Extended Audio Sample

Download A Vision of Fire Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample A Vision of Fire, by Gillian Anderson, Jeff Rovin Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Gillian Anderson, Jeff Rovin Narrator: Gillian Anderso Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

The first novel from iconic X-Files star Gillian Anderson and New York Times bestselling author Jeff Rovin is a science fiction thriller of epic proportions.

Renowned child psychologist Caitlin O’Hara is a single mom trying to juggle her job, her son, and a lackluster dating life. Her world is suddenly upturned when Maanik, the daughter of India’s ambassador to the United Nations, starts speaking in tongues and having violent visions. Caitlin is sure that her fits have something to do with the recent assassination attempt on her father—a shooting that has escalated nuclear tensions between India and Pakistan to dangerous levels—but when teenagers around the world start having similar outbursts, Caitlin begins to think that there’s a more sinister force at work.

In Haiti, a student claws at her throat, drowning on dry land. In Iran, a boy suddenly and inexplicably sets himself on fire. Animals, too, are acting irrationally, from rats in New York City to birds in South America to ordinary house pets. With Asia on the cusp of nuclear war, Caitlin must race across the globe to uncover the mystical links among these seemingly unrelated incidents in order to save her patient—and perhaps the world.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Gillian Anderson is returning to the genre that made her a cultural icon.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • "[A] slick, fast-paced page-turner replete with nuclear threat, occult cabals, and an epidemic of apocalyptic visions suffered by children worldwide.”

    Guardian (London)

  • “Anderson and co-author Jeff Rovin, an established novelist and ghostwriter, have crafted a book that takes a measured approach to the supernatural and wears its somber apocalyptic mood like a stylish cashmere overcoat.”

    Financial Times (UK)

  • A Vision of Fire implores you to suspend disbelief and enter the world of Caitlin O’Hara, a child psychologist who is currently staggering under the weight of a global epidemic of madness. Her search for a cure, or even a cause, leads her to travel to faraway places to head off a catastrophe she is almost too afraid to contemplate.”

    Barnes&Noble.com, editorial review

  • “A real page-turner!”

    New York Live

  • “Actress Anderson of X-Files fame makes her fiction debut with this gripping, well-written thriller…Fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child will find a lot to like.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “This sf thriller’s first half does pack a lot of tension as Caitlin travels from New York to Haiti to Iran in pursuit of answers. The mystical elements, when they kick in later in the book, are further out there than any X-Files episode, and the author leaves plenty of unanswered questions for future series volumes.”

    Library Journal

  • “Anderson tackles a range of international characters in this thriller about a strange phenomenon that has gripped the daughter of a woman who is involved in the negotiation of a crucial nuclear treaty…Anderson presents the main character, a child psychologist, as a thoughtful, methodical scientist who approaches each incident with a combination of empathy and detachment. She draws upon a store of accents as the psychologist travels to Haiti and Iran seeking answers to what’s going on.”


Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations