Extended Audio Sample

Download Necessary as Blood Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Necessary as Blood Audiobook, by Deborah Crombie Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (1,990 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Deborah Crombie Narrator: Jenny Sterlin Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 2016 ISBN: 9781440779916
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Macavity Award-winning author Deborah Crombie paints a vivid portrait of England’s seedy underbelly in Necessary as Blood. As a brutal killer stalks the innocent of Whitechapel, Scotland Yard Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his partner Sergeant Gemma James pick up the trail.

Download and start listening now!

c7pv

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Wendy Caron | 2/17/2014

    " I am a fan of mystery series - having thoroughly enjoyed the books of Sue Grafton and both Kellermans. My sister bought this book for me as a birthday present; she wanted to introduce me to Deborah Crombie, an mystery author whose books take place in London. While not the most gripping mystery novel I've ever read it was an enjoyable enough read; the characters were likable and the author successfully created a sense of place with her streetscape descriptions, colloquial speech and patterns, and the use of historical references/blurbs at the start of each chapter. For a quick, easy read I will probably look for other books by this author on the library shelves. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jane Buttery | 2/16/2014

    " This was a good read with a nicely developed mystery. I alo has characers I enjoyed. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Caroline | 1/25/2014

    " I liked this. In some ways it was like a good epidose of the Bill. I enjoyed the combination of cop drama and social work. In the end Charlotte's fate was all that matters and it fell into place a little too easily. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Valerie | 1/23/2014

    " A bit predictable, but still heart warming, in its own way. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jelan | 1/21/2014

    " I'm a Deborah Crombie fan, and I think this is one of her best. I really enjoy the "series" mysteries, where you have a new story every time but also keep moving forward with the detective's life story. The mystery in this book was indeed mysterious. The characters (both the victims and the detective's circle of family and acquaintances) were well-drawn and compelling. It addressed social issues without being overbearing. In short, a good read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cyn (RaeWhit) | 1/17/2014

    " I dunno, at this stage of the series, I just feel like one of the family. I'm starting to warily eye how many books are left for me to read, I'm that attached to this writer and her characters. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brenda Hawley | 12/13/2013

    " Deborah Crombie's detective series is filled with realism: the characters have flaws and the plots are twisted and grey....each book is well written and absorbing. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tracey Power | 12/13/2013

    " This is my absolute favourite of her books. She just gets better and better "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Patty | 12/4/2013

    " This series continues to deftly combine both an intriguing mystery, contemporary London locations, and the small moments of daily life as Gemma and Duncan plan their wedding and raise both their sons. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Krob | 11/28/2013

    " The way that Crombie manages to get both Kincaid and Gemma involved in the same case although they aren't on the same team is a little difficult to swallow. With that said, this is a very good addition to the series. I found the (SOMEWHAT A SPOILER) wedding at the end quite moving. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Roberta | 10/16/2013

    " I liked this. The series is always entertaining and the mysteries interesting to ponder, although like most mysteries the solution often leaps up fully formed. I wonder if real police work is like that. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Barbara Bryan | 9/27/2013

    " Last book in series, but will go back and read in order. Liked characters, Gemma and Kincaid especially. Good story/mystery and good people too. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennifer | 9/26/2013

    " Always love the Deborah Crombie, and this look at London's East Side is a treat. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Emily | 9/9/2013

    " Good modern British mystery; kept me hooked all weekend "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Eunira | 8/22/2013

    " I love Deborah Crombie! This one is her best yet, regarding the personal lives of the characters. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary G. | 7/30/2013

    " A well written police procedural. Great characters. Reading Crombie is like visiting old friends. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Elissa | 5/31/2013

    " Not any sort of high literature, but every time I get done with a book in this series, I want more. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary Stevens | 3/14/2013

    " Takes place in Spitalsfield in the East End. The geography is important. Good plot. I didn't guess the ending. Toby is five, having been two when the series started in 1993. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gail Stewart rumsey | 10/26/2012

    " This was not the best in the series but very good as is all of Ms. Crombie's books. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jaki | 2/6/2012

    " Okay, so I saw the ending coming on this one (both aspects--the mystery solved and the Gemma/Duncan family decisions), but still very enjoyable. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Annie | 12/27/2011

    " So happy to find a new mystery series to dive into! This is the most recent book of the Kincaid/James mystery series (now I'll have to go back and start at the beginning book) in the vein of Elizabeth George and PD James. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amanda | 11/25/2011

    " LOVE LOVE LOVE this series of books, and this 13th addition to the storyline is in keeping with a traditio of excellent character development, wonderful story progress, and a worthy mystery. Can't wait for her next novel! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Thea | 1/20/2011

    " Kind of an average detective story, somewhat suspenseful, but not the best I've read. Might be a good beach read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stacey | 10/22/2010

    " Crombie explores a new area of London in this one with big developments for Gemma and Duncan who have finally decided to wed and for Hazel and Time who have not quite decided to divorce. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kristi | 7/5/2010

    " This is the latest out from one of my favorite mystery authors. I love Gemma and Duncan and again it made me want to go to London. I didn't guess the twists and I couldn't put it down all weekend. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Deborah Crombie

Deborah Crombie is a Macavity Award winner and a finalist for the Edgar Award and the Agatha Award, as well as a New York Times bestselling author. She has written more than a dozen novels and is best known for her contemporary mystery series featuring Scotland Yard’s Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James. Among this series is Dreaming of the Bones, which was selected as one of the 100 Best Crime Novels of the Century by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association.

About the Narrator

Jenny Sterlin, winner of multiple Earphones Awards, has more than seventy audio titles to her credit, including Laurie R. King’s popular Sherlock Holmes / Mary Russell series. Before beginning her narration career, she helped found England’s experimental Living Theatre.