Extended Audio Sample

Download Guilt by Degrees Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Guilt by Degrees Audiobook, by Marcia Clark Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.87 out of 53.87 out of 53.87 out of 53.87 out of 53.87 out of 5 3.87 (15 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Marcia Clark Narrator: January LaVoy Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2012 ISBN: 9781611133912
Regular Price: $19.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Someone has been watching DA Rachel Knight—someone who is Rachel’s equal in brains but with more malicious intentions. It began when a near-impossible case fell into Rachel’s lap: the homicide of a homeless man that turned up no suspects. In the face of courthouse backbiting and a gauzy web of clues, Rachel is determined to deliver justice. And she’s got back-up: tough-as-nails Detective Bailey Keller. As Rachel and Bailey stir things up, they’re shocked to uncover a connection with the vicious murder of an LAPD cop a year earlier. Something tells Rachel someone knows the truth—someone who’d kill to keep it secret.

Harrowing, smart, and riotously entertaining, Guilt by Degrees is a thrilling ride through the world of LA courts with the unforgettable Rachel Knight.

Download and start listening now!

BK_HACH_000869

Quotes & Awards

  • “It’s no big surprise that Marcia Clark knows her way around a courtroom and a murder mystery—but she’s also a terrific writer and storyteller.”

    James Patterson

  • “Clark humanizes her tough lead and gets the mixture of action and investigative legwork just right, more than making the case for a long life for this West Coast analogue to Linda Fairstein’s Alex Cooper.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “With Guilt by Degrees, Clark has managed to do the arduous and make it look easy: she has taken the strongest elements from an already assured debut and melded them into near perfection. The dialogue is razor sharp, the humor laugh-out-loud funny, and the pacing relentless. Further, Clark infuses the narrative with a wealth of expertly informed details shaped by the years that she spent living and breathing her protagonist’s life. Bullets may fly on the page, but it’s readers that will ultimately be blown away.”

    Hartford Books Examiner

  • “Clark brings back Los Angeles DA Rachel Knight in this sequel to her well-received debut, Guilt by Association…Well-developed characters and a story arc that leaves the reader hanging are a surefire way to bring fans back for the next installment, and Clark has wisely left that door wide open. [This] should appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and David Baldacci.”

    Library Journal

  • “This sequel to her remarkably accomplished debut, Guilt by Association, proves that former prosecutor Clark is no one-book wonder…Clark has a winning cast of characters, a strong plot, and plenty of smart and sassy dialogue (particularly when Knight and her BFFs gather for after-work martinis), and she heightens interest in Knight’s next appearance by establishing the psychopathic Bayer as her nemesis. A superlative series bringing together elements of both legal thrillers and police procedurals.”

    Booklist

  • “An engaging revisit to Rachel Knight…No sophomore jinx for Clark. Her second girlfriend novel, counterpart to the buddy novel, is serious fun.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Julie Sarah | 2/19/2014

    " I liked her first book better. I hate when books end as a to be continued rather than as a complete ending. It's a disappointment. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Chrisandmegan Bargas | 1/19/2014

    " I just, now started reading this book I have read one if her other books called guilt by association and I loved it "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Judy Burgess | 1/6/2014

    " Very good. My only regret is that I read the third in the series first, but I will go back & read the others. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stephanie | 1/2/2014

    " I did enjoy the read, but it is a book in a series and I don't love it enough to get hooked in. So, even though I had fun reading this, I'll just have to live with the loose ends that the book finished with. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Renee Hugo | 11/28/2013

    " well developed characters that i enjoyed, twists and turns i couldn't have imagined, this story made me laugh and cry! I hope she writes more with these characters, I'd love to read more "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mike Hughes | 11/27/2013

    " I am sure glad that I don't eat as much as the characters in this book! Besides that I did find it entertaining. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Trudi | 11/14/2013

    " Fun escape fiction. LA Deputy DA Rachel Knight takes on the murder of a homeless man along with her pal Detective Bailey Keller. They discover that the murder they are investigating is tied to the murder of a Los Angeles policeman, and things escalate from there. Plot twists and turns. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sara Horwitz | 10/2/2013

    " Decent character development, interesting plot but a bit far fetched. I guess that's why it is called fiction "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Susan Grimes | 6/30/2013

    " I was really surprised that the book was as exciting and entertaining as it was! Marcia Clark was the lead prosecutor in the OJ Simpson trail. I read this book in 2 days- couldn't put it down! Special Trial DEputy Rachel Knight is investigating a homeless man!s murder, lots of twists and turns! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Anne Rock | 6/12/2013

    " Another really good effort by Clark. Storylines were stronger and I wanted to read, to finish it, to see what was going to happen. I like her style and I find myself thinking "she knows what she's talking about". I'll continue to read her work. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kelly | 2/1/2013

    " this book was fantastic! she is a great author!! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 nora | 11/4/2012

    " ok, but not so well written, she should have done this story with another author. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sandee Priser | 9/24/2012

    " An okay read, though the focus on restaurants and specific alcohol was a bit tedious. Still, I'd read the sequel that was set up. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sheryl | 9/15/2012

    " I love this series! I can't wait for the next installment "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ladyacct | 6/20/2012

    " REALLY good story/mystery with a surprise twist in the end. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Marcia Clark

Marcia Clark is a former prosecutor for the State of California, County of Los Angeles, in the O. J. Simpson murder case. She wrote a bestselling nonfiction book, Without a Doubt, about the case, and she is a frequent media commentator on legal issues. Now a special correspondent for Entertainment Tonight, she provides coverage of high profile trials and contributes a column to the Daily Beast.

About the Narrator

January LaVoy is an American actress best known for her character Noelle Ortiz on the ABC daytime drama One Life to Live. In addition to working extensively in television, including roles on Law & Order and All My Children, LaVoy has worked on and off Broadway as well as in regional theater. She currently works and resides in New York.