Extended Audio Sample

Download Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: And Other True Cases Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: And Other True Cases, by Ann Rule Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (383 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Ann Rule Narrator: Laural Merlington Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: Ann Rule’s Crime Files Series Release Date: January 2013 ISBN: 9781469283708
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

It’s a chilling reality that homicide investigators know all too well: the last face most murder victims see is not that of a stranger, but of someone familiar. Whether only an acquaintance or a trusted intimate, such killers share a common trait that triggers the downward spiral toward death for someone close to them: they are masters at hiding who they really are. Their clever masks let them appear safe, kind, and truthful. They are anything but, and almost no one can detect the murderous impulses buried deep in their psyches.

These doomed relationships are the focus of Ann Rule’s sixteenth all-new Crime Files collection. In these shattering inside views of both headlined and little-known homicides, Rule speaks for vulnerable victims who relied on the wrong people. She begins with two startling novella-length investigations.

In July 2011, a billionaire’s Coronado, California, mansion was the setting for two horrifying deaths only days apart, his young son’s plunge from a balcony and his girlfriend’s ghastly hanging. What really happened? Baffling questions remain unanswered, as these cases were closed far too soon for hundreds of people; Rule looks at them now through the eyes of a relentless crime reporter.

The second probe began in Utah when Susan Powell vanished in a 2009 blizzard. Her controlling husband, Josh, proved capable of a blind rage that was heartbreakingly fatal to his innocent small sons almost three years later in a tragedy that shocked America as the details unfolded. If anyone had detected the depth of depravity within Josh Powell, perhaps the family that loved and trusted him would have been saved.

In these and seven other riveting cases, Ann Rule exposes the twisted truth behind the façades of Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_004676

Quotes & Awards

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Julie Harris | 2/14/2014

    " Another page turner from Anne Rule that I couldn't put down! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cheryl Turoczy hart | 1/26/2014

    " A bit of a hodge podge of true crime stories that the author obviously had become interested in but most of which were never really fleshed out. A little disappointing from an author I have enjoyed in the past. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jane Darby-Day | 1/23/2014

    " Ann Rule is one of my favorite authors of true crime. She investigates the relationship of the deceased to their family, friends, etc. more psychology and forensics but not gory. I don't usually like short stories but Ann Rule is an exception. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cara Ellison | 1/22/2014

    " Scary, intimate, and lurid. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 A | 1/8/2014

    " No one compares to Ann Rule! The horror of the crimes she wrote just jump out of the pages and hit me right smack on the face. Must read for fans of CSI and Law & Order!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Linda Quinn | 12/26/2013

    " I always enjoy Ann Rule books and I've read most of them. This was interesting, although I was disappointed that the last few stories were so old. Still an Ann Rule fan! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kricket | 12/25/2013

    " given my morbid fixation with serial killers and CNN's "justice" section, i'm surprised that this is the first true crime story i've read. it was both horrifying and fascinating and i'm sure i'll read more titles by her. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Beverly | 12/9/2013

    " Just another crime files book by Ann Rule. It has two long stories and several short ones. This is an OK book, but not one of her better ones. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jeanette | 11/23/2013

    " Rating = 3.5 stars "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Janice | 11/4/2013

    " This book is a compilation of short true-crime stories as only Ann Rule can write them. Each story is a page-turner with the writing style that could only be accomplished by the eternal queen of true crime, Ann Rule. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christine | 9/1/2013

    " Ann Rule never fails to write an incredible book! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Rita Thomas | 5/26/2013

    " I didn't want to finish book. I like true life crime, but several of the stories remain "unsolved" and that frustrated me "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vicki Tyley | 5/24/2013

    " True crime writing at its best, especially the in depth research and insight with the Powell case. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Andrea | 3/1/2013

    " I'm giving this 4 stars only because I couldn't put it down, but I really don't think it was written as well as Ann's other books. Seemed like Ann was in a hurry to write this book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Linda Cadose | 2/8/2013

    " Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbor reveals the dark side of seemingly normal, ordinary people. Her descriptions are vivid. As a Retired police officer, her insights are invaluable. A great read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Carol Hepner | 2/2/2013

    " Very interesting. Learned new things about the Susan Powell disappearance and the tragic deaths of her to sons when the idiot husband blew himself and those babies up.....the whole book kept my attention well. Finished in a day!!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joanne | 1/18/2013

    " Chilling stories about horrible people. Beware, folks. Choose partners with care and deliberation. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations