Extended Audio Sample

Download Give a Girl a Knife: A Memoir Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Give a Girl a Knife: A Memoir Audiobook, by Amy Thielen Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Amy Thielen Narrator: Amy Thielen Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2017 ISBN: 9780525524151
Regular Price: $20.95 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A beautifully written food memoir chronicling one woman’s journey from her rural Midwestern hometown to the intoxicating world of New York City fine dining—and back again—in search of her culinary roots
 
Before Amy Thielen frantically plated rings of truffled potatoes in some of New York City’s finest kitchens—for chefs David Bouley, Daniel Boulud, and Jean-Georges Vongerichten—she grew up in a northern Minnesota town home to the nation’s largest French fry factory, the headwaters of the fast food nation, with a mother whose generous cooking dripped with tenderness, drama, and an overabundance of butter.
       Inspired by her grandmother’s tales of cooking in the family farmhouse, Thielen moves north with her artist husband to a rustic, off-the-grid cabin deep in the woods. There, standing at the stove three times a day, she finds the seed of a growing food obsession that leads her to the sensory madhouse of New York’s top haute cuisine brigades. But, like a magnet, the foods of her youth draw her back home, where she comes face to face with her past and a curious truth: that beneath every foie gras sauce lies a rural foundation of potatoes and onions.
       Amy Thielen’s coming-of-age story pulses with energy, a cook’s eye for intimate detail, and a dose of dry Midwestern humor. Give a Girl a Knife offers a fresh, vivid view into New York’s high-end restaurants before returning Thielen to her roots, where she realizes that the marrow running through her bones is not demi-glace but gravy—thick with nostalgia and hard to resist. Download and start listening now!

ahkm

Quotes & Awards

  • Fans of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gabrielle Hamilton's Blood, Bones and Butter will enjoy this chef's memoir of learning to cook in Minnesota and dicing and deep-frying her way through the kitchens of some of New York's most esteemed chefs. AM New York 
  • One of the best coming of age food memoirs you’ll ever pick up. Rolling Stone
  • With every turn of the page I felt the tides that pull from country to city: familial love and the consuming desire of an impossibly possible career; the simple pleasures of a freshly-picked kohlrabi and the smell of shaved black truffles. Joy Summers, Eater
  • Notable Press:
  • 2017 Best Books of the Year—Shelf Awareness
  • The Best Books Written About Food in 2017—The Independent
  • 10 New Nonfiction Food Books to Read this Spring/Summer—Bon Appétit
  • Book Club PickEater
  • 5 Can't Miss New ReadsHuffington Post
  • 19 Best Books to Read in May—Entertainment Weekly
  • 19 Summer Books That Will Keep You Up All Night Reading—PBS’s NewsHour
  • 5 New Books to Read this Summer—Epicurious
  • 7 New Books you should read in May—Time Out
  • 5 Hot Books— The National Book Review
  • 20 Best Nonfiction Books coming in May—Bustle
  • 10 Best Books of May—Nylon
  • Favorite Books of May 2017Read It Forward 
  • Midwest Indie Bookseller pick for June
  • Austin Page Turners's pick for 2018 city-wide read
  • Give a Girl a Knife made me consider a move to, or at least a summer spent in, rural Minnesota just to be close to Amy and her home kitchen. I've read my fair share of chef memoirs—full of heroes, hard nights, and militant discipline. Amy's story is different. It's about more than her wacky path through some of New York's best kitchens; it's about Amy's innate need to cook. What is it they say? Writers write. Chefs cook. Amy is the rare example of someone who does both like a boss! Vivian Howard, author of Deep Run Roots
  • Amy's story of being true to herself, even when it means going against the grain (and off the grid, both literally and figuratively), is exciting and inspiring. I love how food lures her to return home—but this time on her own terms. Andie Mitchell, author of It Was Me All Along
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations