Extended Audio Sample

Download Loot: How to Steal a Fortune Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Loot: How to Steal a Fortune, by Jude Watson Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jude Watson Narrator: Michael Crouch Publisher: Scholastic Inc Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $18.50 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Hijinks, heists, and high-octane action abound in Jude Watson’s new middle grade blockbuster.

On a foggy night in Amsterdam, a man falls from a rooftop to the wet pavement below. It’s Archibald McQuinn, the notorious cat burglar, and he’s dying. As sirens wail in the distance, Archie manages to get out two last words to his young son, March: “Find jewels.”

But March learns that his father is not talking about hidden loot. He’s talking about Jules, the twin sister March never knew he had. No sooner do the two find each other than they are picked up by the police and sent to the world’s worst orphanage. It’s not hard time, but it feels like it.

March and Jules have no intention of staying put. They know their father’s business inside and out, and they’re tired of being pushed around. Just one good heist, and they’ll live the life of riches and freedom that most kids only dream about.

Hold on to your pearls, because this summer, the world’s youngest criminal masterminds are coming for you.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Jewel theft has never been as fun as in 39 Clues contributor Watson’s action-packed novel featuring Mission: Impossible–style escapades…The high level of suspense, ultra-short chapters, and fast pace will hook readers of all stripes.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Akin to the best of roller-coaster rides…Taut, engrossing, and unstoppable.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “A richly entertaining romp.”

    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

  • “With well-developed supporting characters and two likable protagonists, Watson has delivered an exciting, clever, middle-grade mystery. Although her treatment of death and abandonment sometimes feel a bit too lighthearted, it is in keeping with the fanciful feel of the rest of the story. Throughout, the characters develop organically, and Watson doesn’t shy away from real-world consequences. This helps give the book a real sense of urgency during each of the movie-quality action scenes, which makes it a perfect fit for fans of Stuart Gibbs’ Belly Up or Gordon Korman’s Swindle.”

    School Library Journal

  • “Sassy narration, smart quips, pigeon drops, and slang worthy of an episode of Dragnet make this fast-paced tale of topsy-turvy antics a joy from beginning to end. Don’t try these high jinks at home.”


  • “So many things I love about this book: cursed jewels, a dangerous prophecy, a crash course in the history of thievery, acrobatics and grift…This is loot you can take to the bank. It's the perfect summer read for kids.”

    Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series

  • Loot is one of those books that you'll want to devour in one sitting. Full of twists and turns and thrills aplenty, with the perfect mixture of humor throughout, this is a must-read. I really loved it.”

    James Dashner, author of The Maze Runner

  • Loot is pure delight—a super-smart, funny, and exciting ride that I hoped would last forever. Full of wonderful characters and gratifying twists, this story is truly something special.”

    Rebecca Stead, author of When You Reach Me

  • “A nonstop thrill ride of cons, schemes, and near misses, with more twists than a pretzel factory. If middle grade heist counts as a genre, Jude Watson is the master.”

    Gordon Korman, author of Swindle

  • Loot is proof that Jude Watson can do it all: an edge-of-your seat mystery that manages to be thrilling, funny, nail-biting, and full of real characters readers will care about. I loved it.”

    Peter Lerangis, author of The Seven Wonders series

  • Loot is one of my favorite reads in a very long time! I could not put this book down!”

    Jennifer A. Nielsen, author of The False Prince

  • Loot breezes along in Jude Watson's trademark smart, snappy style, a sophisticated caper with a charming and unforgettable cast of characters.”

    Natalie Standiford, author of The Secret Tree

  • “Michael Crouch performs a suspenseful tale of precious moonstones, long-lost twins, and seven million dollars…Crouch paces his narration to keep listeners guessing. His masterful use of tone to portray character brings heart at just the right moments while keeping listeners on edge. Due to a prophecy about the twins, listeners are never sure if they’ll make it out alive, and Crouch uses the cliff-hanger chapter endings to his advantage to ensure continued listening. A fun, fast-paced listen, sure to please the entire family. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”


  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations