Extended Audio Sample

Download Night Prey Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Night Prey Audiobook, by John Sandford Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: John Sandford Narrator: Jay O. Sanders Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Prey Series Release Date: July 1994 ISBN: 9780743543019
Regular Price: $10.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $9.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

John Sandford’s bestselling Lucas Davenport series continues with the fast-paced, compelling thriller Night Prey.

He was the best at what he did—a chameleon, invisible, uncatchable. For how could you catch an invisible man?

It was a very cold, very clear morning in the Carlos Avery game reserve—cold enough to preserve the body lying there, clear enough so the state investigator couldn’t miss it. There was something familiar about the stab wounds, she thought, but the Minneapolis police dismissed her theories, and the city’s new police chief has problems enough of her own. The cops are wary of her, the public thinks she’s too political, the feminists think she’s sold out … and this damn murder just won’t go away.

Caught in the middle, the chief turns to Lucas Davenport for help, and he reluctantly agrees. Still recovering from his near-fatal wounds of the year before, trying for once in his life to settle down with one woman, Lucas has his own concerns, but something about this murder, and another like it—the body found in a dumpster this time—teases him. The more he looks into the deaths, the more he’s sure the investigator is right. There is something disconcertingly familiar about the wounds in these two cases, and maybe in several others as well.

Somewhere out there lurks a killer of unusual skill and savagery—and if Lucas is right, he’s just getting warmed up.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • Night Prey sizzles…positively chilling.”

    St. Petersberg Times

  • “The pseudonymous Sandford keeps turning out better and better thrillers…The narrative is sensitively embued with Davenport's humaneness.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “The dialogue crackles and individual scenes can be almost unbearably suspenseful.


  • “Strong on atmosphere and suspense, with a vivid cast of major and minor characters, this is a potent and compelling addition to the series.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debbie Robertson | 10/30/2016

    " John Sandfords book with Lucas Davenport are always good I enjoy his writing it keeps you guessing, and interested!!!! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author John Sandford

John Sandford is the pseudonym of John Roswell Camp, an American author and journalist. He won the Pulitzer Prize in journalism in 1986 and was one of four finalists for the prize in 1980. He also won the Distinguished Writing Award of the American Society of Newspaper Editors for 1985. He is the author of more than thirty published novels, all of which have appeared, in one format or another, on the New York Times bestseller lists. His books have been translated into most European languages, as well as Japanese and Korean. He is the principal sponsor of a major archaeological dig in Israel and is on the board of directors of the Albright Institute of Archaeological Research.

About the Narrator

Jay O. Sanders began his acting career off-Broadway in Shakespearean roles then went on to appear in numerous films and television series, including Revolutionary Road, The Day after Tomorrow, and Kiss the Girls, based on the novel by James Patterson. He has narrated more than fifty audio books over the years, including the bestselling My Losing Season by Pat Conroy and Dean Koontz’s Dragon Tears and Mr. Murder.