Extended Audio Sample

Download Carve the Mark Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Carve the Mark Audiobook, by Veronica Roth Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Veronica Roth Narrator: Emily Rankin, Austin Butler Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Carve the Mark Series Release Date: January 2017 ISBN: 9780062642004
Regular Price: $28.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $19.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another.

Download and start listening now!

c1n2

Quotes & Awards

  • “A captivating, fascinating book.”

    James Dashner, #1 New York Times bestselling author

  • “Narrator Austin Butler solemnly recounts the story of Akos…The youthful, vibrant voice that Emily Rankin gives Cyra complements Butler’s darker tones, creating a well-balanced portrayal of two unlikely heroes who beat back the fates that are stacked against them.”

    AudioFile

  • “Roth skillfully weaves the careful world-building and intricate web of characters that distinguished Divergent.”

    VOYA (starred review)

  • “A gripping space opera…Roth’s worldbuilding is commendable; each nation is distinct, interacting with the current in ways that give insight into her characters’ motivations. Amid political machinations and forays into space, Roth thoughtfully addresses substantial issues, such as the power of self-determination in the face of fate.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Brimming with plot twists and highly likely to please Roth’s fans.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Roth offers a richly imagined, often brutal world of political intrigue and adventure, with a slow-burning romance at its core.”

    Booklist

  • Amazon Best Book of the Month for January 2017
  • Wall Street Journal bestseller
  • Indiebound Indie bestseller
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Veronica Roth

Veronica Roth is the New York Times bestselling author of the Divergent series. She is a graduate of Northwestern University’s creative writing program.

About the Narrator

Emily Rankin is an audio narrator and winner of two AudioFile Earphones Awards.