Constable Around the Village Audiobook, by Nicholas Rhea Play Audiobook Sample

Constable Around the Village Audiobook

Constable Around the Village Audiobook, by Nicholas Rhea Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $16.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Philip Franks Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 4.00 hours at 1.5x Speed 3.00 hours at 2.0x Speed Series: The Constable Nick Mysteries Release Date: January 2021 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781799925613

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

54:42 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

14:22 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

40:23 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Nicholas Rhea: > View All...

Listeners Also Enjoyed:

Publisher Description

A canine crisis for Constable Nick

Nick is settling into his role as a police constable in Aidensfield, getting to grips with rural life and his new colleagues and neighbors. Constable Nick maintains his warm approach through the village’s many incidents, whether it’s the historic tradition of the First Footing on New Year’s Eve or the scandal of an undug grave.

More problems stem from the unlawful activities of Arnold Merryweather’s bus, with its imposing conductress, Hannah, a jockey who steals supplies for his hungry horse, and the old railway worker who vanishes as the last train passes through the village.

Nick soon finds himself facing a canine crisis. Farmer Lowe’s overworked sheepdog is feigning deafness. Without the dog, the cows cannot be milked, bringing his farming business to a screeching halt. Meanwhile, five sheep turn up dead, and Sidney Chapman’s dog is accused of the crime, much to his dismay. Can Nick salvage Aidensfield’s farming future, not to mention the reputations of two dogs, while juggling his other cases?

Download and start listening now!

"This was lots of fun. Twists and turns in the lives of endearingly quirky people. I'll be putting more of this series into my wishlist!"

— LorLor66 (5 out of 5 stars)


  • “[Like] a second cheery swig of stout…there are illustrations of Yorkshire thrift, of the triumphs and perils of the ecumenical movement…Generally, he takes an easygoing approach to miscreants…With manly asides, and a generous sampling of local speech, a stoutly brogued journey through rural Yorkshire folkways and byways.”

    — Kirkus Reviews

Constable Around the Village Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Nicholas Rhea

Nicholas Rhea (1936–2017) began to writing in the late 1950s after years of casual interest, having his first short story published in the Police Review. As he continued to rise through the ranks at the region’s police headquarters in Northallerton, he published his first novel, Carnaby and the Hijackers, in 1976. He is primarily known for his Constable Nick series, inspired by his many years of police service. He retired in 1982 to concentrate on his writing, encouraged by an interest in his Constable books from Yorkshire Television. This was to become the highly popular Heartbeat series, which ran for eighteen seasons and over 350 episodes.