Extended Audio Sample

Download Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: And Other True Cases Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: And Other True Cases Audiobook, by Ann Rule Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.00260416666667 out of 53.00260416666667 out of 53.00260416666667 out of 53.00260416666667 out of 53.00260416666667 out of 5 3.00 (384 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ann Rule Narrator: Laural Merlington Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: Ann Rule’s Crime Files Series Release Date: January 2013 ISBN: 9781469285115
Regular Price: $9.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $9.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

It’s a chilling reality that homicide investigators know all too well: the last face most murder victims see is not that of a stranger, but of someone familiar. Whether only an acquaintance or a trusted intimate, such killers share a common trait that triggers the downward spiral toward death for someone close to them: they are masters at hiding who they really are. Their clever masks let them appear safe, kind, and truthful. They are anything but — and almost no one can detect the murderous impulses buried deep in their psyches. These doomed relationships are the focus of Ann Rule’s sixteenth Crime Files collection. In these shattering inside views of both headlined and little-known homicides, Rule speaks for vulnerable victims who relied on the wrong people. She begins with two startling novella-length investigations. In July 2011, a billionaire’s Coronado, California, mansion was the setting for two horrifying deaths only days apart — his young son’s plunge from a balcony and his girlfriend’s ghastly hanging. What really happened? Baffling questions remain unanswered, as these cases were closed far too soon for hundreds of people; Rule looks at them now through the eyes of a relentless crime reporter. The second probe began in Utah when Susan Powell vanished in a 2009 blizzard. Her controlling husband, Josh, proved capable of a blind rage that was heartbreakingly fatal to his innocent small sons almost three years later in a tragedy that shocked America as the details unfolded. If anyone had detected the depth of depravity within Josh Powell, perhaps the family that loved and trusted him would have been saved. In these, and one other riveting case, Ann Rule exposes the twisted truth behind the façades of Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors. Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_004672

Quotes & Awards

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Carol Hepner | 2/19/2014

    " Very interesting. Learned new things about the Susan Powell disappearance and the tragic deaths of her to sons when the idiot husband blew himself and those babies up.....the whole book kept my attention well. Finished in a day!!! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Yolanda | 2/19/2014

    " There are a few different stories int this one. Some of them are older cases and what has happened in the years that followed. I found two of the stories a little slow, maybe lacking background detail. I will continue to read this author's work. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sylvia | 2/12/2014

    " This book is about some of the case files Ann worked on. If you're a fan of Ann Rule you'll want to read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Malory Mitchell | 2/11/2014

    " Another great Ann Rule book! I was very impressed! A must read! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ginny | 2/9/2014

    " Ann Rule introduced me to true crime with Small Sacrifices. I don't read a lot of this genre but I always like to read anything by this author and in this book she mostly discusses two big cases in the news; the Susan Powell case and the mysterious deaths of Max Shacknai and Rebecca Zahau in Coronado, CA. Also discussed, although to a lesser extent, are a few older cases. I believe she is working on a new book so I will look out for it, as well. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vicki Tyley | 2/4/2014

    " True crime writing at its best, especially the in depth research and insight with the Powell case. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kricket | 1/28/2014

    " given my morbid fixation with serial killers and CNN's "justice" section, i'm surprised that this is the first true crime story i've read. it was both horrifying and fascinating and i'm sure i'll read more titles by her. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Patricia | 1/25/2014

    " 3.5 good shorter stories. Fun read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 A | 1/23/2014

    " No one compares to Ann Rule! The horror of the crimes she wrote just jump out of the pages and hit me right smack on the face. Must read for fans of CSI and Law & Order!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Andrea | 1/18/2014

    " I'm giving this 4 stars only because I couldn't put it down, but I really don't think it was written as well as Ann's other books. Seemed like Ann was in a hurry to write this book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Donna | 1/11/2014

    " Ann Rule always does a great job presenting these stories. Heart-breaking stories. So hard to believe the cruelty of some people. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amanda | 1/6/2014

    " Ann Rule's writing is, as usual, brilliant. The content, as to be expected, perturbing. The Susan Powell case in particular, was disturbing. Hope she is finally found, and soon. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Patricia Ibarra | 12/30/2013

    " An interesting and troubling books that takes us to the entrails of criminsl minds and their twisted acts. It also manages to convey the despair of law enforcers, as well as someof the unexplaibable errors made during investigations. It makes me feel glad that I feel safe at home "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Chris Anderson | 12/12/2013

    " I've always loved her true crime books. I didn't recall anything while reading the first story in this book until towards the end when I remembered hearing about the tragedy on the news. Unbelievable. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lori | 11/14/2013

    " I think Ann Rule is THE best true crime author and usually give her 4-5 stars, but the first story disturbed me so much I had trouble continuing the book. It was no reflection on her writing and research, which was incredible as always. She is the best. But brace yourself for this one. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Beverly | 11/6/2013

    " Just another crime files book by Ann Rule. It has two long stories and several short ones. This is an OK book, but not one of her better ones. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Roxie | 10/11/2013

    " love reading Anne Rule "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Sharon | 9/24/2013

    " Only read the first novella about Susan Powell. Pretty interesting "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Paula | 7/30/2013

    " A great read, as all her books are. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cheryl Turoczy hart | 6/8/2013

    " A bit of a hodge podge of true crime stories that the author obviously had become interested in but most of which were never really fleshed out. A little disappointing from an author I have enjoyed in the past. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kelly Williams | 5/1/2013

    " Love Ann Rule! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennie Hearne | 2/18/2013

    " You never can miss with Ann Rule. Easy to read & full of information.9 "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christine | 1/24/2013

    " Ann Rule never fails to write an incredible book! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jeanette | 1/23/2013

    " Rating = 3.5 stars "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Julie Harris | 1/17/2013

    " Another page turner from Anne Rule that I couldn't put down! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Ann Rule

Ann Rule (1930 or 1931–2015) was a former Seattle policewoman and the author of more than two dozen New York Times bestsellers. Eight of her books have been made into movies for television, and she won the Peabody Award for her miniseries, Small Sacrifices. She also won two Anthony Awards and was nominated for an Edgar Award three times. Aside from being a writer, she was a certified instructor for police training seminars and lectured frequently to law enforcement officers, prosecutors, and forensic science organizations.

About the Narrator

Laural Merlington is an audiobook narrator with over two hundred titles to her credit and a winner of eight Earphones Awards. An Audie Award nominee, she has also directed over one hundred audiobooks. She teaches college in her home state of Michigan.