Extended Audio Sample

Download Guilt by Degrees Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Guilt by Degrees, by Marcia Clark Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (317 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Marcia Clark Narrator: January LaVoy Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.98 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Someone has been watching DA Rachel Knight—someone who is Rachel’s equal in brains but with more malicious intentions. It began when a near-impossible case fell into Rachel’s lap: the homicide of a homeless man that turned up no suspects. In the face of courthouse backbiting and a gauzy web of clues, Rachel is determined to deliver justice. And she’s got back-up: tough-as-nails Detective Bailey Keller. As Rachel and Bailey stir things up, they’re shocked to uncover a connection with the vicious murder of an LAPD cop a year earlier. Something tells Rachel someone knows the truth—someone who’d kill to keep it secret.

Harrowing, smart, and riotously entertaining, Guilt by Degrees is a thrilling ride through the world of LA courts with the unforgettable Rachel Knight.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “It’s no big surprise that Marcia Clark knows her way around a courtroom and a murder mystery—but she’s also a terrific writer and storyteller.”

    James Patterson

  • “Clark humanizes her tough lead and gets the mixture of action and investigative legwork just right, more than making the case for a long life for this West Coast analogue to Linda Fairstein’s Alex Cooper.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “With Guilt by Degrees, Clark has managed to do the arduous and make it look easy: she has taken the strongest elements from an already assured debut and melded them into near perfection. The dialogue is razor sharp, the humor laugh-out-loud funny, and the pacing relentless. Further, Clark infuses the narrative with a wealth of expertly informed details shaped by the years that she spent living and breathing her protagonist’s life. Bullets may fly on the page, but it’s readers that will ultimately be blown away.”

    Hartford Books Examiner

  • “Clark brings back Los Angeles DA Rachel Knight in this sequel to her well-received debut, Guilt by Association…Well-developed characters and a story arc that leaves the reader hanging are a surefire way to bring fans back for the next installment, and Clark has wisely left that door wide open. [This] should appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and David Baldacci.”

    Library Journal

  • “This sequel to her remarkably accomplished debut, Guilt by Association, proves that former prosecutor Clark is no one-book wonder…Clark has a winning cast of characters, a strong plot, and plenty of smart and sassy dialogue (particularly when Knight and her BFFs gather for after-work martinis), and she heightens interest in Knight’s next appearance by establishing the psychopathic Bayer as her nemesis. A superlative series bringing together elements of both legal thrillers and police procedurals.”


  • “An engaging revisit to Rachel Knight…No sophomore jinx for Clark. Her second girlfriend novel, counterpart to the buddy novel, is serious fun.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Julie Sarah | 2/19/2014

    " I liked her first book better. I hate when books end as a to be continued rather than as a complete ending. It's a disappointment. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Chrisandmegan Bargas | 1/19/2014

    " I just, now started reading this book I have read one if her other books called guilt by association and I loved it "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Judy Burgess | 1/6/2014

    " Very good. My only regret is that I read the third in the series first, but I will go back & read the others. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Stephanie | 1/2/2014

    " I did enjoy the read, but it is a book in a series and I don't love it enough to get hooked in. So, even though I had fun reading this, I'll just have to live with the loose ends that the book finished with. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Marcia Clark

Marcia Clark is a former prosecutor for the State of California, County of Los Angeles, in the O. J. Simpson murder case. She wrote a bestselling nonfiction book, Without a Doubt, about the case, and she is a frequent media commentator on legal issues. Now a special correspondent for Entertainment Tonight, she provides coverage of high profile trials and contributes a column to the Daily Beast.