Extended Audio Sample

Download Hard Country: A Novel of the Old West Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Hard Country: A Novel of the Old West, by Michael McGarrity Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (208 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michael McGarrity Narrator: George Guidall Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Kevin Kerney Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $29.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

National bestselling author and New Mexico native Michael McGarrity takes listeners to the wild territory of the late nineteenth-century American Southwest for this epic tale. After the deaths of his wife and brother, John Kerney gives up his west Texas ranch and heads south in search of a new home. Soon Kerney is offered work trailing cattle to the New Mexico territory—a job that will forever change his life. Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “As anyone familiar with his excellent crime novels knows, Michael McGarrity really gets—and loves—the Southwest: its colors, its rhythms, its blessings, its cussedness. Here McGarrity moves back in time to explore New Mexico’s frontier past and in the process gives us something most unusual these days: an expansive, lyrical period Western in the tradition of A. B. Guthrie, Jr., and Larry McMurtry. Savor this one—they don’t make cowboy epics like this anymore.” 

    Hampton Sides, bestselling author of Ghost Soldiers and Blood and Thunder 

  • Hard Country is aptly titled, and the reader will take a spectacular journey with real people settling the West. There is inescapable action of the gun, the earth, the sky, and the heart. This is a western that women will love.” 

    Max Evans, author of The Rounders 

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Judy | 2/19/2014

    " I enjoyed the book; but the complexity of the characters (and the number of characters) has left me feeling cheated. I think perhaps this would have been better as a two part series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kristine McIntyre | 1/28/2014

    " This book goes on my all time favorites list! Did not want it to end! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Brian Kish | 1/20/2014

    " One of the best books I have read in a while! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kelly Lawson | 1/18/2014

    " Awesome read! Very authentic western/ historical book; enjoyed immensely "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations