Extended Audio Sample

Download His Majesty's Dragon Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample His Majestys Dragon Audiobook, by Naomi Novik Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.29777777777778 out of 54.29777777777778 out of 54.29777777777778 out of 54.29777777777778 out of 54.29777777777778 out of 5 4.30 (27 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Naomi Novik Narrator: Simon Vance Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Temeraire Series Release Date: June 2007 ISBN: 9781415940150
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Aerial combat brings a thrilling new dimension to the Napoleonic Wars as valiant warriors rise to Britain's defense by taking to the skies - not aboard aircraft but atop the mighty backs of fighting dragons.

When HMS Reliant captures a French frigate and seizes its precious cargo - an unhatched dragon egg - fate sweeps Captain Will Laurence from his seafaring life into an uncertain future and an unexpected kinship with a most extraordinary creature.

Thrust into the rarified world of the Aerial Corps as master of the dragon Temeraire, he will face a crash course in the daring tactics of airborne battle. For as France's own dragon-borne forces rally to breach British soil in Bonaparte's boldest gambit, Laurence and Temeraire must soar into a baptism of fire.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BKOT_001010

Quotes & Awards

  • “Novik’s engaging debut is a perfect blend of the familiar and the fantastical, with both exciting air battles and the natural history of dragons described in what would be well-researched detail if it didn’t happen to originate in the author's imagination.”

    Library Journal

  • “All hail Naomi Novik for seizing on an entirely different set of literary conventions for her fantasy debut—the dashing Brits-on-ships genre perfected by Patrick O’Brian. In His Majesty’s Dragon, Novik plunks her scaly beasts into the Napoleonic Wars, as members of the Aerial Corps, air cover for the beleaguered Royal Navy as it fends off a French invasion.”

    Washington Post

  • Terrifically entertaining. Stephen King
  • Winner of the 2007 Locus Award for Best First Novel
  • A 2007 Hugo Award Nominee

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kat | 2/15/2017

    " I loved Uprooted by Naomi Novic so I had to try the Temeraire series, and it did not disappoint. Great story! Wonderful characters (especially the dragons) and exciting story. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 John Eduard | 2/6/2014

    " An unconventional use of dragons set in Napoleon's time. The very detailed description of the dragons, their breeds, personalities, and background stories all make this a must-read for fantasy buffs. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Chrissy | 1/27/2014

    " I just read this last month. I, honestly, expeced not to like it very well but the sample I read on my Kindle made me fall for it. The characters are well written and the situations they find themselves in really makes you feel for them. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 George | 1/17/2014

    " Fans of Anne McCaffrey and Patrick O'Brian will like this series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Steve Prekup | 1/15/2014

    " I loved this story. One of the best books of this genre that I've ever read. I'd recommend this to anyone, even if you aren't into scifi or dragon stories. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Clancy Nacht | 1/13/2014

    " Adorable, wonderful, nerdy, cute. I am addicted. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Paul | 1/2/2014

    " Like putting the works of C S Forester and Anne McCaffery in a blender, with resulting genius. A superb first novel of a series set against a backdrop of Napoleonic warfare with dragons. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Patience Blythe | 12/18/2013

    " This book was recommended to me and I am so glad I read it. Thrilling, engaging, and imaginative, I really couldn't put it down and read it very quickly. The dragons' personalities were my favorite character elements and I loved the setting. Can't wait for the next one! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jessica | 11/9/2013

    " Really excellent. The mannerisms made me laugh; being a gentleman is so stodgy. Temeraire is wonderfully realized. You can't help but want a dragon after reading this. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lonnie Tapia | 1/3/2013

    " Fun start to a series. I haven't been engrossed with a book this much since Night Circus. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Robert Patrick | 10/1/2012

    " I don't really know why I read this book but do somewhat find myself regretting it now... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bruce Mohler | 7/18/2012

    " Flavors of Master and Commander, Pride and Prejudice, and Dragonriders mixed into an amazing book! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 J. | 5/14/2012

    " Definitely not my usual genre, but I love the author's style. I'm through book 2 now, but I intend to finish the series. I'm not going to review each book separately because they're more like episodes of a tv show than separate tales. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Pete Jarvis | 4/9/2012

    " A fabulous romp of a tale, great characters and depth of story. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Denise Cameron | 12/21/2011

    " I've accepted the fact that I'm not going to finish this book. I don't know what happened - it had all the right elements, I just really stopped caring about it after a while. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Harry | 5/22/2011

    " Alternative history of the Napoleonic Wars, the centerpiece being the aerial corps--dragons which speak like they're characters in a Jane Austen novel. Clever and creative. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Annie | 5/18/2011

    " I loved this book. Completely loyal to each other, I thought it was so sweet. Laurence and Temeraire were so amazing. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Courtney | 5/18/2011

    " Loves this whole series. I want a dragon of my won! Interesting look at Britain and Napolean ere / battles. Alternate history done well. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lauren | 5/15/2011

    " An excellent start to the series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Darlene | 5/1/2011

    " Nice, easy read. Engaging story. I read very little fiction, and this was an enjoyable break from my heavier reading. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Chris | 4/29/2011

    " Fantastic series. I love it so much I reviewed it on my blog. Smart, action-packed Dragon Fic for the Jack Aubrey and Jane Austen set.
    "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christy | 4/29/2011

    " A quick fun read - I will read the next ones for sure. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Denae | 4/26/2011

    " Laurence is a little old, but at least his dragon is young. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 George | 4/18/2011

    " Fans of Anne McCaffrey and Patrick O'Brian will like this series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Larri | 4/16/2011

    " really enjoyed this one, but now I am having problems finding the second one at the library. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Naomi NovikNaomi Novik is the acclaimed author of His Majesty’s Dragon, Throne of Jade, Black Powder War, Empire of Ivory, Victory of Eagles, Tongues of Serpents, Crucible of Gold, and Blood of Tyrants, the first eight volumes of the Temeraire series. She has been nominated for the Hugo Award and has won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, as well as the Locus Award for Best New Writer and the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel. She is also the author of the graphic novel Will Supervillains Be on the Final?
 
Fascinated with both history and legends, Novik is a first-generation American raised on Polish fairy tales and stories of Baba Yaga. Her own adventures include pillaging degrees in English literature and computer science from various ivory towers, designing computer games, and helping to build the Archive of Our Own for fanfiction and other fanworks. Novik is a co-founder of the Organization for Transformative Works.
 
She lives in New York City with her husband, Charles Ardai, the founder of Hard Case Crime, and their daughter, Evidence, surrounded by an excessive number of purring computers.
About the Narrator

Simon Vance (a.k.a. Robert Whitfield) is an award-winning actor and an AudioFile Golden Voice with over forty Earphones Awards. He has won thirteen prestigious Audie Awards and was Booklist’s very first Voice of Choice in 2008. He has narrated more than eight hundred audiobooks over almost thirty years, beginning when he was a radio newsreader for the BBC in London.