Extended Audio Sample

Download Insane City Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Insane City Audiobook, by Dave Barry Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.48 out of 53.48 out of 53.48 out of 53.48 out of 53.48 out of 5 3.48 (23 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Dave Barry Narrator: Dave Barry Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2013 ISBN: 9781101605042
Regular Price: $20.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Seth Weinstein always knew Tina was way, way, way out of his league. Which is why he’s still astonished that he’s on a plane heading for their wedding in Florida. The Groom Posse has already pulled an airport prank on him—and he’s survived! It should be easy going from now on.

But Seth has absolutely no idea what he’s about to get into. A simple drink or two with the boys sparks a series of events that will pit Seth and his friends against everything and everyone imaginable, from his very powerful, very disapproving soon-to-be father-in-law to the federal government to a love-struck orangutan.

Seth’s hope for smooth sailing is turning into a trip on the Titanic. And the water is getting deeper by the minute…


From the Trade Paperback edition. Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_002039

Quotes & Awards

  • Insane City...lives up to the impressive Dave Barry standard of escapist fun.”

    New York Times

  • “[A] very funny new novel...[Barry’s] sly observations, well-delineated characters, and intricate plotting mesh perfectly.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “[Barry’s] faithful reading serves his novel well.”

    AudioFile

  • “Big, goofy comedy in the vein of Carl Hiaasen and Tim Dorsey doesn’t come by as often as most readers would like and neither do straight-up novels by the likes of Barry. So, to have two entries by the Pulitzer Prize-winning humorist in a single year is momentous.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • Selected for the February 2013 Indie Next List
  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jodi | 2/15/2014

    " !st book I've read by Dave Barry nad I'm looking forward to reading more of his. The majority of this book I was laughing out loud. It was like a scene from the movie the Hangover. Towards the end of the book the whole getting to the alter scene was a little drug out and the ending was a little flat compared to the rest of the book but I did really enjoy it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer | 2/12/2014

    " Fans of Barry will not be disappointed. This book is full of his typical zaniness and improbable yet hilarious plot twists. Laugh-out-loud funny! Quick, fun read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mike Zinn | 2/6/2014

    " My oh my. It's been a long time since I've read a Dave Barry novel, but I think I have to go back and revisit the older ones. I could not put this book down. Every spare second I was picking it up to read just a little bit more to find out what happens next. Who would dream that a story about weddings, Miami, boa constrictors, brownies (the special kind), an orangutan, and a pirate ship could add up to so much fun. Not to mention Haitian refugees and masters of the financial universe. In the hands of a lesser writer this would just be a mess, but this is one of the funniest and most fun novels I've read in many a year. Thanks Dave Barry. You've got my reading year off to a great start. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Suzanne | 1/30/2014

    " Very funny. At times I was laughing out loud. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lisa | 1/23/2014

    " I needed a quick hilarious read and this was it. Dave Barry never disappoints. This really should be 3.5 stars. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Laura Busch | 1/19/2014

    " funny, but light "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Courtney | 1/17/2014

    " Dave Barry is awesome, but this was The Hangover Part 4 set in Miami. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 kb | 1/2/2014

    " I LOVE LOVE LOVE Dave Barry, so when I saw that he had a new book out, I was eager to get my hands on it. "Insane City" has his trademark humor and wit, and was a super-fast read. Storyline was pretty bad, though -- 100% fluff. Perfect for the beach, but unfortunately I was reading it in April in Sacramento. I feel a little guilty that my mom bought this for me as a gift and paid full-price for the hardback. Definitely wait until the paperback comes out, or better yet, get it at the library. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Sherry | 12/30/2013

    " It's supposed to be hilarious. The characters are too witless for me to laugh at, so on page 32, I give up. I don't have the patience to wait it out. Carl Hiassen does Florida we well that I don't need this. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Luis | 12/28/2013

    " Quick and hilarious read! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marian | 12/20/2013

    " The drugstore scenes are required reading for anyone who has ever worked retail or considered it, or looked at a coupon for longer than five seconds. I declare it to be so and so it shall be. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Isicvol | 12/19/2013

    " Entertaining and funny. A quick read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ruth | 12/4/2013

    " Funny man. Uber expensive wedding in Miami IF the groom can find the ring, get rid of an orangutan and the Haitian family in his suite. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nicole47 | 11/28/2013

    " I laughed out loud quite a bit. I'm recovering from surgery and can only read light books, and this was a quick, hilarious page-turner. I would make some sort of joke about keeping me in stitches, but it's best to leave that kind of stuff to Dave Barry. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Betsy | 9/30/2013

    " I was not expecting the rawness of the language, but once the explicit rap lyrics were past, I settled in and enjoyed myself, frequently laughing to the point of choking -- which was really the only point of reading this book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennie | 8/15/2013

    " I'm sure this book will be a best-seller. It reminded me a lot of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum books, kind of a goofy caper-type book. Suggested for when you're in the mood for something light, easy to read, and generally fun. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kat Telford | 8/2/2013

    " Another great page turner by Dave Barry. I love all of his books. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mike French | 7/18/2013

    " What happens when two of my favorite authors, Paul Levine and Carl Hiaasen, are given a mind meld? Dave Barry would emerge! Insane City is the funniest book I have read since "Dead Solid Perfect"! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Eileen | 7/5/2013

    " Very funny. Dave Barry's imagination is incredible. The scenarios he writes about are ridiculous, but somewhat plausible. As much as I enjoyed the humor, it was very similar to "The Hangover." I would have appreciated more original work. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mark Rhodes | 6/27/2013

    " Good stoty. Very funny book. Great read. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Margaret | 4/14/2013

    " If you liked the movie "Hangover", about a bachelor party gone bad, this book will be very familiar. Once was enough for me. Sorry...I usually find Dave Barry books hilarious. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sixrising | 3/26/2013

    " Love the humor and absurdity of the story line. Reminiscent of Hiasen's tales. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Barbara | 3/2/2013

    " this sort of insanity is not my cup of tea. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Dave Barry

Dave Barry’s bestsellers include his Peter Pan prequels, written with Ridley Pearson; I’ll Mature When I’m Dead; and Lunatics, written with Alan Zweibel. He is also the author of the two dark comic suspense novels Big Trouble and Tricky Business. A play based on his first Peter Pan book, Peter and the Starcatchers, is currently a hit on Broadway. He lives in Coral Gables, Florida.