Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness Audiobook, by Susannah Cahalan Play Audiobook Sample

Download Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness Audiobook

Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness Audiobook, by Susannah Cahalan Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
Author: Susannah Cahalan Narrator: Susannah Cahalan Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Audio Length: Release Date: March 2020 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781797112886

Publisher Description

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING CHLOË GRACE MORETZ

An award-winning memoir and instant New York Times bestseller that goes far beyond its riveting medical mystery, Brain on Fire is the powerful account of one woman’s struggle to recapture her identity.

When twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan woke up alone in a hospital room, strapped to her bed and unable to move or speak, she had no memory of how she’d gotten there. Days earlier, she had been on the threshold of a new, adult life: at the beginning of her first serious relationship and a promising career at a major New York newspaper. Now she was labeled violent, psychotic, a flight risk. What happened?

In a swift and breathtaking narrative, Susannah tells the astonishing true story of her descent into madness, her family’s inspiring faith in her, and the lifesaving diagnosis that nearly didn’t happen. “A fascinating look at the disease that...could have cost this vibrant, vital young woman her life” (People), Brain on Fire is an unforgettable exploration of memory and identity, faith and love, and a profoundly compelling tale of survival and perseverance that is destined to become a classic.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Swift and haunting.”

    - Scientific American
  • “Captivating…Cahalan’s prose carries a sharp, unsparing tabloid punch in the tradition of Pete Hamill and Jimmy Breslin.”

    - New York Times Book Review
  • “This fascinating memoir by a young New York Post reporter…describes how she crossed the line between sanity and insanity…Cahalan expertly weaves together her own story and relevant scientific information…compelling.”

    - Booklist (starred review)
  • “Focusing her journalistic toolbox on her story, Cahalan untangles the medical mystery surrounding her condition…A fast-paced and well-researched trek through a medical mystery to a hard-won recovery.”

    - Publishers Weekly

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Narration Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Story Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " This book highlighted to me the importance of a good diagnosis and the danger in medical staff jumping to conclusions. Also, how money is such a powerful predictor of how someone's health journey progresses...or regresses. "

    - Judy, 11/26/2017

About the Author

Susannah Cahalan is the author of Brain on Fire and The Great Pretender. She writes for the New York Post. Her work has also been featured in the New York Times, Scientific American Magazine, Glamour, Psychology Today, and other publications.