Extended Audio Sample

Download Hate List Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Hate List Audiobook, by Jennifer Brown Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jennifer Brown Narrator: Kathleen McInerney Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2014 ISBN: 9781478925330
Regular Price: $19.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

For readers of Marieke Nijkamp's This Is Where It Ends, a powerful and timely contemporary classic about the aftermath of a school shooting.

Five months ago, Valerie Leftman's boyfriend, Nick, opened fire on their school cafeteria. Shot trying to stop him, Valerie inadvertently saved the life of a classmate, but was implicated in the shootings because of the list she helped create. A list of people and things she and Nick hated. The list he used to pick his targets.

Now, after a summer of seclusion, Val is forced to confront her guilt as she returns to school to complete her senior year. Haunted by the memory of the boyfriend she still loves and navigating rocky relationships with her family, former friends, and the girl whose life she saved, Val must come to grips with the tragedy that took place and her role in it, in order to make amends and move on with her life.

Jennifer Brown's critically acclaimed novel now includes the bonus novella Say Something, another arresting Hate List story.
Download and start listening now!

b7b0

Quotes & Awards

  • “[A] riveting debut.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Startling, powerful, and poignant.”

    School Library Journal (starred review)

  • “This novel ought to be the last written about a fictional high school shooting because it is difficult to imagine any capable of handling it better…A story that is as sensitive and honest as it is spellbinding.”

    VOYA (starred review)

  • “Authentic and relevant, this debut is one to top the charts.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Jennifer Brown writes and lives in the Kansas City, Missouri, area with her husband and three children. When not writing about serious subjects, Jennifer, a two-time winner of the Erma Bombeck Global Humor Award, is a columnist for the Kansas City Star. She is the author of Thousand Words; Perfect Escape; Bitter End, which was named an ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults title; and Hate List, which was selected as an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, a VOYA Perfect Ten, and a School Library Journal Best Book of the Year.

About the Narrator

Kathleen McInerney won the prestigious Audie Award for Best Narration in 2011 and was a finalist for the Audie in 2010 and 2015. Her narrations have also earned seven AudioFile Earphones Awards. She has performed in New York and around the United States in both classical and contemporary theater. Her credits also include television commercials, daytime drama, radio plays, and animation voice-over.