Extended Audio Sample

Download To Dwell in Darkness Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample To Dwell in Darkness, by Deborah Crombie Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Deborah Crombie Narrator: Gerard Doyle Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James Novels Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.

Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma’s trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.

The bombing isn’t the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He’s still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss—who’s been avoiding him—is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values—and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.

Download and start listening now!

badx

Quotes & Awards

  • “As always, the characters have rich personal lives, and their interaction makes the story more nuanced and compelling.”

    Contra Costa Times

  • “In bestseller Crombie’s exciting sixteenth Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James mystery…Crombie thoroughly immerses the reader in the crime solving, as well as the home lives the home lives of those trying to solve the crime…The city’s tube and train stations, as well as various other landmarks, figure prominently in the story. Best of all, the eerily open ending sets the stage for the next installment.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “[Crombie’s] mystery is enriched by a wealth of detail about St. Pancras’ history and architecture that would do Margaret Truman proud.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Gerard Doyle’s performance keeps listeners riveted…Doyle’s intensity reflects the urgency Scotland Yard Superintendent Kincaid faces…Doyle softens his delivery for Gemma and is convincing as the children…Crombie’s plotting is credible, fast paced, and smart, and Doyle’s narration is terrific, as always.”

    AudioFile

  • A New York Times Bestseller
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations