Extended Audio Sample

Download Kill the Farm Boy: The Tales of Pell Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Kill the Farm Boy: The Tales of Pell Audiobook, by Kevin Hearne Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kevin Hearne, Delilah S. Dawson Narrator: Luke Daniels Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2018 ISBN: 9780525593669
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In an irreverent new series in the tradition of Terry Pratchett novels and The Princess Bride, the New York Times bestselling authors of the Iron Druid Chronicles and Star Wars: Phasma reinvent fantasy, fairy tales, and floridly overwritten feast scenes.
 
Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom, a hero, the Chosen One, was born . . . and so begins every fairy tale ever told.
           
This is not that fairy tale.
           
There is a Chosen One, but he is unlike any One who has ever been Chosened.
           
And there is a faraway kingdom, but you have never been to a magical world quite like the land of Pell.
           
There, a plucky farm boy will find more than he’s bargained for on his quest to awaken the sleeping princess in her cursed tower. First there’s the Dark Lord, who wishes for the boy’s untimely death . . . and also very fine cheese. Then there’s a bard without a song in her heart but with a very adorable and fuzzy tail, an assassin who fears not the night but is terrified of chickens, and a mighty fighter more frightened of her sword than of her chain-mail bikini. This journey will lead to sinister umlauts, a trash-talking goat, the Dread Necromancer Steve, and a strange and wondrous journey to the most peculiar “happily ever after” that ever once-upon-a-timed. Download and start listening now!

cffc

Quotes & Awards

  • When you put two authors of this high caliber together, expect fireworks. Or at least laughs. What a hoot! New York Times bestselling author Terry Brooks
  • Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne have rigged up an absurdly funny fantasy riff on the Chosen One story, and it had me laughing from literally the name of the first chapter. Kill the Farm Boy ranks among the best of Christopher Moore and Terry Pratchett and is not to be missed. Chuck Wendig
  • A rollicking fantasy adventure that upends numerous genre tropes in audacious style, the first installment of Dawson and Hearne’s Tales of Pell series is a laugh-out-loud-funny fusion of Monty Python–esque humor and whimsy à la Terry Pratchett’s Discworld. Kirkus Reviews
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Kevin Hearne

Kevin Hearne is the author of the Iron Druid chronicles, an urban fantasy series, and a middle-aged nerd who still enjoys his comic books and old-school heavy metal. He cooks tasty omelets, hugs trees, and paints miniature army dudes. He lives with his wife, daughter, and doggies in a wee cottage.

About the Narrator

Luke Daniels is a narrator whose many audiobook credits range from action and suspense to young-adult fiction, including works by Philip Roth and John Updike. He has been a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award in 2012 and 2014 and has earned more than a dozen AudioFile Earphones Awards. As an actor, he has performed at various repertory theaters around the country, with an emphasis on Shakespeare.