Extended Audio Sample

Download Insane City Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Insane City, by Dave Barry Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (945 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Dave Barry Narrator: The Gza, Dave Barry Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A dark comic masterpiece—the first solo adult novel in more than a decade from Pulitzer Prize winner and New York Times bestselling author Dave Barry

Seth Weinstein knew Tina was way out of his league in pretty much any way you could imagine, which is why it continued to astonish him that he was on the plane now for their destination wedding in Florida. The Groom Posse had already sprung an airport prank on him, and he’d survived it, and if that was the worst of it, everything should be okay. Smooth sailing from now on.

Seth has absolutely no idea what he’s about to get into. In the next several hours, he and his friends will become embroiled with rioters, Russian gangsters, angry strippers, a pimp as big as the Death Star, a very desperate Haitian refugee on the run with her two children from some very bad men, and an eleven-foot albino Burmese python named Blossom. And there’re still two days to go before the wedding.

As it turns out, it’s not smooth sailing; it’s more like a trip on the Titanic … and the water below him is getting deeper every minute. By the end, amid gunfire, high-speed chases, and mayhem of the most unimaginable sort, violent men will fall, heroes will rise, and many lives will change.

Seth’s not least of all.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_002039

Quotes & Awards

  • Insane City...lives up to the impressive Dave Barry standard of escapist fun.”

    New York Times

  • “[A] very funny new novel...[Barry’s] sly observations, well-delineated characters, and intricate plotting mesh perfectly.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “[Barry’s] faithful reading serves his novel well.”

    AudioFile

  • “Big, goofy comedy in the vein of Carl Hiaasen and Tim Dorsey doesn’t come by as often as most readers would like and neither do straight-up novels by the likes of Barry. So, to have two entries by the Pulitzer Prize-winning humorist in a single year is momentous.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • Selected for the February 2013 Indie Next List
  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Jodi | 2/15/2014

    " !st book I've read by Dave Barry nad I'm looking forward to reading more of his. The majority of this book I was laughing out loud. It was like a scene from the movie the Hangover. Towards the end of the book the whole getting to the alter scene was a little drug out and the ending was a little flat compared to the rest of the book but I did really enjoy it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Jennifer | 2/12/2014

    " Fans of Barry will not be disappointed. This book is full of his typical zaniness and improbable yet hilarious plot twists. Laugh-out-loud funny! Quick, fun read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Mike Zinn | 2/6/2014

    " My oh my. It's been a long time since I've read a Dave Barry novel, but I think I have to go back and revisit the older ones. I could not put this book down. Every spare second I was picking it up to read just a little bit more to find out what happens next. Who would dream that a story about weddings, Miami, boa constrictors, brownies (the special kind), an orangutan, and a pirate ship could add up to so much fun. Not to mention Haitian refugees and masters of the financial universe. In the hands of a lesser writer this would just be a mess, but this is one of the funniest and most fun novels I've read in many a year. Thanks Dave Barry. You've got my reading year off to a great start. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Suzanne | 1/30/2014

    " Very funny. At times I was laughing out loud. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations