Extended Audio Sample

Download Hard Country: A Novel of the Old West Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Hard Country: A Novel of the Old West Audiobook, by Michael McGarrity Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (208 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michael McGarrity Narrator: George Guidall Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Kevin Kerney Series Release Date: July 2012 ISBN: 9781464038471
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

National bestselling author and New Mexico native Michael McGarrity takes listeners to the wild territory of the late nineteenth-century American Southwest for this epic tale. After the deaths of his wife and brother, John Kerney gives up his west Texas ranch and heads south in search of a new home. Soon Kerney is offered work trailing cattle to the New Mexico territory—a job that will forever change his life. Download and start listening now!

BK_RECO_005680

Quotes & Awards

  • “As anyone familiar with his excellent crime novels knows, Michael McGarrity really gets—and loves—the Southwest: its colors, its rhythms, its blessings, its cussedness. Here McGarrity moves back in time to explore New Mexico’s frontier past and in the process gives us something most unusual these days: an expansive, lyrical period Western in the tradition of A. B. Guthrie, Jr., and Larry McMurtry. Savor this one—they don’t make cowboy epics like this anymore.” 

    Hampton Sides, bestselling author of Ghost Soldiers and Blood and Thunder 

  • Hard Country is aptly titled, and the reader will take a spectacular journey with real people settling the West. There is inescapable action of the gun, the earth, the sky, and the heart. This is a western that women will love.” 

    Max Evans, author of The Rounders 

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Judy | 2/19/2014

    " I enjoyed the book; but the complexity of the characters (and the number of characters) has left me feeling cheated. I think perhaps this would have been better as a two part series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kristine McIntyre | 1/28/2014

    " This book goes on my all time favorites list! Did not want it to end! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Brian Kish | 1/20/2014

    " One of the best books I have read in a while! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kelly Lawson | 1/18/2014

    " Awesome read! Very authentic western/ historical book; enjoyed immensely "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jill | 1/2/2014

    " What a fun western saga about the Kerney family. It was a pretty easy read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kevin Moore | 12/29/2013

    " Very good western historical fiction. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Pamela | 12/12/2013

    " A worthwhile read. Adventure, cowboys, cattle drives and a lot of history of New Mexico from the 1880s through the first World War. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Connie Walsh | 12/8/2013

    " Good explanation of how the series began. Also wonderful descriptions of Tularosa, New Mexico and the West movement of settlers. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Annette | 12/3/2013

    " Excellant Fast read. Finished in about 4 days "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Peter | 11/28/2013

    " Enjoying this Western, reminds me of "Lonesome Dove", superbly written story !!! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Shelley Fearn | 10/5/2013

    " Well told, it's an epic along the lines of Lonesome Dove and Centennial. When John Kearny's wife dies in childbirth and his brother and family are murdered he becomes a cowboy eventually starting his own spread. Excellent, manly, but women will like it too. (Just like Irish Spring.) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cody | 10/3/2013

    " Fantastic generational western historical novel. It made me want to visit New Mexico again ASAP. Highly recommended! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Joanne | 9/30/2013

    " If you like Westerns, this is worth your time. Pretty much covers the settling of the old west over three generations. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Gale | 8/2/2013

    " This is one of my favorite books for 2012. I am going to jump on the second in the series as soon as it comes out! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Marcia | 6/8/2013

    " Great writing - reminded me of Cormac McCarthy's "All the Pretty Horses". Captures the human character needed to match the harshness of an earlier time and a rough country. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Carol Seastrom | 3/31/2013

    " I loved this book. Kind of like Lonesome Dove but better. Good ole cowboy yard. Three generations of the hard life in a hard country. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Howard Anders | 3/10/2013

    " Absolutely one of the best westerns I have ever read, although it is unfair to label "Hard Country" as only a western. Very enjoyable read, touched with sadness. Well-developed characters, good guys (and gals) and the not-so-good. I highly recommend it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Katie | 10/31/2012

    " loved it. . . wonderful ending. didn't think it would end the way it did. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cheyne | 8/24/2012

    " Fantastic. An understated epic documenting the death of the West. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Marsha | 5/24/2012

    " A solid, straight forward western. Readers with an interest in the history of New Mexico should find it especially interesting kind of like Michener's Centennial for Colorado history fans. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathy | 4/21/2012

    " I really enjoyed this book - the writing and narration were way above average. I would have enjoyed it more if there had been an ending that matched the story. It just sort of stopped at the nearest scene even if the scene didn't make sense "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Michael McGarrity is a New Mexican author and former deputy sheriff of Santa Fe county. He received degrees from the University of New Mexico and the University of Iowa in English and psychology; he is also a graduate of the New Mexico Law Enforcement Academy. He has written a dozen crime-suspense novels, all set in New Mexico. Some of his works include Serpent Gate, The Judas Judge, Under the Color of Law, The Big Gamble, and Hard Country. He has recieved many nominations for his work, and in 2004, McGarrity received the New Mexico Governor’s Award for Excellence in Literature. He has also published a number of articles in professional journals on a variety of topics, including drug treatment interventions, program assessment and evaluations, and therapy programs for children. In addition to being a law enforcement officer, he has been an investigator and caseworker for the New Mexico Public Defender’s Office and has taught at several colleges and universities. He has been instrumental in establishing a number of scholarships, including the Hillerman-McGarrity Creative Writing Scholarship at the University of New Mexico, the Richard Bradford Memorial Creative Writing Scholarship at Santa Fe Community College, and others. He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico with his wife.

About the Narrator

George Guidall, winner of eighty-eight AudioFile Earphones Awards, has twice won the prestigious Audie Award for Excellence in Audiobook Narration. In 2014 the Audio Publishers Association presented him with the Special Achievement Award for an audiobook narrator of exceptional stature and accomplishment. During his thirty-year recording career he has recorded over 1,100 audiobooks, won multiple awards, been a mentor to many narrators, and shown by example the potential of fine storytelling. Among Guidall’s narration achievements are Crime and Punishment, The Iliad, and John Irving’s A Widow for One Year, which earned him an Audie Award for best unabridged narration of a novel, an honor he captured again for his rendition of Wally Lamb’s I Know This Much Is True. Guidall’s forty-year acting career includes starring roles on Broadway, an Obie Award for best performance off Broadway, and frequent television appearances.