeger Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Pete Seeger: The Storm King audio collection presents Pete Seeger’s spoken words as he recounts his most engaging stories, narratives, and poems through musical traditions as diverse as African music, the blues, bluegrass, Celtic music, classical guitar, folk, Israeli music, jazz, Native American music, and Tuvan throat singing—taking Pete’s wisdom and stories out to new audiences and into a new technological age.

Each piece is unique in how sound and emotion come together. Jeff Haynes, world-renowned percussionist and producer, has worked closely with Pete to create something spectacular, weaving Pete’s words into the music of artists from around the world. The result is astounding.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Pete Seeger and percussionist/producer Haynes present one of the most original and inspired audiobooks of the last decade with this collection of stories, songs, music, and musings, straight from the mouth and mind of the legendary folk musician himself. Seeger’s words are blended with a variety of world music in what amounts to an unforgettable and groundbreaking listen. As a narrator, Seeger’s tone is raw, edgy, and, at times, visceral, as he recounts his life and times. Seeger captures listener attention from the very beginning and never lets go. A must-listen for fans.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred audio review)

  • “This marvelous presentation of Pete Seeger’s words and music is a gift to all lovers of folk music, as well as anyone interested in the history of civil protest in America. The program combines Seeger’s captivating stories about his life and times with some of his most famous songs and well-chosen music from other folk traditions. Producer Jeff Haynes has combined the elements with care, incorporating interesting music—from bluegrass to Celtic to African—that enhances without getting in the way of Seeger’s marvelous reminiscences. Those deservedly hold center stage. Be forewarned that listening will make you smile so much that your face will hurt. Listen anyway. You’ll love every moment. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award.”


  • An AudioFile Editors’ Pick in April 2013
  • Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A 2014 Audie Award Finalist for Best Original Work Narration
  • Winner of the 2014 Audie Award for Distinguished Achievement in Production
  • A 2013 Grammy Award Nominee for Best Spoken Word Album
  • Winner of the 2013 Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations