Extended Audio Sample

Download Defy the Stars Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Defy the Stars Audiobook, by Claudia Gray Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Claudia Gray Narrator: Nate Begle, Kasey Lee Huizinga Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Constellation Series Release Date: April 2017 ISBN: 9781478915386
Regular Price: $22.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $10.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

She’s a soldier.

Noemi Vidal is seventeen years old and sworn to protect her planet, Genesis. She’s willing to risk anything—including her own life. To their enemies on Earth, she’s a rebel.

He’s a machine.

Abandoned in space for years, utterly alone, Abel has advanced programming that’s begun to evolve. He wants only to protect his creator, and to be free. To the people of Genesis, he’s an abomination.

Noemi and Abel are enemies in an interstellar war, forced by chance to work together as they embark on a daring journey through the stars. Their efforts would end the fighting for good, but they’re not without sacrifice. The stakes are even higher than either of them first realized, and the more time they spend together, the more they’re forced to question everything they’d been taught was true.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Narrator Kasey Lee Huizinga embodies Noemi, a futuristic soldier…[and] narrator Nate Begle creates a robotic monotone for Abel with developing hints of emotion as he grows and begins to understand that perhaps he is more than artificial intelligence created by a human and constrained by his programming.”


  • “Startlingly original and achingly romantic, Abel and Noemi’s adventure will linger in my imagination—and my heart—for aeons. Defy the Stars is nothing short of masterful.”

    Kass Morgan, New York Times bestselling author

  • “With a love story that sweeps across the galaxy and a heart-racing high-action plot, Defy the Stars brilliantly explores what it means to be human. This book shines like the stars.”

    Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Fans of Star Wars and Star Trek will enjoy the sci-fi elements…Early on in the story, Defy the Stars has a huge plot twist that will set hearts racing, as it’s a big game-changer. Brilliantly done, the book explores what it means to be human.”

    RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

  • “Nuanced philosophical discussions of religion, terrorism, and morality advise and direct the high-stakes action, informing the beautiful, realistic ending. Intelligent and thoughtful, a highly relevant far-off speculative adventure.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “Poignant and profound…Gray’s characters are nuanced, her worldbuilding is intelligent, and the book’s conclusion thrills and satisfies while defying expectations.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “This top-notch space adventure features a well-developed plot and an unexpected, satisfying ending. The story also gives serious treatment to the ethical dilemmas around highly advanced robotics and artificial intelligence…This is a complex and well-told tale about loyalty, love, and the meaning of life.”

    School Library Journal

  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month 
  • A 2017 ALA Best Book for Young Adults
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Claudia Gray is the New York Times bestselling author of many science fiction and paranormal fantasy books for young adults, including Defy the Stars, Defy the Worlds, the Firebird series, the Evernight series, the Spellcaster series, and Fateful. She’s also had a chance to work in a galaxy far, far away as the author of the Star Wars novels Lost Stars, Bloodline, and Leia, Princess of Alderaan. Born a fan girl, she loves obsessing over geeky movies and TV shows, as well as reading and occasionally writing fan fiction; however, she periodically leaves the house to go kayaking, do a little hiking, or travel the world. She will take your Jane Austen trivia challenge any day, anytime.

About the Narrators

Nate Begle is a voice talent and audiobook narrator.

Kasey Lee Huizinga is an actor, singer, and web show host born and raised in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn. She recently graduated from Northwestern University where she studied theater and music theater.