Extended Audio Sample

A Clash of Kings: A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 2 Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample A Clash of Kings: A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 2 (Unabridged), by George R. R. Martin
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.6 (210,320 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: George R. R. Martin Narrator: Roy Dotrice Publisher: Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

George R. R. Martin's wonderful epic series, A Song of Ice and Fire continues in its second book, A Clash of Kings. In the first book, A Game of Thrones, Martin introduced us to some compelling characters, including Ned Stark, Daenerys Targaryen, Robb Stark, Jon Snow, Arya Stark and Tyrion Lannister. Ned Stark took up the position as Hand of the King but when the king was murdered, all hell broke loose. Ned was executed, leaving his daughter, Sansa, in the power of the Lannisters while his younger daughter, Arya, managed to escape.

In book two, A Clash of Kings audiobook, we sorely miss Ned Stark but the story is still gripping, with several different claimants to the throne. One of them is Joffrey Baratheon, allegedly the dead king's son but in reality the son of the queen who is having an incestuous relationship with her brother. Despite the fact that Joffrey is only in his teens, he's already a full-blown sociopath who enjoys inflicting pain. Robb Stark declares himself King in the North and marches downwards to conquer more lands. The dead king's two brothers, Stannis and Renly, are also contenders but Renly is murdered, leaving Stannis to stake his claim.

Stannis has the help of a sorceress named Melisandre whose uses her dark magic to help him put together an army and attack King's Landing where Joffrey has set up rule. Tyrion Lannister, the dwarf who is now the Hand of the King, does his best to defend King's Landing but they almost lose the fight until help arrives from other Lannisters.

Meanwhile, Daenerys Targaryen continues her journey to King's Landing with her three dragons who are still very young. She tries to get help from the city of Qarth but finds herself in a situation where she can't trust anyone. She is taken captive but manages to escape with the help of her fire-breathing dragons.

Arya Stark also has some interesting adventures on her way back home. She pretends to be a boy and ends up at Lannister-held Harrenhal where she is privy to political talks as a cup-bearer.

In this tale of war, politics and incestuous relations, alliances are formed and broken and you begin to see more and more depth in all the characters. Daenerys is particularly interesting, given that she's helpless at the beginning of the series but rises up and become more powerful as the story progresses. She was being abused by her brother in book one and now, with her three dragons, she has become a force to be reckoned with. The other most compelling character is Arya who, at barely 12 years of age, is making her own way north, trusting her instincts about who is friend and who is foe.

George R. R. Martin was born in 1948 in Bayonne, NJ. He grew up in the projects where he would often retreat into a fantasy world and come up with stories to entertain friends and family. He studied journalism in college and has been a writer ever since, writing short stories, novels and even television shows. His series A Song of Ice and Fire has been his most popular series so far and his books have won several awards, including the Locus Poll award and the Hugo Award. He was declared "one of the most influential people of 2011" by Time Magazine. The first two books of the A Song of Ice and Fire series have also been adapted for television in the HBO show A Game of Thrones.

Download A Clash of Kings now from The Audio Bookstore for a journey into a fantasy world full of war, politics, intrigue and, when you least expect it, love.

A comet the color of blood and flame cuts across the sky. And from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns. Six factions struggle for control of a divided land and the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms, preparing to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war.

It is a tale in which brother plots against brother and the dead rise to walk in the night. Here a princess masquerades as an orphan boy; a knight of the mind prepares a poison for a treacherous sorceress; and wild men descend from the Mountains of the Moon to ravage the countryside. Against a backdrop of incest and fratricide, alchemy and murder, victory may go to the men and women possessed of the coldest steel...and the coldest hearts. For when kings clash, the whole land trembles.

Download and start listening now!


Listener Reviews

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Review by Jacqueline | 2/1/2014

    " Was shocked at bran being killed , the pleased by the last chapter. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Review by Kevin | 1/21/2014

    " More in the three and half star range. This book picks up right where the last one left off. It spends alot of time on Tyrion, who may be the most interesting character in the series. While each book in a series tends to take an indentity of its own, this one feels exactly like Game of Thrones. It also has the same use of twists, brutal elmination of characters, and general intense craziness that keeps things interesting. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Review by Andrew Nelson | 1/18/2014

    " It was a great read. Works well to build on the story after the first built a lot on the character. I love this series and can't wait to finish it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Review by Emma Chappell | 1/10/2014

    " A bit long winded at times but still a good read "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $3.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author George R. R. Martin

George R. R. Martin sold his first story in 1971 and has been writing professionally ever since. He spent ten years in Hollywood as a writer-producer, working on The Twilight Zone, Beauty and the Beast, and various feature films and television pilots that were never made. In the mid ’90s he returned to prose, his first love, and began work on his epic fantasy series, A Song of Ice and Fire. He has been in the Seven Kingdoms ever since. Whenever he’s allowed to leave, he returns to Santa Fe, New Mexico, where he lives with the lovely Parris, a big white dog called Mischa, and two cats named Augustus and Caligula, who think they run the place.