Extended Audio Sample

Download Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness Audiobook, by Susannah Cahalan Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Susannah Cahalan Narrator: Heather Henderson Publisher: Highbridge Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: November 2012 ISBN: 9781611749793
Regular Price: $23.07 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The astonishing, true story of the author's inexplicable descent into madness, and the brilliant, life-saving diagnosis that nearly didn't happen. Download and start listening now!

BK_HIGH_000687

Quotes & Awards

  • “Captivating…Cahalan’s prose carries a sharp, unsparing tabloid punch in the tradition of Pete Hamill and Jimmy Breslin.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “A fascinating look at the disease that—if not for a nick-of-time diagnosis—could have cost this vibrant, vital young woman her life.”

    People

  • “Swift and haunting.”

    Scientific American

  • “The best reporters never stop asking questions, and Cahalan is no exception…The result is a kind of anti-memoir, an out-of-body personal account of a young woman’s fight to survive one of the cruelest diseases imaginable. And on every level, it’s remarkable…Cahalan is nothing if not tenacious, and she perfectly tempers her brutal honesty with compassion and something like vulnerability. It’s indisputable that Cahalan is a gifted reporter, and Brain on Fire is a stunningly brave book. But even more than that, she’s a naturally talented prose stylist—whip-smart but always unpretentious—and it’s nearly impossible to stop reading her, even in the book’s most painful passages…Brain on Fire comes from a place of intense pain and unthinkable isolation, but finds redemption in Cahalan’s unflagging, defiant toughness. It’s an unexpected gift of a book from one of America’s most courageous young journalists.”

    NPR

  • “The bizarre and confounding illness that beset the 24-year-old New York Post reporter in early 2009 so ravaged her mentally and physically that she became unrecognizable to coworkers, family, friends, and—most devastatingly—herself…She dedicates this miracle of a book to ‘those without a diagnosis’…[An] unforgettable memoir.”

    Elle

  • “This fascinating memoir by a young New York Post reporter…describes how she crossed the line between sanity and insanity…Cahalan expertly weaves together her own story and relevant scientific information…compelling.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Focusing her journalistic toolbox on her story, Cahalan untangles the medical mystery surrounding her condition…A fast-paced and well-researched trek through a medical mystery to a hard-won recovery.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • Selected for the November 2012 Indie Next List
  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Judy | 11/26/2017

    " This book highlighted to me the importance of a good diagnosis and the danger in medical staff jumping to conclusions. Also, how money is such a powerful predictor of how someone's health journey progresses...or regresses. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Susannah Cahalan is a news reporter at the New York Post whose award-winning work has also been featured in the New York Times. She lives in Jersey City, New Jersey.

About the Narrator

Heather Henderson is a voice talent, theater critic, and dramaturg. In addition to narrating audiobooks, she has voiced hundreds of commercial and educational projects, and her arts reviews and poems have appeared in newspapers and magazines across the country. She holds MFA and DFA degrees from the Yale School of Drama. She lives in Oregon.