Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: And Other True Cases Audiobook, by Ann Rule Play Audiobook Sample

Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: And Other True Cases Audiobook

Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: And Other True Cases Audiobook, by Ann Rule Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
OR
Regular Price: $16.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Laural Merlington Publisher: Brilliance Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 8.83 hours at 1.5x Speed 6.63 hours at 2.0x Speed Series: The Ann Rule’s Crime Files Series Release Date: January 2013 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9781469283708

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

46

Longest Chapter Length:

26:32 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

07:48 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

17:22 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

60

Publisher Description

It’s a chilling reality that homicide investigators know all too well: the last face most murder victims see is not that of a stranger, but of someone familiar. Whether only an acquaintance or a trusted intimate, such killers share a common trait that triggers the downward spiral toward death for someone close to them: they are masters at hiding who they really are. Their clever masks let them appear safe, kind, and truthful. They are anything but — and almost no one can detect the murderous impulses buried deep in their psyches. These doomed relationships are the focus of Ann Rule’s sixteenth Crime Files collection. In these shattering inside views of both headlined and little-known homicides, Rule speaks for vulnerable victims who relied on the wrong people. She begins with two startling novella-length investigations. In July 2011, a billionaire’s Coronado, California, mansion was the setting for two horrifying deaths only days apart — his young son’s plunge from a balcony and his girlfriend’s ghastly hanging. What really happened? Baffling questions remain unanswered, as these cases were closed far too soon for hundreds of people; Rule looks at them now through the eyes of a relentless crime reporter. The second probe began in Utah when Susan Powell vanished in a 2009 blizzard. Her controlling husband, Josh, proved capable of a blind rage that was heartbreakingly fatal to his innocent small sons almost three years later in a tragedy that shocked America as the details unfolded. If anyone had detected the depth of depravity within Josh Powell, perhaps the family that loved and trusted him would have been saved. In these and seven other riveting cases, Ann Rule exposes the twisted truth behind the façades of Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors.

Download and start listening now!

"This book includes eight riveting cases. In it, Ann Rule exposes the twisted truth behind the facades of Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors. Unfortunately, most victims of murder are not killed by a stranger. These twisted relationships are the focus of Rule's latest collection of true-crime murders. One of the main mysteries of this collection is the Murder at the Spreckles mansion that included two deaths only days apart - both still largely unsolved, though full of speculation. This is a good read, especially if you like shortened versions of lengthy cases. "

— JKM (5 out of 5 stars)

Awards

  • A New York Times bestseller
  • A USA Today bestseller

Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors Listener Reviews

Overall Performance: 3.82352941176471 out of 53.82352941176471 out of 53.82352941176471 out of 53.82352941176471 out of 53.82352941176471 out of 5 (3.82)
5 Stars: 4
4 Stars: 7
3 Stars: 5
2 Stars: 1
1 Stars: 0
Narration: 0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 (0.00)
5 Stars: 0
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Story: 0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 (0.00)
5 Stars: 0
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Another page turner from Anne Rule that I couldn't put down! "

    — Julie, 2/14/2014
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " A bit of a hodge podge of true crime stories that the author obviously had become interested in but most of which were never really fleshed out. A little disappointing from an author I have enjoyed in the past. "

    — Cheryl, 1/26/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Ann Rule is one of my favorite authors of true crime. She investigates the relationship of the deceased to their family, friends, etc. more psychology and forensics but not gory. I don't usually like short stories but Ann Rule is an exception. "

    — Jane, 1/23/2014
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Scary, intimate, and lurid. "

    — Cara, 1/22/2014
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " No one compares to Ann Rule! The horror of the crimes she wrote just jump out of the pages and hit me right smack on the face. Must read for fans of CSI and Law & Order!! "

    — A, 1/8/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I always enjoy Ann Rule books and I've read most of them. This was interesting, although I was disappointed that the last few stories were so old. Still an Ann Rule fan! "

    — Linda, 12/26/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " given my morbid fixation with serial killers and CNN's "justice" section, i'm surprised that this is the first true crime story i've read. it was both horrifying and fascinating and i'm sure i'll read more titles by her. "

    — Kricket, 12/25/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Just another crime files book by Ann Rule. It has two long stories and several short ones. This is an OK book, but not one of her better ones. "

    — Beverly, 12/9/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Rating = 3.5 stars "

    — Jeanette, 11/23/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " This book is a compilation of short true-crime stories as only Ann Rule can write them. Each story is a page-turner with the writing style that could only be accomplished by the eternal queen of true crime, Ann Rule. "

    — Janice, 11/4/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Ann Rule never fails to write an incredible book! "

    — Christine, 9/1/2013
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " I didn't want to finish book. I like true life crime, but several of the stories remain "unsolved" and that frustrated me "

    — Rita, 5/26/2013
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " True crime writing at its best, especially the in depth research and insight with the Powell case. "

    — Vicki, 5/24/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I'm giving this 4 stars only because I couldn't put it down, but I really don't think it was written as well as Ann's other books. Seemed like Ann was in a hurry to write this book. "

    — Andrea, 3/1/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbor reveals the dark side of seemingly normal, ordinary people. Her descriptions are vivid. As a Retired police officer, her insights are invaluable. A great read. "

    — Linda, 2/8/2013
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Very interesting. Learned new things about the Susan Powell disappearance and the tragic deaths of her to sons when the idiot husband blew himself and those babies up.....the whole book kept my attention well. Finished in a day!!! "

    — Carol, 2/2/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Chilling stories about horrible people. Beware, folks. Choose partners with care and deliberation. "

    — Joanne, 1/18/2013

About Ann Rule

Ann Rule (1931–2015) was a former Seattle policewoman and the author of more than two dozen New York Times bestsellers. Eight of her books have been made into movies for television, and she won the Peabody Award for her miniseries, Small Sacrifices. She also won two Anthony Awards and was nominated for an Edgar Award three times. Aside from being a writer, she was a certified instructor for police training seminars and lectured frequently to law enforcement officers, prosecutors, and forensic science organizations.

About Laural Merlington

Laural Merlington is an audiobook narrator with over two hundred titles to her credit and a winner of multiple Earphones Awards. An Audie Award nominee, she has also directed over one hundred audiobooks. She has performed and directed for thirty years in theaters throughout the country. In addition to her extensive theater and voice-over work, she teaches college in her home state of Michigan.