Extended Audio Sample

Download Maneater Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Maneater Audiobook, by Gigi Levangie Grazer Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,008 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Gigi Levangie Grazer Narrator: Uma Thurman Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2003 ISBN: 9780743562218
Regular Price: $17.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Gorgeous, funny, and wildly uninhibited, her exes are a veritable Who's Who of Hollywood power players. At 28 (31), she is blessed with a firm (if curvaceous) bod, a designer wardrobe, a Daddy-subsidized apartment, and an A-list speed-dial.

But with her thirty-second birthday looming, our heroine is starting to panic. Who on earth (read: Hollywood) could possibly make Clarissa Alpert an honest woman? Enter Aaron Mason, the latest hottest new producer in town. From the moment Clarissa sees him, she sets her sights on making him the future "Mr. Alpert."

With the eager help of her vivacious (if neurotic) friends, her aerobicized Latina mother, her philandering (but loving) ex-con father, and the most divine gay waiter in Hollywood, Clarissa finds herself phoning the florist to the stars (his private line) and planning the biggest wedding the town has seen in years -- before the couple's first date. Catching Aaron's eye is not a problem. But it seems her intended might have his own agenda. Could it be Clarissa has finally bitten off more than she can chew? Download and start listening now!

BK_SANS_000452

Quotes & Awards

  • “Gigi Levangie Grazer’s gloriously ditzy LA party girls make the women of Sex and the City seems like a bunch of stuffy New York intellectuals.”

    Tom Perrotta, author of Little Children

  • “Naughty but nice… A transcendental study of post Prada/Prozac existential despair.”

    Helen Fielding, author of Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination

  • “This is a very entertaining and lively book—but women aren’t  really like that, right?”

    Steve Martin 

  • “A scathing satire of LA society (to use the term loosely)…Grazer gives Clarissa just enough intelligence and spark to make her shameless antics deliciously entertaining.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Grazer…never loses sight of the hilariously self-centered devilish core of her creation’s personality…Clarrisa is one for the ages.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jill Sprott | 2/13/2014

    " The main character is vapid and unlikeable, though still entertaining at times. This is definitely a story that requires the suspension of disbelief. It's escapist all the way. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rebecca | 2/9/2014

    " I cheated and listened to this on CD during an extremely boring project at work. This was so ggod, I WANTED to work on the project so I could listen to more!! Loved it. i can't wait to read another by this author. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ivon | 1/29/2014

    " I needed some mindless reading just as a stress relief. This book provided that for three quarters of it. Would I read it again? No. Would I purchase another book from the same author? Probably not. I couldn't relate much to the book, and I guess that is because I am not from LA, so much of the lingo I had to re-read two or three times until I figured it out. I did like the funny aspects of the book. It did provide entertainment, but the last quarter of the book or so I found boring and frankly 'just bizarre'. The book did its purpose - provide mindless reading and mild entertainment. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bonnie Gayle | 1/27/2014

    " Funny and unpredictable. Read by Uma Thurman, of all things. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Mary Mary, Why Ya Buggin | 1/11/2014

    " Bugged. Didn't like anyone. Didn't make it more than 50 pages in. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Julia Saldivia | 12/23/2013

    " I read it a few years ago as a young teen and really enjoyed it. Another time around showed, while entertaining, how shallow the book really was. A good light read, but there's not much else to show for it. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kasey | 12/3/2013

    " Read because The Sports Club/LA is mentioned...ok. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amanda | 12/1/2013

    " a quick chick - lit read that's laugh out loud funny. Fans of Plum Sykes and Sophie Kinsella should enjoy this book. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Sharon | 11/19/2013

    " Very light and breezy, not much to learn but kind of clever. I'm reading it by Audiobook and loving listening to Uma Thurman's scratchy, sexy lisp. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Leslie | 11/14/2013

    " I listened to the abridged version on audio and really liked it. Uma Thurman has the best narration voice for chick-lit. A fun, quick guilty pleasure. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Courtney | 10/9/2013

    " Thought it was a great easy read. Listened to this on tape and Uma Thurman was the reader - she's really good! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jillian | 9/5/2013

    " Probably my favorite chick lit. book to date. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Monica | 5/14/2013

    " LOVED LOVED LOVED it! one of my new favorites! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Emily | 4/6/2013

    " One of my friends gave this book to me for my b-day, so I tried REALLY hard to read it, but I couldn't finish it. The author's writing style is bizarre and the plot was dull. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Ellen | 10/11/2011

    " I can't only rate the good books I read. This book was way too predictable. Someone needs to write a new book geared towards women that doesn't rely on myspace, facebook, or credit cards as plot devices. That being said, it provided a nice respite from the winter, and I like pink books. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Sarah | 9/28/2011

    " This book took me a little while to get into. Initially I despised the main character, Clarissa, but eventually her self-indulgent and neurotic tendencies grew on me. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Britt Griffith | 8/1/2011

    " This wasn't a bad book but it was nothing but fluff. Clarrisa is a "maneater" who decides ro marry a man for his money. Obviously that's a bad idea but its typical happy ending chick lit. Clarissa is such a brat that its harsh to really care though. I give it a C-. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jenny | 7/4/2011

    " There's some pretty interesting humor in this. A lot of crude thoughts and everything that people think of stereotypical L.A. girls "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennifer | 6/13/2011

    " I love this book- I'd forgotten all about it until I saw it on the shelf at Half-Price Books the other day. The antics of this heroine truly crack me up and I thoroughly enjoyed every WORD of this one! MUST READ! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Elysabeth | 6/10/2011

    " I really enjoyed Grazer's other novel, The Starter Wife and I figured for a light, fluffy book, this might fit the bill. In comparison, it was a lot more vapid, but still enough brain candy to serve its purpose. Now, onto something a little more profound... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Samantha | 3/22/2011

    " Sometimes I have an urge to read books called Maneater written by Hollywood producer's wives. This is the only one I know of, and it pretty much satisfied the urge. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 H.s. | 3/17/2011

    " I listened to this, it was fair and a bit funny but not approaching evonovich funny. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Marisa | 3/9/2011

    " It took me a long time to read because I was too busy much of the time with work to read. It was an enjoyable, silly romp about love. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Ophelia | 6/22/2010

    " Bugged. Didn't like anyone. Didn't make it more than 50 pages in. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lisa | 6/12/2010

    " If you are looking for some cotton candy, want a character you love to hate and experience the superficial-plasticity of LA from a far with a chuckle then you have found your book. Two things I am thankful for 1) I am not single anymore 2) I somehow found my soul mate in that city. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Diana | 6/10/2010

    " hilarious, light read. This chick is something else... "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Jenn | 3/15/2010

    " found this in the bargin bin at borders for $4; not worth the money. i read about 50 pages and found it too stupid to continue reading. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Edna | 3/6/2010

    " This is 3.5 stars. If you can get past the main character's shallowness this is a good book with really witty lines. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Ellen | 2/5/2010

    " I can't only rate the good books I read. This book was way too predictable. Someone needs to write a new book geared towards women that doesn't rely on myspace, facebook, or credit cards as plot devices. That being said, it provided a nice respite from the winter, and I like pink books. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Julia | 1/25/2010

    " I read it a few years ago as a young teen and really enjoyed it. Another time around showed, while entertaining, how shallow the book really was. A good light read, but there's not much else to show for it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Courtney | 12/10/2009

    " Thought it was a great easy read. Listened to this on tape and Uma Thurman was the reader - she's really good! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Ashley (mac&chip) | 10/31/2009

    " I really enjoyed "The Starter Wife," so I assumed I would enjoy this book as well. Wrong. Do not torture yourself with this book. I enjoy reading chick lit once in awhile, but this book combined everything that is wrong with chick lit – it was painful. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Gigi Levangie Grazer

Gigi Levangie Grazer is the author of many novels, including the New York Times bestseller, The Starter Wife, which was adapted into an Emmy–winning series. Also an acclaimed screenwriter, she has contributed to several popular movies, including Stepmom, starring Susan Sarandon. Her writing has appeared in Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, and Glamour. She lives in Los Angeles with her children.