Extended Audio Sample

Download Fool's Assassin: Book One of the Fitz and the Fool Trilogy Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Fools Assassin: Book One of the Fitz and the Fool Trilogy Audiobook, by Robin Hobb Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 5 3.67 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Robin Hobb Narrator: Elliot Hill Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Fitz and the Fool Trilogy Release Date: August 2014 ISBN: 9780553546354
Regular Price: $32.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $22.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Nearly twenty years ago, Robin Hobb burst upon the fantasy scene with the first of her acclaimed Farseer novels, Assassin’s Apprentice, which introduced the characters of FitzChivalry Farseer and his uncanny friend the Fool. A watershed moment in modern fantasy, this novel—and those that followed—broke exciting new ground in a beloved genre. Together with George R. R. Martin, Robin Hobb helped pave the way for such talented new voices as Scott Lynch, Brandon Sanderson, and Naomi Novik.

Over the years, Hobb’s imagination has soared throughout the mythic lands of the Six Duchies in such bestselling series as the Liveship Traders Trilogy and the Rain Wilds Chronicles. But no matter how far she roamed, her heart always remained with Fitz. And now, at last, she has come home, with an astonishing new novel that opens a dark and gripping chapter in the Farseer saga.

FitzChivalry—royal bastard and former king’s assassin—has left his life of intrigue behind. As far as the rest of the world knows, FitzChivalry Farseer is dead and buried. Masquerading as Tom Badgerlock, Fitz is now married to his childhood sweetheart, Molly, and leading the quiet life of a country squire.

Though Fitz is haunted by the disappearance of the Fool, who did so much to shape Fitz into the man he has become, such private hurts are put aside in the business of daily life, at least until the appearance of menacing, pale-skinned strangers casts a sinister shadow over Fitz’s past … and his future.

Now, to protect his new life, the former assassin must once again take up his old one.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Hobb knows the complicated workings of the wayward human heart, and she takes time to depict them in her tale, to tell her story sweetly, insistently, compellingly. This start of a promising new trilogy will satisfy fans wanting to share further adventures with proud yet vulnerable FitzChivalry and his fellow traveler. Fool’s Assassin is also deeply involving for those unfamiliar with this author—involving enough to attract new followers for her sharp-eyed observations on fantastic worlds populated by believable, imperfect people…It’s a book meant to be inhabited rather than run through.”

    Seattle Times

  • “Every time I read a Hobb book, I end up hungry. The sweeping descriptions of food, hearth, and home and traditions remain a delightful hallmark of Hobb’s writing—and Fool’s Assassin is no exception. Told largely from a first-person perspective, Hobb’s latest story will engage readers with its richly presented characterization, atmosphere, and environment.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Fully realized characters and vivid prose show that Hobb remains a supremely talented author of epic fantasy.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Hobb broke new ground with Assassin’s Apprentice, the first in her Farseer trilogy twenty years ago, and here she effortlessly picks up the character of Fitz, rewarding those who have enjoyed his earlier adventures but easily building him anew for readers just joining in. The emotionally rich storytelling is sure to win Hobb new fans who will be anxious to read the next installment as the author leaves us dangling in anticipation.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • An August 2014 Amazon Best Book in Science Fiction & Fantasy
  • A New York Times Bestseller
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Robin Hobb

Robin Hobb was born in California but grew up in Alaska, where she learned to love the forest and the wilderness. She has lived most of her life in the Pacific Northwest and currently resides in Tacoma, Washington. She is the author of the Rain Wilds Chronicles, the Farseer trilogy, the Liveship Traders trilogy, and the Tawny Man trilogy. Her books under the pseudonym Megan Lindholm include Wizard of the Pigeons, The Windsingers, and Cloven Hooves. She is also the author of The Inheritance, a collection of stories written under both names. Her short fiction has won the Asimov’s Readers’ Award and been a finalist for both the Nebula and Hugo awards.