Our Band Could Be Your Life: Scenes from the American Indie Underground, 1981–1991 Audiobook, by Michael Azerrad Play Audiobook Sample

Our Band Could Be Your Life: Scenes from the American Indie Underground, 1981–1991 Audiobook

Our Band Could Be Your Life: Scenes from the American Indie Underground, 1981–1991 Audiobook, by Michael Azerrad Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $24.98 Add to Cart
Read By: Michael Azerrad, various narrators Publisher: Hachette Book Group Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 14.00 hours at 1.5x Speed 10.50 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: May 2019 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781549115998

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

128:13 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

36 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

74:30 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Michael Azerrad: > View All...

Publisher Description

This is the story of the musical revolution that happened right under the nose of the Reagan Eighties—when a small but sprawling network of bands—including Black Flag, the Minutemen, Sonic Youth, and Beat Happening—along with labels, fanzines, radio stations, and other subversives, re-energized American rock with punk rock’s do-it-yourself credo and created music that was deeply personal, often brilliant, always challenging, and immensely influential. This sweeping chronicle of music, politics, drugs, fear, loathing, and faith has been recognized as an indie rock classic in its own right.

Among the bands profiled are Mission of Burma, Butthole Surfers, The Minutemen, Sonic Youth, Black Flag, Big Black, Hüsker Dü, Fugazi, Minor Threat, Mudhoney, The Replacements, Beat Happening, and Dinosaur Jr.

Download and start listening now!

“Azerrad crisscrosses the American landscape of nineteen-eighties ‘underground’ rock music…[and] profiles thirteen bands that came of age before Nirvana closed the gap between alternative rock and the mainstream market, and the best stories here are the most marginal…Azerrad does a fine job of demonstrating how the post-punk prime movers of the eighties echoed the original rock-and-rollers of the fifties—springing from a complacent political climate to reject the sentimental excesses of the music that preceded them.”

— New Yorker 


  • “More than just an invaluable source of knowledge…offers a glimpse into the angry, spirited us-against-the-world thump of the Minor Threats…and Husker Dus.”

    — Austin Chronicle
  • “One of the best books yet on punk, college, or indie rock and the roots of the alt-rock juggernaut.”

    — Booklist

Our Band Could Be Your Life Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Michael Azerrad

Michael Azerrad is an American author, music journalist, editor, and musician. A graduate of Columbia University, he has written for publications such as Spin, Rolling Stone, and the New York Times. His 1993 biography Come as You Are: The Story of Nirvana was named by Q as one of the fifty greatest rock books ever written. His 2001 book Our Band Could Be Your Life, a collection of profiles on prominent indie rock bands, received similar critical acclaim.

About various narrators

Nicola Barber, is an Audie Award and Earphones Award-winning narrator whose voice can be heard in television and radio commercials and popular video games such as World of Warcraft. She is also an Audie finalist in the prestigious category of solo female narrationfor her work on Murphy’s Law by Rhys Bowen and Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth. She has performed on the stage in New York City and at a number of top regional theaters in the United States. Her film and television roles include The Nanny Diaries with Scarlett Johansson, and Law & Order’s 2009 season premiere. Originally from England, she currently resides in New York, a multicultural background that enables her to bring a broad range of accents and characterizations to her role as a full-time voice-over actor.