Extended Audio Sample

Download His Majesty’s Dragon Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample His Majesty’s Dragon, by Naomi Novik Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.00004820206305 out of 54.00004820206305 out of 54.00004820206305 out of 54.00004820206305 out of 54.00004820206305 out of 5 4.00 (20,746 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Naomi Novik Narrator: Simon Vance Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Temeraire Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.50 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Aerial combat brings a thrilling new dimension to the Napoleonic Wars as valiant warriors rise to Britain's defense by taking to the skies - not aboard aircraft but atop the mighty backs of fighting dragons.

When HMS Reliant captures a French frigate and seizes its precious cargo - an unhatched dragon egg - fate sweeps Captain Will Laurence from his seafaring life into an uncertain future and an unexpected kinship with a most extraordinary creature.

Thrust into the rarified world of the Aerial Corps as master of the dragon Temeraire, he will face a crash course in the daring tactics of airborne battle. For as France's own dragon-borne forces rally to breach British soil in Bonaparte's boldest gambit, Laurence and Temeraire must soar into a baptism of fire.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BKOT_001010

Quotes & Awards

  • “Novik’s engaging debut is a perfect blend of the familiar and the fantastical, with both exciting air battles and the natural history of dragons described in what would be well-researched detail if it didn’t happen to originate in the author's imagination.”

    Library Journal

  • “All hail Naomi Novik for seizing on an entirely different set of literary conventions for her fantasy debut—the dashing Brits-on-ships genre perfected by Patrick O’Brian. In His Majesty’s Dragon, Novik plunks her scaly beasts into the Napoleonic Wars, as members of the Aerial Corps, air cover for the beleaguered Royal Navy as it fends off a French invasion.”

    Washington Post

  • Winner of the 2007 Locus Award for Best First Novel
  • A 2007 Hugo Award Nominee

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by John Eduard | 2/6/2014

    " An unconventional use of dragons set in Napoleon's time. The very detailed description of the dragons, their breeds, personalities, and background stories all make this a must-read for fantasy buffs. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Chrissy | 1/27/2014

    " I just read this last month. I, honestly, expeced not to like it very well but the sample I read on my Kindle made me fall for it. The characters are well written and the situations they find themselves in really makes you feel for them. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by George | 1/17/2014

    " Fans of Anne McCaffrey and Patrick O'Brian will like this series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Steve Prekup | 1/15/2014

    " I loved this story. One of the best books of this genre that I've ever read. I'd recommend this to anyone, even if you aren't into scifi or dragon stories. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations