Extended Audio Sample

Download Dating Is Murder: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Dating Is Murder: A Novel Audiobook, by Harley Jane Kozak Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (456 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Harley Jane Kozak Narrator: Bernadette Dunne Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Wollie Shelley Mysteries Release Date: March 2005 ISBN: 9781415918548
Regular Price: $20.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Wollie Shelley, the plucky amateur sleuth Kirkus Reviews called “funny, brave, smart, and altogether the fetchingest crime heroine since the early Stephanie Plum,” returns to face suspect lovers and unlovable suspects in this hilarious sequel to Dating Dead Men.

Wollie Shelley is a greeting card artist struggling to keep afloat financially and to pursue—despite a series of recent disasters—the search for the love of her life. She reluctantly agrees to be a contestant on the reality television show Biological Clock. The show’s premise: Six eligible singles date each other, and the audience votes on which couple would make the best parents. Alas, Wollie isn’t having much luck finding a man she’d like to date “off the air,” much less father her child. As her own biological clock ticks away, Wollie gets caught up in a much more pressing demand on her time. Her friend Annika has vanished into thin air, and Wollie is convinced that she’s in grave danger.

When Wollie reports the disappearance to the Los Angeles Police Department, however, the detective assigned to the case seems more interested in dating Wollie than in finding her friend. So Wollie springs into action—and lands right in the middle of an FBI investigation into an international drug cartel. She soon finds herself being stalked by an assortment of threatening characters, including her fellow televisioncontestants, who will stop at nothing to beat the clock.

With Dating Is Murder, Kozak delivers another sparkling treasure, a laugh-out-loud-funny, literate mystery for readers of Janet Evanovich and Sue Grafton and for Kozak’s own growing legion of fans.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BKOT_000472

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 madrano | 2/17/2014

    " This was cute & enjoyable but i wouldn't run out to read more...or even the next installment. Kozak is an actress whose work i liked, so it's nice to see she has yet another career going. I read 1 1/2 more books in this series but haven't even rushed to get to the rest of the 1/2 book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lisa | 2/1/2014

    " Wollie Shelley's at it again. This time the greeting card artist has gotten herself roped into a reality dating show and caught up in investigating the disappearance of her friend. Great twists, fun characters. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Katie | 1/27/2014

    " The sequel to Kozak's book "Dating Dead Men," this mystery was equally fun and the crime plot was easier to follow. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Laurie Stoll | 1/27/2014

    " I don't really remember much about this book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cathy | 1/18/2014

    " If you like the Stephanie Plum books (by Evanovich) you will like this writer. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Audrey | 1/13/2014

    " Another light mystery to read, more violent than Dating Dead Men, but a good vacation or beach book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hilary | 1/10/2014

    " Lots of fun! Wacky but not in a way that makes you think that the author is trying too hard. I enjoyed all the very specific LA geography, since I am an Angeleno. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Scampi | 1/5/2014

    " It's ok. Another one sent by my mom. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Daisyaday | 11/19/2013

    " Really fun, light mystery. Similar to Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum. Greeting card designer/wall muralist has a temporary job on a reality show when a friend/au pair vanishes. Wollie must find her since no one else seems to be looking for her. The end is a little disappointing. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Marci | 10/20/2013

    " While the first in the series was a little overly fluffy, it was still fun. This one...just vapid. When I could focus in on the mystery it wasn't bad, but all of the whining about Doc, falling over herself to catch a look at the tallest guy with the bluest eyes...bah. Really bad this time. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nancy | 10/16/2013

    " One of my new favorite authors for a fun read. I love the Stephanie Plum novels by Janet Evanovich and she recommended this author as her top pick for mysteries. Fun characters, romance, mystery. What more can you ask for?!? "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lee Anne | 10/1/2013

    " Probably a 3 1/2. Cute, fun, light. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sydney | 6/4/2013

    " listened to a book on CD, made 12 hours of driving easier to deal with... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Suzanne | 3/24/2013

    " Quirky mystery filled with an assortment of characters. Kept me reading, though! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ingrid | 5/6/2012

    " This novel was difficult to get into, the pacing es very slow and the central story didn't grab me because I had no real sense of the character that went missing. Wollie's voice is good if a little ... self indulgent "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kelly1142 | 5/3/2012

    " Loved it! Fun characters and a great mystery. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Carol Snow | 4/17/2012

    " I really enjoyed this book. Very fast-paced. Very California. Interesting plot that kept me involved. Well-drawn characters. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jeanette | 3/4/2012

    " I forgot what happened in the first book, so I was confused for a little while. I enjoyed Wollie alot, and Simon. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Janet | 2/6/2012

    " This was a fun mystery, and clean. So refreshing! This is my first time to read this author, but I will find more of hers. The reason I tried her is that the book jacket blurb compared her to Sue Grafton, who is one of my favorites. I get in mystery book moods. :0) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jessica Gadsden | 1/8/2012

    " These are great airplane reads, not great bedtime reads. Very fluffy, and much funnier when you're at 35,000 feet. Seems like murder's a little too cavalier for general enjoyment. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Upstatemamma | 11/26/2011

    " Over all I would say that this book was alright. In the end I enjoyed it but it took awhile for me to get into it. The beginning was kind of slow. The last 100 pages went really quickly and the ending was good. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mathilde | 11/11/2011

    " This a good book to listen to while exercising. I liked the narration quite a bit. I picked this up at a whim at the library and had to go back and listen to the first in the series. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Angie | 7/16/2011

    " I listened to the book on CD. I found it to go on and on, and then the ending just kinda "slammed" in there. It was OK, but nothing I'd write a huge review of :-) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amy | 4/29/2011

    " A fun read, but not exceptional. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Martha | 4/9/2011

    " A detective with a sense of humor, doesn't take herself too seriously, but is determined to find the answers to the whereabouts of her tutor and friend. Fun "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Red | 3/22/2011

    " Started very slowly, it took me a long time to warm up to the characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Susan | 3/2/2011

    " The main character, Wollie reminds me a little of Stephanie Plum. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Laurie | 2/20/2011

    " I don't really remember much about this book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennifer | 2/7/2011

    " So maybe this should be 3.5 stars, I liked the second one in the series better than the first. A little bit less of the weirdness with the mentally ill brother. Lots of funny weird Hollywood types, a mysterious disappearance and murder, with our heroine bumbling towards a solution. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Janet | 9/4/2010

    " This was a fun mystery, and clean. So refreshing! This is my first time to read this author, but I will find more of hers. The reason I tried her is that the book jacket blurb compared her to Sue Grafton, who is one of my favorites. I get in mystery book moods. :0) "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Penny | 12/11/2009

    " Got through 2.5 discs & gave up. I wasn't paying attention at all, which either means I wasn't in the mood for the wackiness, or it just wasn't catching me. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Fay | 11/20/2009

    " It was a fabulous escape - great blend of humor and escape. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Marci | 8/18/2009

    " While the first in the series was a little overly fluffy, it was still fun. This one...just vapid. When I could focus in on the mystery it wasn't bad, but all of the whining about Doc, falling over herself to catch a look at the tallest guy with the bluest eyes...bah. Really bad this time. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sydney | 8/5/2009

    " listened to a book on CD, made 12 hours of driving easier to deal with... "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Angie | 7/4/2009

    " I listened to the book on CD. I found it to go on and on, and then the ending just kinda "slammed" in there. It was OK, but nothing I'd write a huge review of :-) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lee Anne | 6/27/2009

    " Probably a 3 1/2. Cute, fun, light. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kallierose | 5/1/2009

    " These books are a lot of fun. They remind me a bit of a lighter Janet Evanovich, although without Ranger and Joe. They follow a similar formula, but are fresh enough to be fun. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Harley Jane Kozak

Harley Jane Kozak is an actress whose screen credits include Parenthood, When Harry Met Sally, The Favor, and Arachnophobia. She lives with her family in Southern California.

About the Narrator

Bernadette Dunne is the winner of numerous AudioFile Earphones Awards and has twice been nominated for the prestigious Audie Award. She studied at the Royal National Theatre in London and the Studio Theater in Washington, DC, and has appeared at the Kennedy Center and off Broadway. She lives in Brooklyn.